We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Identity Crisis?”

The Swan Hotel Restaurant
Price range: US$12 - US$33
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Swan Inn has a thriving and busy pub, open all day and offering full English breakfasts at £6.95, coffees and cakes all day, lunches and dinners, it is the ideal location for that special occasion for your family or friends. A popular meeting place for local groups and organizations and centrally located for friends to catch up as well. The menu offers a selection of both traditional British and Asian food - it is not fusion but the best of both worlds, great for a couple or group where both spicy and more traditional food is what is required!The pub also offers 12 well appointed en suite rooms
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Popped in for afternoon drinks with my fellow 'Hopheads' but we were disappointed with the selection,and surprised to find the bar propped up with cakes,which looked nice and homemade but out of place in a Pub/Hotel.
The place was very quite so we were treated to an unexpected hoovering display from one of the attractive barstaff which was strangely erotic and made our visit worthwhile afterall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pastryfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Owner at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Thanks for your feedback, glad you enjoyed your experience, as a town centre location catering to a wide range of clientele we do offer something for everyone, from great beers, to barista coffees, cookies, cakes, home cooked pub classics and Thai food and the spacious nature of the pub with 4 different areas can make the pub sometimes feel a little empty, however there are also lots of events that take place to entertain our guests from live music to comedy nights, open mics, quiz nights and much more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Recently unearthed curriculum notes from The Swan School of Cookery:

Day 1: Burning Chicken
Day 2: Slathering: Butter and Beyond
Day 3: Everything But the Ingredients, Modernity and its Sandwiches

The service is such that by ordering anything you will probably be there for the whole three-day course.

2  Thank The_Indoorsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

I would assume the tripadvisor readers are about as clueless as we are to what this review refers to! If anyone figures out what this reviewer is actually complaining about please do let us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Like many places in the area, this pub is trading on its location. The service was slow (in two senses of the word), the effort and ingredients put into the food perfunctory and the ambience was provided by a posh racist man in florid trousers and complexion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We always welcome constructive criticism - especially criticism that we can act upon, we are not sure who the individual is that you are referring to but we do not support or encourage any unruly or inconsiderate behaviour and generally deal very quickly with individuals who act in any way as to cause offence, embarrassment or in any way affect our other guests enjoyment of their time with us, it would appear on this occasion that perhaps we were not so fast off the mark - rest assured generally we are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We needed a meal on our journey home and thought we would try The Swan,the lady on bar duty was superb,knew her ales and knew the menu for advice,shame we was leaving.Big choice of dishes,food was ok,it was early evening so atmosphere was flat,probably will improve later.
We would stop off again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back here again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stumbled upon this pub as we were strolling around Bradford on Avon. We hadn't had lunch so were quite hungry and looking for an early supper. After a quick look around the only other place open at that time of day was a pub selling just pies, various, but looking at the price list they must have been filled with beluga caviar! We walked back to the Swan and after conferring with a very friendly girl behind the bar my wife went for the ham and eggs and I chose the pie of the day, turkey and mushroom. Both were excellent portions, tasty and cooked very well. The pie was really succulent and flavoursome. It came with a side dish of vegetables which were fresh. My wife had more than adequate with 3 huge slices of ham, 2 eggs and plenty of home cooked chips. They could alter the wording of the menu as it doesn't do justice to the food that is served e.g if it is served with potato's, veg or salad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsavvy007, Manager at The Swan Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your experience, we have indeed just launched a new menu, keeping many of the old favourites and adding some new, we have also taken on board your comments and developed the descriptions as well.
Hopefully next time you might come back and try some of our Thai food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Swan Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing