We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely house and gardens”

Stillmeadow Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stillmeadow Bed & Breakfast
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house and gardens”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at this B&B whilst holidaying aroung Statford upon Avon and Dorset. It is the beautiful home of Sue & Ed Gilby. They are a lovely couple who work very hard to maintain this amazing home. The room we had was clean and spacious with views over the gardens. Good hearty breakfast too! We had a meal at the local pub which they recommended which was really good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiddy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
31
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at Stillmeadow after our booking at another B&B couldn't be fulfilled due to the owners going overseas. That person had already asked Sue at Stillmeadow if they had a room and if we could have it at the same price.
It was a lovely stay with very pleasant and friendly hosts. Bradford-on-Avon is a very nice town and a good base for exploring Bath. Our room was well appointed, clean and comfortable and breakfast was better than your average B&B normally provides.

The black labrador at Still meadow was no problem at all, so not sure why the other people from Adelaide felt intimidated. He likes to bark to make his presence known, but he's very friendly and just likes to announce loudly that he wants a pat. We loved him and Stillmeadow, and you will too!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

We booked Stillmeadow on the hop and were happy with the house when we arrived. The location was great for Bath without being in the larger town and there were lots of options for dinner with the Fox and Hounds pub getting two thumbs up.

Our hosts, Ed and Sue were welcoming and accommodating to requests with breakfast being plentiful and good quality. Most importantly they welcome children of all ages with our 3 year old daughter and there was another couple staying with an 8 month old baby also.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayne,Braintree
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Very friendly welcome and you're made to feel at home straight away. Bollinger the dog is also happy to see you. We had a lovely en-suite room with great views of the rear garden. Location is very peaceful and we both had a great nights sleep. The breakfast choices were very good and very tasty. We will definitely return to Stillmeadow when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The worst greeting I have ever had at a B&B.
I arrived at the B&B rang the bell, the door opened and a large black dog charged at me with teeth bared, barking and the hair raised up on its back, stopping just an inch from my hand where it continued to bark aggressively. I froze on the spot as that was what I was trained to do with guard dogs when I worked as a contractor to the military.
The owners assured me that that was his way of being "friendly", we disagreed with the owners’ and they seemed oblivious to the dogs dangerous and aggressive behaviour. The owner admitted other guests in the past had concerns similar to mine with the dog’s so called “friendly” behaviour and that the this had gotten worse over the past 2 years.

We decided not to stay there. I would advise others to do the same as there are many quality alternative B&B's.
As a side note:I have been around a lot of dogs and grew up with sheep and cattle dogs so I don’t have an issue with dogs, this one clearly wasn’t well behaved nor under control.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aus581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Germans , Cornwall
Level Contributor
237 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Friendly welcome from our hosts and Bolinger as well.
Beautiful en suite room with a lovely view of the garden. Good English breakfast.
Peaceful location but easy to get to Bradford On Avon and just 10 miles from Bath

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertscargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We enjoy our weekends away but this was the 1st one with our 5 month old son. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and were delighted with our room; very clean & comfortable & lots of extras to make you feel at home. An ideal location for exploring surrounding areas such as Bradford on Avon & Bath. Highly recommend the local pub which is a pleasant short walk, great food & service & child friendly. Also within easy walking distance is a shop & cash point. Sue & Ed made us feel very welcome, the breakfast was excellent; fruits, nuts, seeds, cereals, toast & good quality full English. Whatever we needed we always felt it was their pleasure to help. Hope we can stay again if we're ever in the area in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiekoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
2.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.3 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stillmeadow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stillmeadow Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stillmeadow Bed & Breakfast
Address: 18 Bradford Road | Winsley, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Class:4 star — Stillmeadow Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stillmeadow Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing