We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did what it said on the tin - friendly service, comfort and good cooking”
Review of Guyers House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guyers House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Did what it said on the tin - friendly service, comfort and good cooking”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had to book at short notice for a family funeral. My room (in an annex) was very comfortable with pleasant view over fields. The service was always friendly but also professional. The wine list might benefit from a few half bottles (something of a rarity these days) for single travellers - possibly hoteliers feel that couples might, God forbid, order a half rather than a full bottle. There were however reasonable wines by a variety of glass sizes. I notice a comment about drink prices in an earlier review but my local pizzeria (in the North of England) is more expensive in this respect for similar wines. The gardens were immaculate and interesting, the hedges were stunning. A lot of atmosphere, a proper dining room (actually three connecting rooms with a garden views) with proper linen and good glasses, a good seating area in reception and a very pleasant lounge with plenty of country-house sofas and armchairs made this a very pleasant place to stay. The order for my morning paper miscarried but a replacement was quickly found (just glad that no-one saw me reading the Telegraph rather then The Times). Furnishings in my room were pleasingly non-standardised ie real pieces of furniture rather than fitted junk; there was a good TV and a proper desk lamp and a proper desk. There was plenty of storage space and good bathroom and a comfortable bed. The car park was very large. The marquee erectors were just arriving as I left (a Thursday morning) and I don't have a clue if this was to be a summer-long feature or simply for one event but it might be worth noting that wedding parties do seem to be part of the business model.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    188
    63
    15
    3
See reviews for
58
381
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

returned yesterday from guyers house after a two night break. the hotel was fine and staff were very friendly we had an upgraded room which was comfortable . used their restaurant each night and morning food very good.however the drink prices were very expensive both in the restaurant (minimum £19.50 for wine most more expensive) and the bar. i know you don't have to drink but its part of our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, Devon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My partner decided I needed a break so took me away for three nights to this lovely hotel. Our bedroom was in the garden house, an annexe away from the main house, but this annexe has been tastefully built to be in keeping with the old house as they have used stone from the original quarry which the main house was built in back in 1640. The bed in our room was very large and comfortable with soft bouncy pillows and the bathroom was large. We dined every night in the restaurant and the meals are superbly cooked by the chef and his staff. Also for breakfast there is a great deal of variety, again the cooked breakfast is of excellent quality. There are comfortable lounges to relax in and a bar serving drinks but not cocktails. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful as they are set in lovely gardens and orchards - our room overlooked the meadow and orchard. There is plenty of free parking and all in all I can recommend a wonderful stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I think the rooms in the old house are probably larger as they are an upgrade but our room No.26 in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartonbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Grabbed a bargain price on Wow Go for this great hotel close to Bath - 10 to 15 mins away on the A4.

Trip Advisor came up trumps again - I don't choose anything with less than a 4 rating and the score for Guyers is bang on.

You're 30 seconds off the main road but you wouldn't know it - beautiful approach down a private drive to the hotel - set in it's own very large and well kept grounds - there's loads of parking space.

Our room was in the main house - top floor, it was clean and tidy and everything worked - the large bed was great as was the high pressure supply of hot water to the bath (sorry sad comment but it stood out for me). 3 star is accurate - can't really comment why some other reviewer's expected more.

We were B&B so can only comment on the breakfast - great friendly greeting, lovely dining room, good supply of 'posh' cereals (personally would have liked to see cornflakes and coco pops, but that's me being uncultured) plus fruit juice etc. etc. The cooked items were superb (shame I didn't work out that one of the glass containers on the table was tomato sauce but it was in the same rack as the jam - see uncultured). Tea, coffee and toast all served fresh and hot.

The Guyers website is clear and up to date, worked out that Biddestone would be a good place to eat out (review of Biddestone Arms to follow).

All in all highly recommended and will probably stay again - make sure you get the Wow Go or Secret Escape price though.

Room Tip: For the experience mentioned - we had room 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel a little while ago to celebrate an anniversary. It is a lovely old country house set in an attractive estate and gardens. Ample car parking close to reception. We received a warm welcome from the staff who were all efficient and friendly. Our room was a bit tired but comfortable enough and quiet. We chose the fine dining menu and were not disappointed, the food was delicious and of reasonable proportions - there is also an a la carte menu and bar snack menu available. Breakfasts were fine. The lounge was very comfortable and a pleasant room to meet and converse. The bar room was the only disappointment. The bar itself was well stocked, but the room was cold, lacked atmosphere and appeared to be furnished with odds and ends laid out with little imagination. This room could be a feature where people gather and enjoy the ambiance. It did not do justice to the rest of the old house hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnB187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights on an OPL break. The food was delicious and the room was spotless. The staff were very attentive and helpful. This was a first rate hotel and the only thing that could have improved it ( for us) would have been a little, light background music in the restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank KetteringBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Superb property, high quality hotel. The service both during the conference and in the dining room in was excellent. Guyers House Hotel is an ideal place to stay for a weekend getaway, a base to visit Bath or Bradford upon Avon or a business stay/conference. The hotel has a relatively modern wing with bags of character and the main house is an outstanding example of a beautiful country house hotel. The restaurant is excellent.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kenfarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
3.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guyers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guyers House Hotel

Property: Guyers House Hotel
Address: Guyers House Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guyers House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guyers House Hotel & Restaurant is a charming, privately owned Four Star country house hotel surrounded by its own outstanding gardens. It is located a mile from the pretty town of Corsham and 8 miles from Bath. The aim of the hotel is to provide friendly service, comfort and wonderful cooking. We are proud that the restaurant has been awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA and a special Breakfast Award by Visit England. The hotel has 37 en suite bedrooms, elegant dining and sitting rooms, a panelled Bar and all that you would expect of an English country house The gardens extend to over 6 acres and include a croquet lawn a hard tennis court and a small fitness pavilion. There is ample free parking. The hotel has its own dedicated conference and seminar building and its memorable architecture and lovely garden has made it a famous wedding venue. We do our very best to make your stay a happy one. Via enews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Guyers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guyers House Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing