We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night on way home. Bit of an odd spot and parking limited. Room was spacious and bathroom lovely with nice complimentary toiletries. Quite a walk to town down steep hill and back.
We ate in the restaurant which was busy for a Monday. The food was amazing with an extensive menu and the service was friendly and quick. Breakfast was good although we clashed with the school mums which made the service a little slow.

Room Tip: There's only 4 rooms might be worthwhile asking for a room not overlooking road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeJay852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Four of us stayed three nights in this super pub with rooms. The rooms are spacious and ours had stunning views across to the White Horse which must be 10 miles away. The food is true "gastro pub grub" high quality ingredients and very well prepared and served. The staff are young, friendly and efficient. The pub seems to operate as a round the clock destination for many businesses people, travellers and a clutch of Mums who bring toddlers into for hot chocolate etc after their older children are dropped of at a nearby school. The resulting noise levels could be a problem for some guests who might want to enjoy a quiet breakfast!

The star of the show was Casey who was on duty alone on last Friday morning, she was greeted by eight of us wanting breakfast a clutch of Mums/toddlers and four walk is looking for coffee and cake! Casey took all this in her stride and she truly earned the name Girl Friday!

A great pub, rooms and we were sorry to leave. We shall return .

Room Tip: Try room 1 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

WE HAVE JUST RETURNED FROM A ONE NIGHT STAY AT THE CASTLE INN, AND HAVE TO SAY THAT IT WAS PERFECT.
The staff were so friendly and helpful.The food was excellent, and the room was lovely.......very good value.
We shall definitely be returning..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Wow! Warm, friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Quirky,interesting surroundings, spotlessly clean and tidy everywhere. Extremely comfortable accommodation with amazing bathrooms and hot water!!! Tori the manager is just a delight and the rest of the staff have obviously been dusted with her magic too....and it was so genuine! An amazingly patient chef who moved his car on more than occasion to allow us to park. Loved having breakfast in this environment, so much nicer than a hotel dining room, with big chunky candles on the tables, several newspapers on offer , an eclectic mix of diners and a great breakfast menu.Loved it.

Room Tip: Room 3 had the view but the others I think are bigger, all have fabulous bathrooms and excellent hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I really would struggle to find fault with our stay at this fabulous Inn. The staff we fantastic, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 4 which was a pleasure in itself. The en-suite was almost as big as the main room, and with it's lovely shower and 6.2" bath, this is better than most 5 star hotels I've had the pleasure of staying in over the years. The only thing that needs upgrading was the TV, it's too small for the room, but I was assured that these were being upgraded, but with that fantastic bar downstairs, what am I doing watching the TV anyway, I MUST BE MAD. We travel quite frequently and this is certainly one of the best Full English breakfasts we have tried yet, apart from my old mum's that is! The clientele and locals were also very friendly, and the bar was well stocked. We look forward to our next stay! THANK YOU!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was excellent, but I am told that all rooms were of the same standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

On arrival I was greeted by Tori the manager - whoever trained you did a fabulous job and you have passed your learning to your staff, well done - I felt cared for and valued as a new customer.

The room was big enough to play five-a-side in with a king size bed and walk in shower. The attention to detail was first class.

A range of cask ales in excellent condition, delicious food cooked to order and delivered by attentive, smiley staff - what's not to like?

In the morning I breafasted like a king, surrounded by ladies taking early morning coffee. This is a very good pub with rooms, managed by very skilled and attentive staff, well done, good job!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just back from a long weekend at The Castle. It was fabulous from the word go. The pub is lovely, our room (room 3) was stunning, the staff are attentive and seem to genuinely care and nothing is too much trouble, they even reserved us a table on Saturday evening 'just in case' and although we ate in Bath that evening we used the table purely for drinks. The food is excellent and the breakfasts set you up for a day out. Hopefully we'll be back again but thanks for a fabulous stay. Lorraine and Martin

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
455 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
5.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Address: 10 Mount Pleasant, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £89 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful freehouse pub with 4 generously proportioned luxury boutique bedrooms with stunning views over the Georgian rooftops of the pretty town of Bradford on Avon & beyond. Just 7 miles from the historic city of Bath, The Castle is set in a characterful Georgian building & has traded as an Inn for 160 years. Lovingly, sympathetically & imaginatively restored The Castle has a playful eccentricity that is Cluedo country house meets traditional country pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing