We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

What a fantastic find. All the staff were very friendly and attentive and we were made to feel at home as soon as setting foot on the premises. We booked into room 4 - wow, beautifully decorated room with an amazing bathroom and views out across Bradford-on-Avon. Exceptional food, both evening dinner and breakfast were superb. (wish we could have stayed longer and sampled more from the menu)

Well positioned for access into Bath.

Thank you Castle Inn for making our short getaway an even more special occassion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    96
    11
    11
    0
See reviews for
49
325
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here on a short break. We were welcomed by the manager, Tori, who rearranged the whole little car park to find space for us to park. Stayed in Room 4, which was very nicely finished, with the most amazing bathroom – roll-top bath and a massive walk-in shower. Bed was comfortable, and the toiletries well chosen. Very relaxing.

The F&B offering was stunning - all home cooked food and local beers, served in wonderful rustic surroundings. Generous portions of both hearty traditional and more adventurous dishes made choosing difficult, but we managed. The breakfasts were fantastic - the full English and the Eggs Royale being particular high points. The bar and restaurant staff were all extremely attentive and helpful, too.

Having originally booked one night, we were so smitten that we extended our stay by a night. The Castle Inn is an ideal base from which to explore Bath, Somerset and Wiltshire, and we were welcomed back at the end of the day like old friends. We will certainly return as soon as possible; my only reservation in recommending this hotel is that it will become too popular and won't be available for us next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed here with my niece for one night as it is so close to Bath. What a great find. The room was really comfortable and spotlessly clean. And with loose leaf tea and a cafetiere in the room! The pub itself is really relaxed. The weather was nice so we sat outside in the garden at lunchtime but chose to eat inside in the evening. The food was delicious (especially the breakfast!) and the staff were friendly and attentive. Parking is limited on-site but there is plenty of parking just round the corner. Bradford on Avon is well worth a visit if you are in the area or visiting Bath which is only 10 minutes or so drive. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms - we had room Number 3 which has 2 large windows - one looking out over the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed in room 3 for 2 nights. The room was very nicely decorated and the view was pretty. Very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was amazing, I couldn't resist the Eggs Royale both mornings. My wife liked her pancakes. Not somewhere to stay if you want an early night. Its above a pub, so obviously there will be some noise. Overall very good place and worth the money.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheHungryLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

when we arrived the small car park was full, but they moved a staff car immediately for us, so we could park. We received a very warm welcome. We stayed in room 4, which was lovely, full of character, with lovely thick pile carpet. the bathroom is amazing, absolutely huge! massive roll top bath in the middle of it, and a huge walk in, walk out shower, his and hers sinks, even a leather armchair and books on a shelf, all this with a very impressive view over Bradford on Avon, We could have just spent all weekend in the bathroom!!! Tea, coffee and biscuits made a change from the type you normally get in a hotel room: Loose tea, with pot, filter coffee with caffetiere, and individually wrapped choc shortbread, tiffin and asst. flapjacks - delicious! Bed was very large and very comfortable. we ate in the hotel one evening, book a table as it gets really really busy. Great food, and breakfast also great, the full English was delicious. Lovely pub garden with views. short walk down hill into Bradford Centre, only took about 5 mins, but longer coming back up the steep hill!!! All in all, great hotel. This is the 3rd time we've stayed in Bradford on Avon, and this has been our best stay, would definitely love to stay here again. Only slight negative was that our room was very hot, even with both bedroom and bathroom windows open all night, still hot, so didn't sleep as well as we would have otherwise. (may also be due to fact kitchen below our room??) Fan in the room would be a good touch. However, this didn't distract from the fact we had a brilliant weekend. Thank you Castle Inn.

Room Tip: Room 4 is excellent, the bathroom has to be seen to be believed!!! Brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillyBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Fantastic pub and B&B, breakfast was immense, room was beautiful.

First place I have ever stayed where you get loose leaf tea and freshly ground coffee with a cafetiere in the room.

Location was fab, just a 15 minute train ride away from Bath and Bradford on Avon is a beautiful little town.

Will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mia2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Room 4 was groovy: big bath, big shower, big bed, big space, his & hers washbasins, spotlessly clean and quality tea & coffee. Breakfast until noon makes for a very relaxed atmosphere in the mornings. The decor has a slightly Bohemian air but don't let this fool you. The staff are quietly efficient and polite and the food is imaginative and well prepared. Only one drawback from a personal angle was the preponderance of children at the weekend and evenings. We stayed for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.3 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: 10 Mount Pleasant, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful freehouse pub with 4 generously proportioned luxury boutique bedrooms with stunning views over the Georgian rooftops of the pretty town of Bradford on Avon & beyond. Just 7 miles from the historic city of Bath, The Castle is set in a characterful Georgian building & has traded as an Inn for 160 years. Lovingly, sympathetically & imaginatively restored The Castle has a playful eccentricity that is Cluedo country house meets traditional country pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing