We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub stay”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just had the one night here but could easily have stayed more. The pub is very cosy with a great selection of real ales and wines. Food was exceptionally good for the price and on the unusual side (which is very good considering the same old stuff that is usually served up in British pubs)
Breakfast in the bar was very relaxing and the large bedroom and bathroom (with walk in shower on a par with a Malmaison hotel) were appreciated. There were ample tea and coffee brewing facilities in the room (with fresh coffee too) Parking is a bit limited if you arrive late (very popular pub) but not a problem as there are ample places in side streets nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    99
    11
    11
    0
See reviews for
52
330
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

There's really not a lot I can add - or need to add - to the highly consistent comments and reports of previous reviewers, other than I totally agree with them ! But good service is good service wherever and whenever you find it, and it should be praised.

On a touring holiday to Wiltshire, my wife and I finished our trip with three nights at The Castle Inn (featured in and recommended by the standard guidebooks - and here). Our welcome was warm and genuine (yes, Tory is indeed an excellent Manager) ; the facilities were of a consistently high standard ; food and service (we ate in all three nights) were absolutely fine. We'd recommend a stay here to anyone and, yes, we genuinely would be happy to return if we're ever in the area again.

We had Room 1 - very comfortable ; an enormous and comfortable bed ; excellent en suite facilities. Passing traffic noise was NOT the problem we thought it might be, but the noise from the kitchen extractor fan was intrusive (it switches off at about midnight). The decor and style might not be to everyone's taste but .......... when you're sound asleep, who sees these things ? The noise from the downstairs bar was a problem on the last of our three nights. The lighting on the (steep) stairs could be better, especially as the carpet and walls are so dark. Those with less than perfect eyesight need some help - especially after a good meal and a pint or three of draught cider.

It's good to see an Inn that (a) welcomes and looks after the residents so well while (b) is so clearly at the heart of a vibrant community. Full marks (again) to Tory and her staff Team for achieveing a happy balance so positively and successfully. Mums meeting for a chat and a coffee at 9.00a.m. is a sign that things are working well here - as is the impressive busy-ness in the evenings. The Castle clearly has a varied and regular local clientele - as it deserves to have.
Fresh orange juice, a perfect "fryup" and the morning papers in an atmosphere of unhurried competence - the very best way to start a sunny day of cycling the Kennet and Avon canal towpath to Bath and back.

Our sincere thanks to Tory, Perry and all of the hard-working, cheerful and very helpful staff for taking such good care of us. Long may you prosper at The Castle - and more success to the Flatcappers' approach if this is an example of what you're about. Well done !

Room Tip: We booked three nights mid-week, and immediately were offered a room-rate reduction for that very re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Troubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed there by accident. We were en route from Bath to Reading and took the wrong train.. The taxi man at the train station (highly knowledgeable and kind) recommended it. They took us there. All and all an excellent combination of service, rates, pub etc. Very tastefully decorated and run. Superb

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonioP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I've been meaning to write this review for some time so here goes. I've been a regular at this pub ever since it reopened some years ago, and it just seems to get better and better. It is now managed by the wonderful Victoria ("Tory" to everyone) who runs the establishment with both charm and efficiency. The Castle is probably the most chilled place I've ever been to; a testament being that mums pop in here after school with their children to have a glass of wine and for the children to play games - I've even seen a little girl stretched out on one of the sofas asleep! The menu is extensive and caters for all tastes (I'm vegetarian): the "tapas" type grazing menu is particularly good value and the risotto with butternut squash a particular favourite. There is an excellent choice of well-kept real ales and an extensive reasonably- proced wine list. I've recommended the Castle to many friends who have also become regulars - you know who you are!. One person booked accommodation for a cousin who was over from America and the B&B was also of a very high standard. So please give this place a try and arrive early in the evening as it can get very crowded as a result of its excellent reputation. A final word to "Mr Flatcapper" whatever you're paying "Tory" and her staff, it isn't enough!!

Geoff & Jem et al - aka "The Locals"

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

i recently returned from an overnight stay in this b&b and found the whole experience fantastic. The room was very well decorated & very spacious, & the staff were very helpful & friendly. The building itself is very nice & the breakfast was lovely. overall a great stay & will definately return in future

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1 which was nice enough - i believe room 4 is the best room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bacsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Have lunched here a few times, the food and service is excellent, along with a good and different choice of ales.If they could improve the outside tables it would warrant full marks. Please update and provide some umbrellas!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HHCons9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

With out doubt the best bar in BOA. Great atmosphere, lovely staff and nice menu!! Would recommend to anyone, and would suggest even going out of your way to get there! It is a steep hill leading to it from the town centre - but definitely worth it when you get there!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robofox2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
426 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
958 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: 10 Mount Pleasant, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful freehouse pub with 4 generously proportioned luxury boutique bedrooms with stunning views over the Georgian rooftops of the pretty town of Bradford on Avon & beyond. Just 7 miles from the historic city of Bath, The Castle is set in a characterful Georgian building & has traded as an Inn for 160 years. Lovingly, sympathetically & imaginatively restored The Castle has a playful eccentricity that is Cluedo country house meets traditional country pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing