We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granby House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Granby House B&B
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We wanted to spend a relaxing weekend away from the city doing nothing much and did just that. Granby House is a beautiful place with lovely hosts Maddie and Hud who make you feel from the moment you step into their house. We were offered the most delicious home made cake with tea on arrival and loved every minute of our stay. The rooms are beautiful and the lounge is such a great place to hang around. They also had a fire lit for us since we chose to stay in on a rainy and wet Easter Sunday. Also their knowledge about the local places to eat and visit was really handy. The breakfast was very good specially the homemade muffins which we thoroughly enjoyed.

We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RajeSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

An excellent, polished and very warm and welcoming establishment. It's unfair really to call Granby House 'just' a B&B - it's really more of a cross between a grand country house and a luxury boutique hotel. From the sweeping drive onwards you know this is going to be a bit special. We had a huge, very well decorated and appointed room with a very comfortable bed, and the bathroom was lovely and to a very high standard. The great thing about this place is the attention to detail, even down to a small decanter of sherry in our room, which was a lovely touch. The rest of the house is fantastic too - huge rooms, roaring log fires and terrific breakfasts. The owners, Maddie and Hud, seem to really enjoy having guests and they're the perfect hosts - their love of their home is evident and nothing was too much trouble for them when it came to looking after us. They also have an encyclopedic knowledge of Bath and the surrounding area so are a great mine of information on what to do and where to go. The house is set within fantastic gardens and it's a pleasure strolling around - we went in the winter when it was still lovely to walk around the ponds, and I can imagine it'd be utterly delightful in the spring and summer. We had a lovely stay at Granby House and it comes highly recommended - it's just at the edge of the picturesque village of Bradford Upon Avon with its shops, pubs and tearooms - along with great countryside nearby and easy access into Bath city centre. Anyone looking for a very comfortable and great value place to stay near Bath - with an incredibly warm welcome - should look no further.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night to attend the Bath marathon at short notice and what a find. A beautiful country house with a long sweeping drive. The attention to detail in the room was top notch, especially the decanter of sherry, chocs on the pillows and a good selection of beverages. Breakfast was superb and the home baked muffin went down a treat after the race. Very hospitable hosts made it a five star experience!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

While visiting our adult daughter in the UK we had the great pleasure of staying at the Granby House B&B, near Bath. Owners Maddie and Hud Cooper have created an atmosphere of English country elegance, warmth and authentic hospitality. Upon driving through the gates, we entered a beautifully landscaped garden with a sweeping drive leading to the large and gracious country house. We have stayed in many historic inns, but none have compared to the beauty of the rooms and the Cooper family hospitality. Our rooms were inviting, restful and serene. The welcoming fire glowing in the living room, beckoned us to sit and enjoy a moments rest and discuss the day’s activities. The delicious breakfasts and Maddie's lovely homemade walnut cake at teatime were simply, the best! After two blissful nights at the Granby House we quite honestly did not want to leave! Thank you Maddie and Hud for your happy, hospitality. Our stay at the Granby House will be a cherished memory of our Myers family vacation. We hope to see you again for another great stay!

Room Tip: The Tulip Suite is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend at this delightful country house. Our room was spotless and really well equipped (loved the little bowl of nuts and decanter of sherry! Tea making facilites with bone china cups) with a huge comfortable bed! Wifi access in the room was good too. Breakfast was delicous and the muffins freshly made, so good!. We spent a lovely day shopping and sightseeing in Bath - 20 minutes away and enjoyed discovering charming Bradfod. Our hosts were very accomodating and helpful, booked us a taxi for departure at 5am! We are planning our return visit in March to this warm and friendly B&B, lovely gardens and spacious rooms. Can't wait to see it in the Spring!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tulip Tree room which was beautifully decorated, really spacious, great big bath tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I were looking for a romantic country weekend away and Granby House seemed the perfect location. From the very beginning, driving up the sweeping drive way up to the impressive house we knew we'd made the right choice. Maddie who runs the B and B gave us the loveliest warm welcome and told us all about the best restaurants and things to do in the local area, which was invaluable. The house is beautiful, as though out of a romantic novel! It was so relaxing to be able to stroll around the gardens and ponds after a busy week in London! The rooms were beautifully decorated, and the beds extremely comfortable, I hadn't slept that well in ages! The breakfast was of a high standard, with homemade muffins and a freshly cooked breakfast... and seeing the guinea fowl potter around outside made it even more special! We came home after a 2 night stay, feeling thoroughly relaxed and rejuvenated, as though we had been away a week! We cannot recommend Granby House enough, we shall definitely be regular visitors, there is so much to explore in the area and the B and B is the ideal base. FABULOUS!

Room Tip: We stayed in the enormous Tulip Tree Suit, with a huge bed, shower and separate bath, balcony and su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed one weekend because we had a friend's birthday party nearby. Granby House is a large country house with lovely gardens, sweeping drive and impressive entrance. Inside it is warm and friendly.
We stayed in the Tulip Tree Room which is really a suite. It is beautifully decorated. The bed was really comfortable and the en suite bathroom was warm. There were leaflets about places to visit nearby. It feels more like a starred hotel than a B and B.
We had a delicious breakfast and were very well looked after.
It is definitely a place to go as a couple or an adult on your own as the house has lovely furniture and the decoration is of a high standard.

Room Tip: Can only say the Tulip Tree Room is the largest, the bed is huge and really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanda139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.8 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westwoods
The Westwoods
#8 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granby House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granby House B&B

Property: Granby House B&B
Address: Granby House Elms Cross, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you from Maddie Cooper at her charming country family home 1 mile from Bradford on Avon and 7 miles from the beautiful Georgian city of Bath. The house is set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and fields. As well as the wonderful location and gardens, Granby House has a relaxing country house atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing