We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good selection of food and great atmosphere”
Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good selection of food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were welcomed with a smile and immediately liked the atmosphere. Busy but did not feel manic.
Good selection of food on the menu and specials. Limited choice for children.
Mostly the food was very good but my wife's fish was overcooked and dry.
Reasonable prices for the area.
There were 7 of us and had a good table with plenty of room.
Sadly very limited car parking but were able to park freely on the street.
Recommend for family dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    51
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy venue on a windy day”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Been here before with friends and been pleased but this was a business meeting so needed somewhere that would be smart and with decent service. We were not disappointed. Our group of four sat by the fire in the main bar and although it was busy with other people we were not disturbed.

After the meeting I stayed behind with a colleague and we had lunch. I liked the menu, modern with a good choice. Food came quickly and portion size was more than adequate.

A good venue that caters for everyone in a pleasant fairly informal atmosphere. Will certainly be back.

Visited February 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pub food superb atmosphere.....but clean the gents toilets please”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Having now been here three times, and each time has been great I feel confident enough to write a review! The staff are friendly, bright and very switched on......the food is really great value, with plenty of delicious main courses for under a tender, a bit of a miracle for Bradford on Avon :-)
The star is the mixed trio of starters though, just £8 for three 'tapas' style dishes, brilliant value and great fun.....get a bowl of fries each and you've an excellent meal. So why not 5 stars? Well it's a bit of housekeeping, THE GENTS TOILETS! Such a shame, need to be cleaned more regularly and more thoroughly, my wife said the ladies were immaculate but the men's smelt very bad. Easy to remedy and would add in that final star, hope they do it as I think they deserve 5 stars, thanks

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Xmas meal”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This has always been a great place always enjoyed the food,but we were a a party of 8 and was a case of out of sight out of mind,we were in the back room.staff were really not helpful,such a shame will visit again hope it's better this time.

Visited December 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good ambiance”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We went for drinks with friends and it was a really good evening. Wine was good and I had a sausage panini, which was very good. Can't really say anything about the lunch/dinner menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing