We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific stay”
Review of The Westwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westwoods
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Terrific stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked both rooms for our stay of three adults and two children (family room - super king size bed and sofa bed, and bathroom; second bedroom with double bed and private bathroom). Julie was a wonderful host (we met Clive later and he was very nice also!). Tea/coffee and biscuits on arrival with juice for the children. Great after a drive from Stonehenge. Lovely, spacious rooms and very comfortable. Wifi included. Nothing was too much trouble. I asked whether vegetarian option could be made available for breakfast and it was. Great! Freshly baked muffins also for breakfast but there was so much food we took for the journey. There is a really nice walk along the Kennet and Avon Canal nearby with houseboats - very relaxing. Short drive to Bradford-on-Avon. Julie also suggested a great local pub for food - the New Inn - see review. I would unreservedly recommend and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best b&b's we have stayed at. Clive & Julie were perfect hosts and could not do enough for us. Rooms were good and breakfast was great. Very quite location. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thanks so much Clive and Julie. You made our stay really enjoyable and the breakfast was amazing. Our stay at Westwoods will be remembered fondly. We highly recommend this accommodation to anyone travelling to Bath or surrounds.quick easy access to Bath and quaint walks around the village. Andrew and Sharon South Australia

Room Tip: Great quiet spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I don't normally like B & B's because I feel like I am intruding in someone's house but The Westwoods has it's own entrance and is self contained
The en-suite Red room was very spacious and furnished in a contemporary style with a super king bed and day bed for an extra person, tea and coffee making facilities and every attention to detail.
The welcoming hosts, Julie and Clive made my 2 night stay really pleasant and can help with what to do and see around Bradford on Avon and Bath.
The breakfast is amazing; fresh fruit, full English breakfast with locally sourced produce, home made bread, home made banana muffins, home made marmalade, it will really set you up for the day. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here 6thMay for the night, had difficulty finding the place, weather didn't help,once found Clive & Julie had a cuppa & Biscuits ready for us, they were very obliging
Rooms was very good & Breakfast was great ,we had freshly made muffins which we couldn't eat for breakfast so Julie gave them to us to eat on the way to next destination ,, they were delicious
Robyn & Robert Australia

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed overnight whilst collecting son from Bath Uni. Tucked away just a few miles outside the centre, the accom is an annexe to the owners' property and is furnished and cleaned to a high standard. We stayed in the family room which is large and bright with comfy beds and a good ensuite.
Clive and Julie are so welcoming, offering refreshments on arrival and a spectacular breakfast with lots of hot/cold variety. It appears to be a new venture but I'm sure they'll make a great success and we hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billygoatlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This bed and breakfast is so beautiful. It is set in a really idyllic location in the beautiful village of Upper Westwood. From here we were able to travel easily into Bath (around 6 miles) and more locally Bradford-upon-Avon (2 miles). It has beautiful walks through the village. We even walked to Avoncliff for ice cream where we were able to sit in a lovely café and enjoy the view of the canal. This is also a handy train stop for Bath.

There is a lovely and friendly village pub which serves good food and good wine.

Julie and Clive who run The Westwoods were so welcoming they made us feel like one of their family but the B and B is split from their home with separate front doors which we liked for privacy. We were travelling with a baby and a toddler and the family room was really ample size with a good ensuite. A good TV and wifi.

The breakfast (full English) was superb. The eggs were from the next door farm and had brilliant orange yolks, sausages of top quality and lots of choice for the children and even the baby which must have taken a bit of thought and planning!

At £85 per night for the family room this is really reasonable and top class. If you are visiting Bath or Longleat or this part of the country for any reason it would come highly recommended.

Room Tip: The family room has a huge super king size bed or can be split for three singles. We were easily abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katyleewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
1.6 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westwoods

Property: The Westwoods
Address: 1 Friary Close, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Westwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing