We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big thank you”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My fiancé and I held our wedding reception at The Swan Hotel after enjoying a short stay there the previous year. James, his wife and staff were wonderful, helping to ensure everyone enjoyed their time both as guests of the hotel and the event. The existing charm of the building was enhanced by the decorations and set-up and the food, drinks and service were excellent. We also utilised the downstairs Cellar Bar which looked amazing when all lit up by candle light. The room was perfect for a small gathering with a DJ, with the small 'chill out' room offering somewhere for folk to sit away from the dance floor. This is a great hotel in a great location and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Swan for a function or a short trip away. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuLuBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

My daughter and her fiancé booked The Swan hotel last weekend for their wedding. We had exclusive use of the hotel for the duration of the celebrations and we all had an excellent time. The staff were helpful and charming, and James worked very hard to accommodate us on this special occasion, and put on a wonderful spread for the reception. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the age of the building added charm and the occasional uneven floor!
I would recommend The Swan to anyone and hope to return one day to explore the town and surrounding countryside.


Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

The Management and staff thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

First time in this hotel we has a very warm welcome from the manager- I do believe it's a family run hotel. Even though they had a pub downstairs it was very quiet throughout the night . Rooms spacious and clean , in the very heart of town .
Breakfast too was very good - a la carte - included in the room price .
Very simple , cozy , clean .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spitni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

The Management and staff thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We booked The Swan for our exclusive use on the occasion of my daughter's wedding. James and his team delivered an excellent experience, paying great attention to detail. The food was of excellent quality, and was served in a polite and courteous manner. The staff were really cheerful and helpful, and were dressed appropriately. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean, to the satisfaction of all guests. We would recommend The Swan without hesitation.

Room Tip: We had a top-floor room at the front of the hotel, and we experienced no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

The Management and staff thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel, we stayed for one night and had a very relaxing break. It is well sited in town with a handy car park at the rear but it is only a short stroll along the river and you feel as if you've left the town completely behind. The staff are all welcoming and friendly and we felt very 'at home'. The room we had was extremely comfortable. The new owners are making huge efforts and I am sure the Swan will continue to improve.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hjames11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

The Management and staff thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

We were staying locally and called into the Swan for dinner not knowing what to expect! We were pleasantly surprised to be presented with a wonderful menu selection covering typical English dishes to a couple of Mexican options. The portions were big and the food tasted great - Especially the Churros for dessert! We might stay at the Swan next time we come down that way.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank cathyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for your comments, we always strive to offer a unique dining experience at The Swan and are pleased to advise you that we have now added a new Asian Menu to our already popular traditional english food, so do come back again and enjoy dishes from Thailand, Indonesia and Japan, dishes all collected from the owners personal experiences in Asia....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I returned to Bradford Upon Avon for the second time last weekend. Sadly the lovely Georgian Lodge is no longer, so we decided to try The Swan. Having booked over the phone and ararnged an early check in, I was expecting the same excellent customer service face to face. On arrival it wasn't obvious where reception was coming in from the car park and we had to seek out a member of staff. She was extremely surly and frankly, unwelcoming. She told us bluntly that the check in time is 2-3 O'clock and our room wouldn't be ready. Not what we wanted to hear after 3 hours in a hot car with a 19 month old, and having specifically requested early access. In the same breath she then said it hadn't actually be occupied the night before so we might be able to go straight up, which thankfully was the case.
The deluxe room itself was spacious and very comfortable, but was was let down by the rather tatty and underwhelming bathroom, which doesn't reflect the £140 price tag. We also managed to stay on the hottest day of the year, but were unable to keep the sash windows open.
We were looking forward to a full english breakfast the next morning and the girl on breakfast duty was very friendly and quick to take our order and get us a high chair. A completely different experience to the day before. Unfortunately our table was extremely sticky. When we asked for it to be wiped, she apologised and told us that they're all like it, something to do with dodgy varnish. Although it was good to know the table wasn't actually dirty, once the seed's been sown it stays and it's not great peeling your forearms off the table. This was a a shame as the cooked breakfast was delicious.
When it came to check out, again there was nobody around to deal with us so the breakfast girl attempted to help, but then had to go and get the manager. I did voice my concerns when he asked if there was anything they could have done to improve our stay. He thanked me for my comments but offered no incentive to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Podfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for your comments and feedback, the tables are a frustration, we have taken note of your comments and now use table cloths, which is well received, this will be in place at least until we have been able to find a solution to the defective tables.
We would of course be happy to welcome you back to the property on a future ocassion, once we have had some time to more effectively implement further improvements to the property and would be very happy to welcome you back here, however I did not offer as I felt at the time that any offer would not have been well received, however please do not hesitate to contact me should an incentive to return again be of interest to you.
kind regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#11 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £67 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing