We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel, fabulous staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swan Hotel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, fabulous staff!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago to celebrate an important family anniversary. Rooms are quaint ( it's extremely old!), clean and have everything you need, including lots of plug sockets. Breakfast was excellent as was the one evening meal we had. There were 14 of us and the staff were extremely capable and pleasant. The food was of a high standard. James, the GM was extremely efficient in posting on some items I accidentally left in my room - thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionae06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    74
    42
    37
    21
See reviews for
36
92
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Not a bad place. Not a great place.
Room was good..nice staff..good location.
but could argue about value for money.
stayed for one night in a room with a good bed and clean. Bathroom could do with upgrading however.
breakfast was nice but not the most organised. Please get the toast sorted out!!
No real problems though and we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philflop8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Room was tiny, a single sold as a double. The small window left us the choice of suffocating or sleeping with no curtains; we were still hot. Ambience was poor; cleanliness marginal. There were no spaces in the parking lot when we returned at night. Shower (cheap little job) had complex instructions because the pump was weak. Door frame was broken. The walk up was tiring with luggage, and no assistance.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We always welcome constructive feedback and certainly welcome it from guests during their stay in order to give us an opportunity to put things right.
As an Inn, with a history that dates back over 300 years there is a variance in the size and location of our rooms, booking one of our superior or deluxe rooms can certainly give our guests more space.
This lovely summer we are having with temperatures over 30 degrees does present its challenges and with these older buildings we don't have Aircon, however we do provide fans on request as we did with yourself.
We apologise for the damage to the door, which occurred during the previous guests stay, we have already made moves to fix this problem.
As regards the lack of parking in the car park, even when we are full this is exceptional that there is no space available, I am assuming you arrived back after the bar had closed, as we always try to give priority to hotel guests and can move cars around or ask a non resident to free up a space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Before writing this review, I took the trouble of writing to the management of the hotel in order to give them a chance to redeem themselves. So it was no real surprise that I received no reply. I therefore feel obliged to let others know what very poor accommodation is provided at the Swan Hotel Bradford on Avon. We booked a 2 night stay for 18th and 19th of July and were looking forward to our weekend in this beautiful Town. even before being given our keys I could tell what the accommodation would be like. The reception area is very grubby and chaotic and the stairs to the room had not been cleaned. The alcoves on the stairs were particularly dirty. We were given room (more like a cell actually) 4 which is a single room into which has been shoehorned a double bed with little room for much else. there was access to only one side of the bed with only one bedside cabinet and light. the carpet was stained and had not been vacuumed. The heavy window blind could not be opened because there was no cord attached, and the person showing us the room told us this and said others had complained and it should have been fixed.There were coffee stains (I think?) on the inside of the bathroom door and the general standard of cleanliness was very poor. Security was also an issue as the lock was hanging off the architrave and the architrave itself was coming away from the door frame such that I could have easily pushed the "locked" door open with one finger. All in all, a very bad experience and at £120 per night, a complete rip off. On the positive side, I should say that the staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Don't accept room 4 as a double. I don't think there is room for wifi in this cell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amesburydruid2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theswan B, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We did indeed receive an email from this reviewer on July 21st, it has been responded to accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here on just about the hottest day of the year. We wanted to eat outside but the garden was a few tables in the car park!
The bar staff were great but unfortunately the lager was flat but they willingly changed it for another.
We decided to eat but the choice of gammon was off the menu.
We had the second choice of ham x 2 and the home made burger.
The food arrived at the stated time and was good. The onion rings were super and the chips were great ( wedges with there skins, very rustic).
So in summary, food, staff and service good but the garden disappointing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank peterg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your food.
We were sorry you were expecting more of a garden, as a town centre property we don't for sure have this luxury, a terrace yes, which we make efforts to maintain; it certainly is a lovely sun trap and a relaxing respite for a town centre property, but as you say Garden we are not, we would not want guests to think otherwise. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Visited recently The Swan, Bradford on Avon. as guests. I would just like to say how much
we enjoyed our weekend break at this lovely riverside, town centre hotel. Rooms were
more than comfortable, James the owner made us feel welcome as a family. Meals were
excellent in the small but attractive newly decorated restaurant. The hotel has a pleasant
lounge/bar area which we found relaxing. Bar staff are friendly and efficient likewise all
of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful from the time we checked in. Car parking at the
back of the hotel are ample. Generally good value and we would recommend a stay
there...... Mr. & Mrs West, East Sussex.

Room Tip: Higher Rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Like the Ugly Duckling in the fairy story, this hotel has the potential to turn into a swan and live up to its name. The old building in the centre of this lovely historic town is lovely, the rooms our party had we're large and quirky however the management (or lack of) really let's the place down. We did't eat in the restaurant as our friends, who arrived the day before, had already booked a fabulous restaurant around the corner for the evening. Having eaten at The Swan once they vowed "never again". The breakfast was ok although the scrambled egg was v chewy and someone should tell chef that you don't scramble shell! The service was poor because there was only one girl serving. Drinks in the bar were ok but the barman should know what beers he is serving and while clean glasses are good they should't taste of furniture polish! There was no sign of any actual management here, it all felt a bit random! Really should try a lot harder to do the old building justice and justify the prices!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patience55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, would love to know when your friends last ate here, we have certainly made some changes and I would welcome the opportunity for your local friends to make themselves known to me and come back and give us another try. The standard of eggs is not acceptable, I am a particular stickler for nice soft fluffy scrambled eggs (also without shell) and I have since revisited this with the chefs!
Point taken about the barman, it was a young lad and we were giving him his first opportunity to work behind a bar, appreciate he should have had a bit more handholding.
As management we are pretty much here all the time, or try to be, sorry we missed introducing ourselves and sorry that you did not get the opportunity to give us the feedback at the time. Even Swans have a bad hair day occasionally - it is not acceptable and we are constantly working at improving our offering and ensuring that The Swan never has another bad hair day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing