We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch pub grub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swan Hotel

The Swan Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
The Swan Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: US$11 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, Thai, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Swan Inn has a thriving and busy pub, open all day and offering full English breakfasts at £6.95, coffees and cakes all day, lunches and dinners, it is the ideal location for that special occasion for your family or friends. A popular meeting place for local groups and organizations and centrally located for friends to catch up as well. The menu offers a selection of both traditional British and Asian food - it is not fusion but the best of both worlds, great for a couple or group where both spicy and more traditional food is what is required!The pub also offers 12 well appointed en suite rooms
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is located in the centre of this tourist hotspot, so when we arrived after 8pm on the last Saturday night of March we were really pleased that there were several tables available. We were served at the bar by a really charming young lady, who explained that you order and pay for your food at the bar and the staff bring this too your table. My husband ordered slow cooked belly pork, which came out beautifully presented in a large bowl on a bed of spring onion mash, surrounded by cider and sage sauce. I ordered homemade pie of the day and chips. Again this was well presented with a side of red cabbage and cauliflower. The chips were in fact fried potato wedges and worth every over indulgent calorie! The dessert list was limited to a few options on a small chalk board, so we both picked sticky toffee pudding, which was faultless. The restaurant was buzzing but had a really friendly atmosphere. I would go back here again without hesitation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuBoo5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    40
    22
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Made to feel very welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just returned from two nights stay in a comfortable and clean room at The Swan 21-23 March 2014 to meet friends. The Swan is ideally located in central Bradford-on-Avon and we enjoyed a pleasant canal walk to Bath, so could leave the car parked at the Inn. The staff were all friendly, helpful and attentive at breakfast, evening meals and at the bar.

All in all a well run establishment and we look forward to returning again soon.
Lindsey & Paul

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anight away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The swan hotel staff were very helpful and their customer service was excellent,our room was lovely nice clean comfy bedding lovely towels,our breakfast was delicious thoroughly enjoyed our stay welldone .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debbielocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Went here with work colleagues after a meeting, the service was excellent but the atmosphere was slightly lacking as it was so quiet. The food was very well presented and delicious and we all had a very pleasant evening

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterEh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely place....would highly recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night....lovely quirky hotel with very friendly staff and owners! Very good value for money and would recommend that you have breakfast here! The hotel itself is in a lovely location, very picturesque setting. There is a train station about 3min walk away which will get you straight into Bath. If you are looking for something that is good value and close to Bath itself then The Swan is definitely the place, we would definitely go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lrm1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Hotel also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing