We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night B&B”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One night B&B”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel is very shabby and our room, No 9 was in need of a good lick of paint and a clean, as were all the corridors. Curtains, carpets and cushions all stained ,the handbasin was cracked, the bathroom bin was broken (just throw it out). One bedside lamp was broken with the fitting and shade hanging off, this was replaced on request, however we later discovered the other lamp had no bulb and our request for a replacement was ignored. The staff were all cheerful, the breakfast was good and the white bedlinen was lovely. Such a shame, a little bit of TLC could make this a very desirable place to stay, right in the middle of such a beautiful town. We wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback, something clearly went very wrong with your stay and this is certainly not the standards we are looking to achieve, however from our separate communications we appreciate your understanding and as we mentioned to you we always aim to try to make amends.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    76
    44
    40
    22
See reviews for
36
98
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The waitresses serving were lovely, polite and helpful. The food however was more disappointing. A group of about 25 of us for a Christmas dinner. The food came out with 15 mins between first and last plate so lots of people had finished theirs before other people could even start. The majority of courses were not warm. The desert was the biggest let down. A handful of people didn't get their's so had to remind staff after everyone had already finished and everyone who had the cheesecake found big pieces/strings of unmelted gelatine which made the texture inedible. Overall, except from the waitresses it was very disappointing. Places shouldn't accept large parties if they are unable to cater for them.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BathKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback, as you are aware we were aware of some of the issues on the night and we made every effort to solve the concerns you had during the evening, providing you with alternative options accordingly.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your event, we did host over 20 successful Christmas parties during December and we are only sorry that yours did not meet up to your expectations, should we be given the chance we will ensure you do not have a similar experience again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Quite the worst meal I have ever eaten... Unidentifiable ingredients, over salted and inedible. Charged for side dishes that didn't arrive and charged for side dishes included in the price of the main meal. Waitress, however, was very helpful (perhaps due to familiarity of complaints made?) and adjusted our bill accordingly. As locals, in the centre of Bradford-on-Avon a very disappointing dining experience. Will not be eating here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your review and we have certainly made a number of changes since your visit, should you wish to give us the opportunity we would be happy to welcome you back again and give you a better experience; the issue of charging for side dishes was an error as we had recently started to include side dishes with a majority of our main courses and I suspect the team simply made an error, having been used to charging for side dishes.
We have also undertaken some retraining of the kitchen team in the preparation of the Asian dishes and are continuing to do this.
We are sure that given another opportunity we can show you a more pleasant experience at The Swan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had a great week end here with a couple of girl friends.
Great location with a small car park at the back of the hotel. Could be an issue parking when busy. Easy to get to the canal, bars and restaurants without having to take the car.
The lovely staff make this place they really went out of their way to make our stay fun. A huge thanks to Leona and Dom who specifically made every effort to go that extra mile for us.
A good variety of breakfast options available.
We ate at the restaurant on Sunday night. Food was good but there was a Sunday evening limited menu. If you want to have all choices of Thai food, their speciality then best to eat there any other night except Sunday.
Only negative point was the extra bed we had in our room. It really was a very basic camp bed, maybe suitable for children but not for adults. The 3rd person ended up sleeping on the mattress on the floor. Fantastic bathroom though.
Good value with staying 3 nights and getting the Sunday night at half price.
Thanks James, Leona and Dom from the 3 Girlies....Bucket....Onion and Tunnel!

Room Tip: Bedroom 8 has an enormous bathroom. Rooms at the front maybe noisy due to road traffic. I am guessin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiBreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
It is always good to hear from guests who appreciate what we are aiming to achieve and glad you had a good stay with us, noted on the mattresses and we are looking into this, ditto on the Thai food on sunday nights, we will implement that to ensure it is available 7 days a week, - glad to know that our Thai offerings, prepared in the traditional manner are so popular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent 1 night there as was over for a friends birthday. Location good, in the heart of the town. Clean, friendly service, hotel a bit tired..... generally satisfactory but overpriced for what it is. However, it is a very picturesque town so I can imagine weekend tourism is strong and hence can get away with the price. Fried breakfast was top quality though, would go back for that..... love a good fry up!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrbitXL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback, having taken over The Swan just the year previously it was looking in a very sorry state, so yes there is still work to do, we have now completely refurbished the ground floor and we are working on all the areas that have been in desperate need of TLC, rooms etc etc, and we are getting there.
We hope we can welcome you back again to see the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Checked in with my husband on sat 26th oct for one night.
Very friendly, was shown the rooms available before we decided whether or not to stay, as mentioned its a clean comfortable hotel, would recommend room 8.
We didn't indulge in an eveni g meal however the bar staff were friendly and breakfast the following morning was good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

but a fantastic service. I had to hold a reception there for a small group (25) of people after the death of a family member. The initial service, given by the owner was exemplary, courteous and kind but sill full of the information needed. On arrival, the food served was lovely, presented well and tasted great. He also keeps his cellar in top form too. He has a number of real ales on tap, all tasted lovely.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
0.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing