We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Joy to have stayed at Elbury House”
Review of Foxfield Glamping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foxfield Glamping
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Joy to have stayed at Elbury House”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I have just spent 5 nights at Elbury House. It is located ten minutes walk from the historic village of Bradford-on-Avon, on five acres of land. Our hostess Joy is just one of the loveliest, welcoming and genuine people you would want to meet. The ensuite room we had was so spacious and delightfully furnished. Having breakfast in her large country kitchen was a real treat. The house sits atop a gentle sloping hill that commands views for 20 miles to the south and east. That view is wonderful at night when the lights of the towns nearby come on.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worksop
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at Elbury House for four nights. Our room was fantastic, spotlessly clean, spacious with lovely views. Joy, the owner could not have been more welcoming, professional or helpful. She suggested The Plough Inn for an evening meal, outstanding choice! The breakfasts were superb. We have no hesitation in recommending Elbury House.

Room Tip: The room we had was the double en-suite, brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

You're sure to get a great welcome at Elbury House, as well as lots of good advice about where to eat (the Dandy Lion was a great choice). The room was also very nicely finished with a comfy bed and a large en-suite bathroom.

The only negative thing I should mention about Elbury House is that it sits on the crossroads of two quite busy roads. The photos didn't show this and at first we were a little put off, but it's only fair to say we weren't kept up by the road noise at all.

Elbury House is well situated for Bradford-on-Avon as it's about 5 minutes drive into the centre.

The breakfast was really excellent. All local produce, cooked to order by Joy. Breakfast is taken around a large family dining room with the other guests which made a really nice change.

All in all a top quality B&B and if we're in the area again we'll definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelswithbitecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is an excellent, friendly b and b, Joy could not do enough for us, and made our short stay very enjoyable. Room was spacious, clean and tidy, with a fantastic view for miles of the surrounding countryside. The breakfast was superb. We have no hesitation in giving our recommendation. Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usatraveller790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed for 2 nights on the 25th & 26th March and noted the sign outside the front door, which says that you visit as strangers and leave as friends, summing up our experience very well. The house is in a beautiful location, rural but accessible, quiet but not unnervingly so, luxurious but not intimidatating ... really homely and welcoming but with decor from Home & Gardens. The fabulous Aga cooked breakfasts, plus a healthy mix of fresh fruits, yoghurt, friut juices and bagels to round it off, saw us through lunch and into the afternoon! The rooms are large, light and airy; filled with personal touches and comforts and to top it all is the lady who makes it all happen and welcomes you with open arms and that is Joy, who is just that, a joy!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tavhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We were warmly welcomed by the owner, Joy, with a lovely pot of hot tea, after arriving from the bitter cold. Plenty of parking space. Our room and the whole house had a lovely home from home feel and our every comfort was catered for - even our request for a very early breakfast which preceded the advertised times by over an hour! The rooms were spotless and the bathroom catered for all our needs - bath sheets as well! The guest house location was rural, but good for all areas, even when the weather was bad. Views from the house were extremely nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJanicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We had a lovely evening out in Bradford (I recommend the Fat Fowl for a blow out!) after touring Bath during the day. We will return to the area soon to explore more and this B&B was perfect for a quiet night away from our noisy brood. Clean, airy, wonderful early morning views across the fields and a simply delicious breakfast helped make a weekend to remember. Many thanks...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepperalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
431 reviews
1.9 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#4 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxfield Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxfield Glamping

Property: Foxfield Glamping
Address: Leigh Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RD, England (Formerly Elbury House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Foxfield Glamping 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Foxfield Glamping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing