We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of Sebastien's Bistro

Sebastien's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Sebastien's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$35
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We dined here on Saturday night having booked at very late notice and are so glad we did..The food was amazing,each course cooked to perfection by Sebastien. Jack our waiter was very attentive without being intrusive. We will be back very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    39
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I recently went here for my birthday with my family. Two of us had the featherblade of beef and two had burgers. The featherblade was delicious, really moist and tender. The burger was one of the best i've had. The beef was tasty and well -seasoned and the chips were lovely and crispy. We were too full for desert but will hopefully be able to try some next time. The service was excellent. The restaurant is in a lovely location overlooking the town bridge and has a really nice atmosphere. Will definitely be returning soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SHARRON P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very disappointed. Beautiful setting, starters were lovely but the steaks weren´t very good at all, and served only with tomatoes on the vine, and felt when asked how we were enjoying them, waitress seemed lost for words when we said they weren´t that good. On leaving the restaurant were shocked to see a large dog under the table when their owners could have eaten outside. Is it legal to allow dogs inside restaurants when people are having dinner?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jeannie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien R, Owner at Sebastien's Bistro, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
It is against the law for restaurants not to allow guide dogs accompanying blind persons. This was what you witnessed on the evening you visited and we would have been very happy to explain this to you had you enquired. Otherwise, we do not allow dogs in our dining room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had heard nothing but good reports about sebastien's, unfortunately I was in for a big disappointment. The salmon starter was nice, but nothing more. The main course of ribeye steak, of which we ordered 3 were all poorly cooked and of poor quality tough and stringy meat. After 2 distinctly average courses we opted to give desert a miss. The other thing that I could not believe was allowing dogs into a restaurant. The restaurant is in a lovely position being situated in the center of Bradford, however I shall not be re visiting it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien R, Owner at Sebastien's Bistro, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your main course. If you were not happy with how your steak was cooked we would have loved to hear from you on the night and would have happily replaced your steak for you. As far as the quality of the meat goes I am extremely particular about the produce I use in my restaurant. The meat you had was Half Aberdeen Angus and half Hereford. It is supplied to us by one of the best butchers in the country working very closely with the same local farm for many years. Again any issues regarding quality should have been fedback to us on the night.
Regarding dogs, we absolutely do not allow dogs in the restaurant, however dogs are allowed in our terrace. The dog you saw on the night you visited was a guide dog accompanying a blind person, and of course all restaurants are obliged by law to allow guide dogs with their owners. A discreet conversation with one of our staff would have saved you the trouble of signing up to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit...”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We shared a meal here with my brother and sister in law recently and were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed by the very friendly staff. The food was simply lovely and the service was great. It's not cheap but well worth the price we paid. We will definitely go back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RaJSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sebastien's Bistro also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Sebastien's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing