We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the Sunday lie in”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2010

My partner and I have just returned from an overnight stay here, and it certainly didn't dissappoint. After a long drive we were greeted by very friendly welcoming staff. The room (number 2) was large, clean and well equiped.
We ate there early in the evening before is started to get busy. Service was quick, and the food was excellent (fish & chips and chicken & ham pie), the pub offers a very good menu with a good mix of pub classics. There are also lots of very good local ales on offer, as well as an extensive wine list. After dinner we noticed that the 2 leather armchairs in front of the fire had become available, and before we could move a member of staff, seeing what we were about to do, quickly picked up our drinks and took them over to the fireside table for us. Its not often you get service that good!
One of the major selling points for the pub is its breakfast policy - they serve breakfast until noon! That allowed us and the other guests the luxury of a late lie in. Breakfast itself was, much like the previous evenings food, of a very high standard. Since the bar was empty at that time of day we were able to occupy the fireside armchairs again!
We were both really very happy with The Castle Inn, and hope to return. The one slight bit of criticism I have, we would have appreciated slightly larger towels in the room, but that is such a small gripe when considering the overall weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bendavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

I think a true measure of a place is how they cope with and communicate problems to the customer. We had had a very minor snag and the way it was dealt with left me in no doubt that this was a truly brilliant place with absolutely dedicated staff. Great food, ales and wonderful rooms that feel like they have been done with thought and sympathy to the building and not just given the generic boutique look. I have friends near by willing to put me up but would rather treat myself to a stay at the Castle and that's no reflection on my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alesabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed for one night anniversary break and the bedroom and bathroom excellent. The food was very good and staff very friendly

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My wife and I really enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel, everything was A1 the young staff were excellent, smiling all the time, the bistro food just the job and moderatly priced and the accomodation well clearly 'interior designed' boutique and earthy colours, which are restful, We especially enjoyed the super sized king bed, just like sleeping on a 'marshmellow' amazing! but my wife wanted a bedside table,for book and water! Look for this next time we visit!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choice31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Friends and I have eaten on several occasions at The Castle. However, we were disappointed by the service we received from one member of staff during a recent lunchtime visit.

The male staff member was pleasant and helpful However, our food was delivered by a female staff member without a smile and who frankly gave the impression it was all a bit too much for her!

We ordered coffee after we'd eaten and were told, more or less, that she'd get to our coffees when she could. There were other people in the pub - but it wasn't heaving and maybe there might have been a better way to explain we might have to wait.

. . . .And wait we did. In fact, one of our party eventually went to find out if there was a problem. To be fair, profuse apologies followed as the staff member admitted our coffees had slipped her mind.

This is a great pub and I really do hope that customer service i snot beginning to slip because I want to go back and enjoy all of the experience!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
Thank StomWiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Stayed one night (wish we could have extended the stay) in early July. We had attended a friend's funeral in Trowbridge and wanted to visit Bath the next day so Bradford on Avon the perfect mid point. Arrived hot and tired after a sad day and were instantly welcomed by all staff. We were shown to our room (4) promptly and encouraged to enjoy the bathroom (which we did ....what luxury! brilliant shower and ENORMOUS bathtub overlooking great views) before toddling down the stairs, refreshed and sitting out in the garden enjoying cold white wine and a real ale respectively - huge selection of wines and real ale with useful descriptions on the board. Later as the evening cooled we retired to the bar and enjoyed a wonderful meal - steak for him and prawn and chicken skewers for me ..... YUM .... there was plenty on the plate but we still managed to squeeze in a pud! The stairs seemed MUCH STEEPER as we climbed up replete to enjoy the huge superking bed. There was no rush to get up the next day as we were assured that breakfast was served until 12 noon! so we luxuriated again in the bathroom with a pot of fresh coffee before going down for a feast of a breakfast. I opted for an eggy bread stack with bacon and syrup ... Can totally reccommend that! and my better half had he full english ...a pot of tea for one and fresh coffee for the other all with wonderful service - all of the staff seem so happy and go out of their way to make sure you have everythng you could wish for, let alone need! We finally settled up our very reasonable bill and waddled off into Bath full as little ticks and happy that we'd found such a treasure of a place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Taken on its own terms The Castle Inn is very good. However you must take it on its own terms because it does not compromise. It is first and foremost a pub with some cafe touches. It is a very good pub with excellent ales and wines and very good food of the "pub grub" type. It is, as others have noted, run on the "grab a table and order at the bar" principle. Having said that once you have got your table the service is good and the food quality excellent. Breakfast is leisurely and this is not the place for a quick early getaway. Overall the staff are friendly and relaxed which fits the atmosphere of the place admirably.
The room we had was very comfortable, it was the one in the photos with the huge bathroom. You won't get to sleep before 11:30 but once the pub closes its very quiet. Of course you don't get room service and the like, but the housekeeping standards are good.
Location is excellent, when you are there, with views across the surrounding countryside. However it is on the top of a good hill - its a ten minute walk TO the station but more like twenty coming back after a day walking round Bath!!
We liked it a lot and would definitely return if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adexxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Barns B&B
Widbrook Barns B&B
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Address: 10 Mount Pleasant, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £89 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful freehouse pub with 4 generously proportioned luxury boutique bedrooms with stunning views over the Georgian rooftops of the pretty town of Bradford on Avon & beyond. Just 7 miles from the historic city of Bath, The Castle is set in a characterful Georgian building & has traded as an Inn for 160 years. Lovingly, sympathetically & imaginatively restored The Castle has a playful eccentricity that is Cluedo country house meets traditional country pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing