We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, if somewhat overpriced hotel”
Review of Woolley Grange

Woolley Grange
Price range: US$98 - US$98
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Vence, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great, if somewhat overpriced hotel”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed a weekend in October in this lovely but somewhat cramped hotel. Our room which was the cheapest available double was £ 250 including one dinner. The room was well equipped and comfortable but because it is an old property, access by way of a steep staircase can be a problem. The spa was very disappointing - the indoor pool is small and was filled with screaming jumping kids the day we went. The surrounds are very slippery and it would have been a good idea to provide anti slip rubber walkways alongside the pool. The staff at the hotel were without exception wonderful, friendly and helpful. The meals, dinner, breakfast and lunch were without exception superb. But a 5 star hotel it is not, even though some of the other rooms were priced accordingly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leli2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Had a really nice lunch with my wife and new born!! Chicken Caesar is the best I have had and felt very looked after by Richard. Food is fantastic and presentation brilliant

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ashdwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Messingham
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place for a celebration”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We went to a Golden wedding celebration for both afternoon tea & dinner in the evening.
The afternoon tea was beautiful. Tea & Coffee in abundance, delicate sandwiches, delicious cakes (the scones with jam & cream are to die for) and with the addition of attentive staff and a private room it was all perfect.
The dinner started with pre dinner drinks, once again in a different lovely private room. These were served by a very efficient staff who were friendly & attentive. There was a splendid array of nibbles as appetisers prior to the dinner being served. There were 22 people at the dinner, the staff served everyone three courses, coffee & petite fours without fuss, errors or intrusion.
The food was delicious, so well presented & so tasty, full marks to the kitchen staff.
I can't imagine anyone having a bad experience at Woolley Grange, if you are thinking of going, go it's great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a lovely lunch in this hotel as a child free treat. We were concerned that, being a child friendly hotel it would be overrun with the little darlings but not so! The food was average and quite pricey but the service very good and the outside seating area and grounds were lovely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KLN321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The spa was a little disappointing”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We went for a spa treatment as it looked very nice on the website. It was much smaller than expected and there was no one on reception when we arrived. The therapists were lovely but the overall place wasn't as I would have expected for Woolley Grange

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Misdemeanour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woolley Grange also viewed

 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Woolley Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing