We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wobbly tea room”
Review of Bridge Tea Rooms

Bridge Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The wobbly tea room”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Not cheap, but you can't really visit Bradford-on-Avon without experiencing the the tea room with the bendy outside walls and the olde worlde interior. Upstairs is cosier and you get a good view of the town from the upstairs windows. The morning coffee/tea and a teacake/scone/crumpet deal is quite good. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 684Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    136
    49
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always delightful and charming”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

How lucky am I to have this wonderful tea room at the end of my street? It's a definite must for all my visitors. Charming and delightful, delicious food, slow and graceful service to go with the ambience of the tea room.

A "must do" if visiting Bradford on Avon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moyra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing visit to this tea rooms. They obviously don't like having children in there, they looked deeply offended when we asked for a high chair and the staff made the biggest fuss about having to walk round it when passing our table. The lady in charge was rude and sarcastic, making a point of embarrassing a member of her staff when she nearly dropped a tea cup, making us feel rather awkward. They also forgot half our order and then suggested we'd forgotten to order it when we questioned them about where it was! Very poor, we won't be going back. There's a far better, friendly, lovely tea rooms down by the old tythe barn with a gorgeous garden which we went to instead, and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating.

Helpful?
2 Thank Avcakeneatit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor, rude service. Poor quality food”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Such a shame - this is our second visit here and another poor experience. The service is very rude - clearly they do not like children despite them being well behaved. Forgot part of our order, no apology. Cake was dumped on the table so much so that it slid of the plate onto the table. This should be a lovely experience having tea here as the building is beautiful - certainly nothing not the case. We will not return and waste our money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SugarLumps2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a really lovely time here last week. We had afternoon tea (I think it was called the 'Empire Menu') with some champagne. We bought it on an Amazon deal, so it cost us £25!! A total bargain!! I think it would have been a bit too expensive at the normal rate of about £42.
Cakes were DELICIOUS!! Scones were AMAZING!! Bubbly was LUSH!!
The building is very quaint inside, although could probably do with a bit of a touch up.
Waitresses really friendly, although we felt slightly rushed at the start.
Would definitely recommend and will definitely be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Katherine294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rah23, Owner at Bridge Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Many Thanks for your positive comments. The appearance of the tea rooms at the moment is not as it should be. On Christmas Eve we experienced a major flood and repairs are being planned for after Easter. Before we could start the walls need to dry and major works undertaken. Once that is done flooring and carpets will be laid. Before too long the tea rooms will be looking even better once again. Roy Hayward - Owner of The Bridge Tea Rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bridge Tea Rooms also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Bridge Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing