We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about ok”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had lunch here on just about the hottest day of the year. We wanted to eat outside but the garden was a few tables in the car park!
The bar staff were great but unfortunately the lager was flat but they willingly changed it for another.
We decided to eat but the choice of gammon was off the menu.
We had the second choice of ham x 2 and the home made burger.
The food arrived at the stated time and was good. The onion rings were super and the chips were great ( wedges with there skins, very rustic).
So in summary, food, staff and service good but the garden disappointing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank peterg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your food.
We were sorry you were expecting more of a garden, as a town centre property we don't for sure have this luxury, a terrace yes, which we make efforts to maintain; it certainly is a lovely sun trap and a relaxing respite for a town centre property, but as you say Garden we are not, we would not want guests to think otherwise. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Visited recently The Swan, Bradford on Avon. as guests. I would just like to say how much
we enjoyed our weekend break at this lovely riverside, town centre hotel. Rooms were
more than comfortable, James the owner made us feel welcome as a family. Meals were
excellent in the small but attractive newly decorated restaurant. The hotel has a pleasant
lounge/bar area which we found relaxing. Bar staff are friendly and efficient likewise all
of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful from the time we checked in. Car parking at the
back of the hotel are ample. Generally good value and we would recommend a stay
there...... Mr. & Mrs West, East Sussex.

Room Tip: Higher Rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Like the Ugly Duckling in the fairy story, this hotel has the potential to turn into a swan and live up to its name. The old building in the centre of this lovely historic town is lovely, the rooms our party had we're large and quirky however the management (or lack of) really let's the place down. We did't eat in the restaurant as our friends, who arrived the day before, had already booked a fabulous restaurant around the corner for the evening. Having eaten at The Swan once they vowed "never again". The breakfast was ok although the scrambled egg was v chewy and someone should tell chef that you don't scramble shell! The service was poor because there was only one girl serving. Drinks in the bar were ok but the barman should know what beers he is serving and while clean glasses are good they should't taste of furniture polish! There was no sign of any actual management here, it all felt a bit random! Really should try a lot harder to do the old building justice and justify the prices!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patience55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, would love to know when your friends last ate here, we have certainly made some changes and I would welcome the opportunity for your local friends to make themselves known to me and come back and give us another try. The standard of eggs is not acceptable, I am a particular stickler for nice soft fluffy scrambled eggs (also without shell) and I have since revisited this with the chefs!
Point taken about the barman, it was a young lad and we were giving him his first opportunity to work behind a bar, appreciate he should have had a bit more handholding.
As management we are pretty much here all the time, or try to be, sorry we missed introducing ourselves and sorry that you did not get the opportunity to give us the feedback at the time. Even Swans have a bad hair day occasionally - it is not acceptable and we are constantly working at improving our offering and ensuring that The Swan never has another bad hair day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Surly barmaids devoid of humour and empathy, dirty glasses, dirty drinks bottles, taste of reused cooking oil, dirty menus, dirty table, smell of cigarettes from outside, no towels or dryer in toilet. Having said all that, my wife really liked her Pad Thai. Recommend that the cook abandons ship and moves to a Thai restaurant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, this is certainly not the standards we aspire to maintain, particularly with housekeeping and cleaniness, we are not suggesting that you did not experience what was raised in the review but would like to say it is certainly not the norm. We are glad you enjoyed the Thai food, our owners are half Thai and we are pleased that this comes through in the food, rest assured come back again and you will enjoy your whole experience with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booked three double rooms for Saturday 28th June via Booking.com. Arrived soaked, cold and weary after spending the day navigating a canal boat on the Avon and Kennet Canal during a thunder storm. Desperate for hot shower and time to relax . Unfortunately the hotel had no knowledge of our booking despite being shown a confirmation from Booking.com including an acknowledgement
from the hotel manager! Although the manager was eventually able to negotiate alternative accommodation the fact that he was unable to commit to the legitimate contract spoiled a combined 50 and 60 Birthday Celebration. Incompetent?

Room Tip: Double check your booking, you never know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MrRant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

As a small Inn we would certainly support the reviewers suggestion of double checking with a hotel that your on line reservation is OK, particularly if the booking was made on line some months previously, not of course that 'losing' reservations is a regular occurrence it can happen. In the unusual cases where mistakes are made we do make every effort to do the best we can to ensure the guests are looked after as best we can under difficult circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a nearby wedding. The hotel was very nice in a good location and easy to find. The staff were all excellent and helpful. We had to change our booking arrangements at the last minute and they were very accommodating and even let us check in early. Good was very comfortable with lots of space. Breakfast was also good and varied choice.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

At first you think expensive sandwich. But once it arrives it delivers. Great portion very friendly staff. Garden could do with a bit of work done to make it more special. I will back again to try other things. They even were kind to our dog and thoughtful - thanks

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank burnsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
1,018 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#13 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £54 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing