We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Welsh Rarebit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bridge Tea Rooms

Bridge Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Poole
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Welsh Rarebit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We always come here when we are in the area and have never been disappointed. It is a lovely atmosphere and they deserve all the awards they have received.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Velohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    125
    46
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We first visited 15 years ago and were so pleased to find it still there. Very central, old and quirky. Watch your head on the way in. Very nice atmosphere and friendly efficient service. At first the menu looked rather pricy but when the food arrived you could see why, even the sandwiches came as a plate full with a huge side salad. Try and leave room for one of the delicious cakes. Tea was in large pots and delicious. To my taste the coffee didn't live up to the tea, but did come with a free top up.
Recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I was brought to this tea room by a friend who has visited many times in the past. The setting is lovely and the whole place is decorated to reflect the age of the building. The waiting staff were dressed in victorian style which I found really lovely. We had a late lunch and were not disappointed. My friend had a ploughmans lunch, which looked lovely whilst I had a bagette. Prortions were great and the food was lovey, though a little pricey for a lunch. The staff were friendly and inviting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wannabeaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had the Welsh Rarebit with mushrooms followed by the Cram Tea. both were wonderful. Cannot be faulted at all. The staff were lovely, friendly and resplendent in there costumes.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Esemkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“scrumptious cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a great place to take tea, a variety of specialty teas lovely scones with lashings of cream and jam, home made cakes from sponges to cheese cake if thats not enough light lunches as well! The staff are friendly cheerful and helpful

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helviticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bridge Tea Rooms also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Bridge Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing