We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

WE HAVE JUST RETURNED FROM A ONE NIGHT STAY AT THE CASTLE INN, AND HAVE TO SAY THAT IT WAS PERFECT.
The staff were so friendly and helpful.The food was excellent, and the room was lovely.......very good value.
We shall definitely be returning..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    101
    11
    11
    0
See reviews for
55
333
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Wow! Warm, friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Quirky,interesting surroundings, spotlessly clean and tidy everywhere. Extremely comfortable accommodation with amazing bathrooms and hot water!!! Tori the manager is just a delight and the rest of the staff have obviously been dusted with her magic too....and it was so genuine! An amazingly patient chef who moved his car on more than occasion to allow us to park. Loved having breakfast in this environment, so much nicer than a hotel dining room, with big chunky candles on the tables, several newspapers on offer , an eclectic mix of diners and a great breakfast menu.Loved it.

Room Tip: Room 3 had the view but the others I think are bigger, all have fabulous bathrooms and excellent hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I really would struggle to find fault with our stay at this fabulous Inn. The staff we fantastic, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 4 which was a pleasure in itself. The en-suite was almost as big as the main room, and with it's lovely shower and 6.2" bath, this is better than most 5 star hotels I've had the pleasure of staying in over the years. The only thing that needs upgrading was the TV, it's too small for the room, but I was assured that these were being upgraded, but with that fantastic bar downstairs, what am I doing watching the TV anyway, I MUST BE MAD. We travel quite frequently and this is certainly one of the best Full English breakfasts we have tried yet, apart from my old mum's that is! The clientele and locals were also very friendly, and the bar was well stocked. We look forward to our next stay! THANK YOU!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was excellent, but I am told that all rooms were of the same standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

On arrival I was greeted by Tori the manager - whoever trained you did a fabulous job and you have passed your learning to your staff, well done - I felt cared for and valued as a new customer.

The room was big enough to play five-a-side in with a king size bed and walk in shower. The attention to detail was first class.

A range of cask ales in excellent condition, delicious food cooked to order and delivered by attentive, smiley staff - what's not to like?

In the morning I breafasted like a king, surrounded by ladies taking early morning coffee. This is a very good pub with rooms, managed by very skilled and attentive staff, well done, good job!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from a long weekend at The Castle. It was fabulous from the word go. The pub is lovely, our room (room 3) was stunning, the staff are attentive and seem to genuinely care and nothing is too much trouble, they even reserved us a table on Saturday evening 'just in case' and although we ate in Bath that evening we used the table purely for drinks. The food is excellent and the breakfasts set you up for a day out. Hopefully we'll be back again but thanks for a fabulous stay. Lorraine and Martin

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed two nights in this lovely friendly pub. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the accommodation excellent. We ate evening meals both nights and full cooked breakfasts both mornings which were all wonderful. The room was huge and the bathroom very smart. Much better than staying in Bath, the train from Bradford-on-Avon is every ten minutes and takes about the same. Bradford itself is well worth visiting even if not going to Bath and there are some great walks along the river.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westlake_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This review only covers the bar and food as I have never stayed overnight.
The building is at the top of the hill with some sweeping views over Bradford and beyond.There are lots of good pubs in and around Bradford on Avon and this is my favourite.The bars are spacious and comfy just like an old inn should be. The menu is not extensive, this is a GOOD thing, because on the basis of three visits in the last 12 months the food they serve is well cooked and tasty. The Castle Inn is not a restaurant pretending to be a pub it is simply a lovingly restored old inn which serves good wine and beer and food. The only negatives and these are not really negative are the restricted parking and it does get very busy particularly on a sunny Sunday. My suggestion providing you are fit enough would be either to go during the week or park at the railway station ( or catch the train ) and take a stroll through Bradford and up the hill. The train option sounds so good I may take my own advice soon!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
431 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: 10 Mount Pleasant, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful freehouse pub with 4 generously proportioned luxury boutique bedrooms with stunning views over the Georgian rooftops of the pretty town of Bradford on Avon & beyond. Just 7 miles from the historic city of Bath, The Castle is set in a characterful Georgian building & has traded as an Inn for 160 years. Lovingly, sympathetically & imaginatively restored The Castle has a playful eccentricity that is Cluedo country house meets traditional country pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing