We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up market but friendly staff”

Guyers House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Guyers House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We hope that you will enjoy the blend of modern British cooking on the Menu created by Head Chef Matt Gillard and his team. Great care is taken to gather the best fresh ingredients from local suppliers including, in season fruit and vegetables from our own kitchen, garden, and orchard. The seafood comes straight from Cornwall. Please let us know if there is anything special you require. Bon appétit.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Up market but friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a really nice quality place where you can relax. If you have booked a table, go early, have a drink first and soak up the atmosphere. We have been a few time now and it never disappoints. It made me smile when we took some friends from London who are real foodies to see their surprise on just how good the food was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    44
    13
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good all round experience”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Lovely place with good service; the menu's a little 'Masterchef' in tone but what arrives on the plate is delicious. I had the mushroom consomme, gnocchi with vegetables and a really toothsome ginger pudding. I'm not sure I'd eat here again but as a one-off it was rather good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful 80th birthday meal”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Our family party of 20 spent a lovely Sunday afternoon at Guyers House for my parents 80th birthday lunch one hot and sunny day in July 2013. The staff delivered everything we asked and the food was very good. An added bonus was the wonderful weather that enabled us to enjoy an afternoon of croquet in the lovely grounds of the hotel. We would without doubt recommend this hidden gem to anybody looking for a classy venue for an intimate family event in Wiltshire.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

As a surprise for my husband’s birthday, I was looking for a fine dining restaurant to stop for lunch on our way over to Bristol, so I booked this on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed.

Everything about our experience was great, from booking via email to the warm welcome we received when we arrived, to the meal itself and the service. All excellent.

The fine dining menu changes daily so we did not know what would be on offer but the choices were perfect for us and we had all 3 courses. We were also pleased to be able to order a half bottle of champagne, as it is not an option on many wine lists. The food was very tasty, beautifully-presented and served by friendly staff. My husband said that the crème caramel, which was served with lavender shortbread, was the best he’d ever tasted.

The setting is lovely too, we ate overlooking the gardens and the hotel building itself is very interesting, a cosy retreat.

We would definitely recommend Guyers House – if you’re in the area treat yourself, and even if you are not, it’s well worth a detour.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food in impeccable surroundings”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great service and a locally sourced varied menu. The food was very tasty. The restaurant is very romantic and nothing is too much bother for the staff.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mermaid_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guyers House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guyers House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing