We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break”
Review of Guyers House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guyers House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
enfield north london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice break”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We made our booking through S Escapes. Warm welcome, thank you! Checked into our room (32) all seemed ok until about half hour later someone checked into a room next door. We had the
TV on but could hear everything, voices, water running, hangers being moved doors being closed. I think you get the picture. We went to reception and informed the 2 ladies on duty our disappointment, one of the ladies was very apologetic but the other stated that she was completely unaware of any previous similar complaints. I then informed her that the room in our opinion did not appear to be adequately sound proofed. The lady then said she would inform the manager of our complaint. We were then offered a room change by the manager which was greatly appreciated and had no issues with noises from guests from other rooms. The food in the restaurant was delicious and served beautifully but I have to say it lacked atmosphere ! You could hear a pin drop and it appeared to be full. Apart from this our stay there was enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreenorthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    188
    63
    14
    3
See reviews for
58
380
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A nice hotel although I felt that it was a little pretentious. The service was excellent but the room we were in was a little "tired", especially the en-suite. I was also a little disappointed in the range on the menu in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our night away was a Christmas gift and we had a vey pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable. Food was excellent but it was a shame that vegetables were extra, always cheapens a restaurant in my opinion. Comfortable lounge to sit and enjoy coffee in. Imagine the grounds would be lovely - we did not have the weather to appreciate them!

On the downside; the hotel sets itself up as a fine hotel but our room was in an annexe, not great when you dress up for dinner only to arrive looking as if you have been dragged through a hedge backwards! The room was quite small with a small bed and the worst shower I have ever experienced. It was also rather dated. I was also quite shocked that the breakfast waitress was wearing really dirty trousers and filthy shoes not the best impression when you want to enjoy a nice meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We recieved a very warm welcome with chocolate covered strawberries and a glass of fizz on arrival. Our room was bright and clean with lovely views. We had a valentines meal in the restaurant which was superb, staff very attentive. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and would love to stay again.
Mark and Zoe Smith

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlet1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Held a Management Team meeting (8 of us) at Guyers House and they looked after us very well. Staff were polite, efficient and pleasant. food was very good and the grounds are lovely.
A nice quiet location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

On arrival we were pleasantly surprized of the outstanding view of the hotel. We found the staff to be very friendly and very professional. Our stay was at the highest quality and standard-this rated very highly. We cannot wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A very romantic break for Valentine's day. They even gave us the bridal suite!

Perfect service - the staff couldn't do enough for us. Lovely addition of fizz and chocolate strawberries on arrival.

We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
3.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guyers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guyers House Hotel

Property: Guyers House Hotel
Address: Guyers House Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guyers House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guyers House Hotel & Restaurant is a charming, privately owned Four Star country house hotel surrounded by its own outstanding gardens. It is located a mile from the pretty town of Corsham and 8 miles from Bath. The aim of the hotel is to provide friendly service, comfort and wonderful cooking. We are proud that the restaurant has been awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA and a special Breakfast Award by Visit England. The hotel has 37 en suite bedrooms, elegant dining and sitting rooms, a panelled Bar and all that you would expect of an English country house The gardens extend to over 6 acres and include a croquet lawn a hard tennis court and a small fitness pavilion. There is ample free parking. The hotel has its own dedicated conference and seminar building and its memorable architecture and lovely garden has made it a famous wedding venue. We do our very best to make your stay a happy one. Via enews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Guyers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guyers House Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing