We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but small” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful but small”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Extremely well located to the town centre. Just four doubles on the first floor of a dining pub. All very well converted from an ancient building with generous accommodation and a very luxurious ensuite shower room. Added feature is real coffee in a cafetiere as well as leaf tea!
Downside: very small TV set high and distant, no telephone in room and it is quite busy at meal times especially outdoors on weekends and holidays.
Pleasant hardworking staff and parking onsite.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    96
    11
    11
    0
See reviews for
49
325
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

It's a super place. Yes, indeed it is.

The food was good. As a previous (poor) reviewer put it "steak and chips with some leaves". But the steak was cooked to perfection, the "leaves" were good and tasty, the chips just about perfect and the pepper sauce very nice. I wonder what the previous person was expecting over and above this ??? A Masterchef finalist's masterpiece for £16 ?????

My room was comfortable and clean with a large bed, decent shower room, desk, TV etc. all standard stuff but not shabby or grubby like some places.

The staff are very friendly. The assistant manager moved her car so that I could park mine in the rather small car park.

The beer is well kept and a good range. If you're here for a few days you should try them all! You may have to queue at the bar though...only two people serving when I was here.

Downsides ?

The car park is tiny and surrounding roads are double yellow lines. Expect problems.

The main problem though is noise. If you're looking for a quiet room for an early night, look elsewhere. Rooms are over the bar ( in the main ) and, as I write this at 11.30pm, I can hear people saying goodbye loudly, glasses being cleared, bottles rattling, squeaky doors banging, dragging of chairs and tables, strange thumps from far away elsewhere in the building and so on.

Don't let this put you off...its a pub after all, not a city centre gin palace big chain hotel. It's a marvellous place - Just bring your ear plugs if you want an early night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinLilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Great place to stay whilst visiting Bath. Friendly helpful hosts, polite and nothing too much trouble. Busy, atmospheric pub with good beer and closing time punctual, which meant we could get to sleep at a reasonable time! good food with plenty of choices and the breakfasts were superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gwenan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful night away. We were met by Tori the manager who very kindly had saved parking spaces for us and we were shown to our rooms straight away. All of the staff that we came into contact with were polite, friendly and professional. The rooms were all gorgeous, we had all four as part of a wedding group and it suited us perfectly. They were clean, amazing bathrooms, massive fluffy towels, lovely coffee, tea and a selection of Marshfield biscuits. The breakfast was amazing, so much choice and we were joined by 10 others and the service was still brilliant. Great hosts, beautiful, clean, spacious rooms, superb breakfast and a real desire to please from all of the staff. What more could you want? We will, all, be back. Thanks so much you really did make our weekend. Lisa, Nick, etc, etc, etc!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boston0761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We visited The Castle on a Friday evening for a meal. When we entered the pub it was fairly busy but we managed to get a table. I queued for the drinks for over 10 minutes as I had to wait behind a large family who were ordering food and all paying separately. By the time I had ordered my drink and got a menu I was wondering whether we should abandon the visit.. but we were there now.

After a long queue to order the food during which my partner needed the loo and we lost our table, we now had food on the way and nowhere to sit.

We managed to grab another table when somebody left but I did have to fight somebody else for it - I did explain we had lost ours and had food ordered.

When the food arrived it was okay, steak with chips and sauce and some leaves, quite basic for the price.

We would have like another drink but we couldn't face queuing to get one and the food would have been cold so we managed without.

I have to say that it was a thoroughly disappointing visit and not one I shall ever repeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notton2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We ate here on a Friday night in February 2013 when trying to find somewhere to eat in/near Bath. Everywhere seemed packed and one of the bar staff in another pub recommended The Castle Inn.

From the outside it didn't look like anything special, particularly as there wasn't much parking and we had to park quite a way down the road. However, when entering the pub, we saw it was really nicely decorated, busy (which is always a good sign!) and had a really nice atmosphere with nicely dressed clientelle. Although the place was packed, we found a table (which had been cleaned, unlike some of the other places I had eaten in recently!) and ordered our food. You had to order at the bar, but the bar staff were attentive and friendly and I didn't have to wait long at all to be served. I had a burger and my boyfriend had fish & chips. Both were really, really nice and arrived quickly, despite there being lots of diners and people drinking. The food was very reasonably priced and there were no problems at all - I ordered the chocolate brownie for dessert and when it arrived, it was a really generous helping.

We both really enjoyed our food here - if I had to say anything negative, it would just be the fact we had to park half a mile down the road and it was a freezing cold night, but really not that much of a problem, well worth the walk for the lovely food & atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Lovely nights stay. Stayed in room four, which is decorated beautifully & the bathroom is absolutely stunning! We ate in the bar on the evening & can't fault the chef, breakfast was also brilliant, which we enjoyed in the sunshine in the garden. Really wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Room four has a huge bathroom with a bath, shower & his & her sinks! One of the biggest bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.3 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: 10 Mount Pleasant, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful freehouse pub with 4 generously proportioned luxury boutique bedrooms with stunning views over the Georgian rooftops of the pretty town of Bradford on Avon & beyond. Just 7 miles from the historic city of Bath, The Castle is set in a characterful Georgian building & has traded as an Inn for 160 years. Lovingly, sympathetically & imaginatively restored The Castle has a playful eccentricity that is Cluedo country house meets traditional country pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing