We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bradford Old Windmill(Bradford-on-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woolley Grange(Bradford-on-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Widbrook Grange(Bradford-on-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moonraker(Trowbridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Polebarn(Trowbridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Church Farm(Bradford-on-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
60
81
49
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
81
49
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai foodhistoric townuneven floorslovely hotelcomfortable bedweekend breakan overnight staynight's sleepenglish breakfaststayed for nightslovely roombathcharacterbradfordpubscanalensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Like the Ugly Duckling in the fairy story, this hotel has the potential to turn into a swan and live up to its name. The old building in the centre of this lovely historic town is lovely, the rooms our party had we're large and quirky however the management (or lack of) really let's the place down. We did't eat in the restaurant as our friends, who arrived the day before, had already booked a fabulous restaurant around the corner for the evening. Having eaten at The Swan once they vowed "never again". The breakfast was ok although the scrambled egg was v chewy and someone should tell chef that you don't scramble shell! The service was poor because there was only one girl serving. Drinks in the bar were ok but the barman should know what beers he is serving and while clean glasses are good they should't taste of furniture polish! There was no sign of any actual management here, it all felt a bit random! Really should try a lot harder to do the old building justice and justify the prices!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patience55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, would love to know when your friends last ate here, we have certainly made some changes and I would welcome the opportunity for your local friends to make themselves known to me and come back and give us another try. The standard of eggs is not acceptable, I am a particular stickler for nice soft fluffy scrambled eggs (also without shell) and I have since revisited this with the chefs!
Point taken about the barman, it was a young lad and we were giving him his first opportunity to work behind a bar, appreciate he should have had a bit more handholding.
As management we are pretty much here all the time, or try to be, sorry we missed introducing ourselves and sorry that you did not get the opportunity to give us the feedback at the time. Even Swans have a bad hair day occasionally - it is not acceptable and we are constantly working at improving our offering and ensuring that The Swan never has another bad hair day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Surly barmaids devoid of humour and empathy, dirty glasses, dirty drinks bottles, taste of reused cooking oil, dirty menus, dirty table, smell of cigarettes from outside, no towels or dryer in toilet. Having said all that, my wife really liked her Pad Thai. Recommend that the cook abandons ship and moves to a Thai restaurant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, this is certainly not the standards we aspire to maintain, particularly with housekeeping and cleaniness, we are not suggesting that you did not experience what was raised in the review but would like to say it is certainly not the norm. We are glad you enjoyed the Thai food, our owners are half Thai and we are pleased that this comes through in the food, rest assured come back again and you will enjoy your whole experience with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booked three double rooms for Saturday 28th June via Booking.com. Arrived soaked, cold and weary after spending the day navigating a canal boat on the Avon and Kennet Canal during a thunder storm. Desperate for hot shower and time to relax . Unfortunately the hotel had no knowledge of our booking despite being shown a confirmation from Booking.com including an acknowledgement
from the hotel manager! Although the manager was eventually able to negotiate alternative accommodation the fact that he was unable to commit to the legitimate contract spoiled a combined 50 and 60 Birthday Celebration. Incompetent?

Room Tip: Double check your booking, you never know!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MrRant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

As a small Inn we would certainly support the reviewers suggestion of double checking with a hotel that your on line reservation is OK, particularly if the booking was made on line some months previously, not of course that 'losing' reservations is a regular occurrence it can happen. In the unusual cases where mistakes are made we do make every effort to do the best we can to ensure the guests are looked after as best we can under difficult circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a nearby wedding. The hotel was very nice in a good location and easy to find. The staff were all excellent and helpful. We had to change our booking arrangements at the last minute and they were very accommodating and even let us check in early. Good was very comfortable with lots of space. Breakfast was also good and varied choice.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

At first you think expensive sandwich. But once it arrives it delivers. Great portion very friendly staff. Garden could do with a bit of work done to make it more special. I will back again to try other things. They even were kind to our dog and thoughtful - thanks

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank burnsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews