We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with superb food and first class service”
Review of Guyers House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guyers House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent a weekend at this hotel. All the staff are friendly and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was of high quality. Beautiful, cosy lounge and the bedrooms were spacious and comfortable with lovely views out on to the gardens.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you are seeking a quiet weekend retreat.

Room Tip: We had a garden room on the ground floor. Ensure you request a double room to avoid being given a tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preciouslovelygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

I ate in the restaurant as part of a large party. The food was of very good, country house restaurant quality, with some interesting ideas and twists. Despite the large number (about 40) in our party and the variety of choices available, each course was served promptly. The service was excellent. The remainder of the restaurant was full, mainly with couples and the atmosphere was very relaxed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Arrived, just before 3pm, greeted by very pleasant lady, we then checked in and was given the key to our room 37. On arrival in the room which was ok, we then went to put our clothes away, on opening the wardrobe the handler come off in my hand. Then sat on the bed which was very nice but squeaked every time you moved so in the night it would be very noisy and annoying. So off to reception we went to ask if they could sort the handle and we could change rooms to a non squeaky bed. They didn't have a room available but we persisted and then they found a room in the main house which was very nice.
The evening meal was very good, the portions were of a good size and in very pleasant surroundings, but needed some background music. The night sleep was very good in the comfy bed with no noise at all.
Breakfast was also nice with good portions, but needed background music.
Overall very nice well worth a stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here mid week on a DBB package through living social escapes for my husbands birthday. Hotel and staff lovely as was the food. Stayed in room 7 in the main house, second floor with a lovely bay window over looking the front of the hotel with a large sleigh bed. Had a lovely nights stay and would definitely recommend it. The dinner and breakfast was faultless, we enjoyed the open fire in the lounge after dinner, albeit by ourselves. The only very slight negative would be that it could perhaps do with some piped music in the restaurant as was quite quiet at times. Would love to go back when not raining so that we could enjoy the country walks we had planned.

Room Tip: Loved room 7 in the main house, not huge and the ensuite door wouldn't shut properly but nice bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Not the best of rooms but maybe because we were guests taking advantage of a deal? The bed was a little lumpy and the pillows were awful but that said, the bedding was spotlessly clean, crisp and white as were the towels. The spacious room (39) had tea making facilities and a decent TV and the bathroom was fine with plenty of hot water so generally adequate considering what we had paid.

Where this hotel really wowed us was the restaurant.

As part of the deal we were given the option of two courses from the Fine Dining Menu from which there was plenty to choose from. There was option to pay for a third course and we were advised we could also upgrade to the A La Carte Menu paying for any extras chosen. As a result, we mixed and matched.

My husband had a Sea bass Starter chosen from the Fine Dining menu which he described a wonderful.

We both opted for the Roast Fillet of Cherry Farm Beef, Pomm Dauphine, Creamed Spinach with Buttered Baby Vegetables and a Morel Jus

The generous cut of succulent beef was cooked to absolute perfection and the accompanying vegetables along with the beautiful presentation totally blew us away. Fabulous!
I had a ‘popcorn’ themed sweet that totally inadequately explains the lovely mixture of delightful tastes - it was absolutely divine. My husband equally enjoyed his Panna cotta and poached rhubarb which looked very special too.
I cannot over state how wonderful this dining experience.
Breakfast too, an absolute delight. I had a very colourful selection of fresh fruits as well as the Full English that was ‘breakfast perfection’.

Can’t wait to return to Guyer House. I will just take my own pillow next time!
Book a reservation in the restaurant with confidence.

Professional and friendly staff just completed a wonderful stay.
Thank you Guyers House

R & A

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gladyspipkin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We made our booking through S Escapes. Warm welcome, thank you! Checked into our room (32) all seemed ok until about half hour later someone checked into a room next door. We had the
TV on but could hear everything, voices, water running, hangers being moved doors being closed. I think you get the picture. We went to reception and informed the 2 ladies on duty our disappointment, one of the ladies was very apologetic but the other stated that she was completely unaware of any previous similar complaints. I then informed her that the room in our opinion did not appear to be adequately sound proofed. The lady then said she would inform the manager of our complaint. We were then offered a room change by the manager which was greatly appreciated and had no issues with noises from guests from other rooms. The food in the restaurant was delicious and served beautifully but I have to say it lacked atmosphere ! You could hear a pin drop and it appeared to be full. Apart from this our stay there was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreenorthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A nice hotel although I felt that it was a little pretentious. The service was excellent but the room we were in was a little "tired", especially the en-suite. I was also a little disappointed in the range on the menu in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
3.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
735 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
684 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
7.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guyers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guyers House Hotel

Address: Guyers House Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range: £118 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guyers House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guyers House Hotel & Restaurant is a charming, privately owned Four Star country house hotel surrounded by its own outstanding gardens. It is located a mile from the pretty town of Corsham and 8 miles from Bath. The aim of the hotel is to provide friendly service, comfort and wonderful cooking. We are proud that the restaurant has been awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA and a special Breakfast Award by Visit England. The hotel has 37 en suite bedrooms, elegant dining and sitting rooms, a panelled Bar and all that you would expect of an English country house The gardens extend to over 6 acres and include a croquet lawn a hard tennis court and a small fitness pavilion. There is ample free parking. The hotel has its own dedicated conference and seminar building and its memorable architecture and lovely garden has made it a famous wedding venue. We do our very best to make your stay a happy one. Via enews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guyers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guyers House Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing