We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageous Customer Service”
Review of Maharajha

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maharajha
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outrageous Customer Service”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I visited thid this estabilishment with a friend on the evening of Sunday 12th May at 6:30 pm while staying in Bradford on Avon. We had spent a long day hiking the Kennet and Avon canal and were very hungry. We walked in and noted that there was only one other small family in the restaurant so opted to sit in the window on a table for four. The manager appeared and without welcoming us, told us in an extremely rude manner that we could note sit at that table. He did not confirm that the table was booked which I do believe was the case on a Sunday evening at 6:30 pm.

We were so disgusted with his rude behaviour that we walked out. I would not recommend this estabilishment to anyone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    6
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food from a small, committed restaurant”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

No-one could claim that this restaurant is anything other than compact. For me that was one of its great charms.

We found the welcome to be good, the food to be well balanced and tasty and the decor wasn't over the top. I particularly liked that the food was not swimming in oily grease, as can be the case with more mediocre curry houses.

The owner (who told us he was from Armenia) is clearly committed to producing good quality food, freshly prepared. Not only does it say so in the menu, you could taste it in the food also.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Very disappointing food. The owner was very enigmatic and welcoming. The decor is fine but the food felt like it had come from a jar. My wife's vegetarian dopiaza was basically frozen peas and sweetcorn, a few potatoes and a tasteless paste. The chicken chasli tasted like it was from a sharwoods sweet and sour and the chicken wasn't well cooked. 1 star for the host but won't go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Very small and cosy restaurant. Very attentive staff. Cleanliness a bit under average. Rather than change top table cloth after diners left, waiter sponged it down with a washing up sponge!? Food ok but not the best Indian food I've ever had. Probably wouldn't bother going back if I was ever in Bradford on Trent again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you like your curry - this is your place”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Had a meal for 4 mid week. Not many in but to be expected in Bradford in January. But even so we were given one of the warmest welcomes ever and we enjoyed the 1-2-1 service and humour of the lady in charge. We had 4 different dishes all cooked to perfection and not running in grease with fully rice and crisp poppadum. It's a little faded the less comfortablI and clean. if its curry you are after walk down from town a little way towards the canal and have some great food and very reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canalwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maharajha also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Maharajha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing