We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and very good accomodation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent service and very good accomodation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our wedding night and enjoyed the excellent service and very good accomodation. The en suite bathroom of our bedroom was particularly good. The breakfast included as part of the room rate was also delicious.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    96
    11
    11
    0
See reviews for
49
325
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is an increasingly frequent case of a very good and appealing website resulting in high expectations but disappointment in the delivery. On the plus side, the Castle Inn is a really good pub with a good pub atmosphere but staying there is another matter. Our room (room one) was directly over the bar and very noisy until all the drinkers had left. I had to ask for the kitchen extractor fans to be turned off to get some peace and even then there was the "chinese water torture" of the beer refrigeration motors outside going on and going off throughout the night. For a light sleeper like me - not good! However, the room was large and the bed comfortable. The coffee, tea and nibbles in the room were good.The bathroom was nicely designed and a good size although the loo seat was very loose and the shower temperature could not be turned down enough to be anything other than very hot - maintenance needed! Breakfasts were lovely but our one dinner there was not up to those website expectations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_S1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newforest
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

2 couples spent one night here, very attentive service and great food both for the evening meal and the wonderful breakfast. The hotel is up a steep hill out of the town of Bradford U A, no worries if you're fit but you might need to park down in the town to look around there. The hotel/pub IS on a roundabout/road intersection - however once inside the noise had no impact at all. There are lovely views from some rooms only. Sadly the noise from the air-con spoilt the night's sleep for our friends as it was quite disruptive. We both agreed the beds were lovely and comfortable and the bathrooms and the toiletries were very good indeed (soap wonderful!!). I would recommend this Inn to stay in, if you are seeking some luxury whilst in Bradford. Car parking space was kept for us which was good.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the Bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsRVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were late arriving at the Castle it was after 11.00 on a Sunday, but a friendly welcome came from an uncomplaining member of staff had waited for us and was happy to get us any thing we needed (a large bottle of red in this case) before leaving us to enjoy or room. Very nice biscuits provided a late night snack and after a glass or two we slept well. Breakfast was good with a varied menu, the only improvement I could ask is that It would have been nice to be offered another cup of coffee, but overall a relaxed, unstuffy lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely friendly pub. Very professional with great service. Stylish room with nice bathroom. Lovely bathroom gels and shampoos and good biscuits in room. Food is not fine dining or gourmet, but really good and ver reasonably priced. Would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_and_Jane_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night on way home. Bit of an odd spot and parking limited. Room was spacious and bathroom lovely with nice complimentary toiletries. Quite a walk to town down steep hill and back.
We ate in the restaurant which was busy for a Monday. The food was amazing with an extensive menu and the service was friendly and quick. Breakfast was good although we clashed with the school mums which made the service a little slow.

Room Tip: There's only 4 rooms might be worthwhile asking for a room not overlooking road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeJay852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Four of us stayed three nights in this super pub with rooms. The rooms are spacious and ours had stunning views across to the White Horse which must be 10 miles away. The food is true "gastro pub grub" high quality ingredients and very well prepared and served. The staff are young, friendly and efficient. The pub seems to operate as a round the clock destination for many businesses people, travellers and a clutch of Mums who bring toddlers into for hot chocolate etc after their older children are dropped of at a nearby school. The resulting noise levels could be a problem for some guests who might want to enjoy a quiet breakfast!

The star of the show was Casey who was on duty alone on last Friday morning, she was greeted by eight of us wanting breakfast a clutch of Mums/toddlers and four walk is looking for coffee and cake! Casey took all this in her stride and she truly earned the name Girl Friday!

A great pub, rooms and we were sorry to leave. We shall return .

Room Tip: Try room 1 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.3 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: 10 Mount Pleasant, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful freehouse pub with 4 generously proportioned luxury boutique bedrooms with stunning views over the Georgian rooftops of the pretty town of Bradford on Avon & beyond. Just 7 miles from the historic city of Bath, The Castle is set in a characterful Georgian building & has traded as an Inn for 160 years. Lovingly, sympathetically & imaginatively restored The Castle has a playful eccentricity that is Cluedo country house meets traditional country pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing