We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Quiet Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Guyers House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guyers House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Retreat”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I went for a weekend with family. Because of the Cheltenham Festival the availability of Cotswold area hotels was pretty limited. However we found Guyers on a special, discounted deal, very good choice. The hotel had character, lovely grounds. Staff throughout were efficient and courteous. Our room although a little on the small side was very comfortable, quiet and very clean. Our evening meals were of good quality and well prepared with excellent service, although the Pinot Grigio at £25.00 per bottle seemed a little expensive. The breakfast left a little to be desired with respect to the preparation (although a small hour glass was provided to time the tea brewing).. On the whole a very pleasant stay. Whether I would pay the full normal price would need further consideration. When paying the bill I noticed that a 10% discretionary service charge had been included, I am not a great fan of this being done.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    186
    63
    14
    3
See reviews for
58
376
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at Guyers House. We were very lucky to have wonderful weather which enabled us to make the most of the very lovely gardens. Our room in the Garden House was a fair standard; clean and quiet and comfortable. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The food is basically very good [breakfasts all freshly cooked and tasty] but I would have to say the evening set menu is a little restricted unless you are happy to pay various supplements. The bar prices [pot of tea £7] seemed steep and I did not feel the food side was good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipHarbord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband surprised me for an overnight stay at this delightful hotel for my birthday. It's a charming hotel with friendly and helpful staff, set in a lovely rural village, not far from the National Trust village of Lacock. Our room (no 1) was a delight, with a very comfortable 4 poster bed and ensuite bathroom set in the roof eaves. Dinner in the small, charming restaurant was lovely - a very imaginative menu, beautifully presented food and good choice of meat and vegetarian options. Breakfast was superb - a selection of cereals, pastries and juices on the buffet table and large selection of cooked options on the menu. My 'eggs florentne' was one of the best I have tasted. We had a drink in the stables bar on arrival and then relaxed in the lounge. Would definitely recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Room one has a lovely 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on the 9th May as we were attending Badminton Horse Trials the next day. The member staff who checked us in was friendly and welcoming, offering us the Wifi log in details without us having to ask.

Our room (16) in the main house was spacious and clean, however, it looked a little tired around the edges. It could do with a lick of paint to freshen it up. Our bed was huge and comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom had a good powerful shower and was spotlessly clean.

The staff at breakfast were all friendly and did an excellent job during a busy service. Breakfast itself was very nice, with a choice of English breakfast, cereals, pastries, fresh fruit etc.

The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well maintained.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, but it could do with a bit of a spruce up as it's looking a little worn. It's a shame as it is a beautiful building and could be stunning with a bit of redecoration. Otherwise, no complaints at all, we enjoyed our stay and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESG_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Country House hotels should have some character but I'm afraid this one needs some TLC.
The superior room we had was large & comfortable (but tired), the bathroom adequate.
The staff were really very nice but some clearly inexperienced. No offer to carry the luggage to the room.The bar is terrible and is completely out of character with the rest of the hotel. On a positive note the grounds are well kept and we enjoyed walking around them. The food is good (but my wife had to send hers back as it was cold - they soon heated it up), mine was fine. For a 1 night stay it was OK but would not rush back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royst_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed this weekend on Sunday 4th May. Although the hotel from the outside looks beautiful and the gardens were delightful, our room was poor. We were in number 32 in The Garden House. The room was very dated with flounce table cloths over round bedside tables. The main dressing table was missing a draw handle and the leather top very stained. The bathroom was lacking any appeal, no show cap or wrapped soap. The cold water tap on the sink sprayed water every time I used it. As for the bed I found it so hard my whole body ached, I had very little sleep. On the plus side our breakfast was very good. We had our evening meal in a local pub but found it hard to find much open on a Sunday evening. Not good value for the money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel could be stunning. And expensive. It is idyllic in its lovely gardens , but if the interiors were do e by an interior designer, it wasn't one you'd pay . It's spotlessly clean, but the reception desk is in a corner behind the door and the atmosphere is one of slightly faded gentry. Our very comfortable bedroom mixed green furnishings with blue drapes and curtains and the bath was old and narrow in a very quirky arrangement that could easily have been transformed into a luxurious space. The restaurant lacks atmosphere with overly bright lighting and due to the lack of background music, everyone speaks in hushed tones, and the staff although attentive enough seem inexperienced and unpolished .

But that is the downside - the food in the restaurant was fabulous. The steak was melt in the mouth perfect, the peppercorn sauce was tangy and had bite. I had a superb orange panna cotta and the cheese board was perfectly pitched. We had cod 2 different ways, both beautiful.

The 4 poster bed was comfortable and we slept well, awaking to a lovely breakfast, each day cooked to perfection. The bathroom, while dates , was spotless.

So don't go there thinking you will have typical hotel fabrics and faultless soulless design, because you won't. But do go there. It is lovely - and affordable

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank expectsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
4.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
678 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
637 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
331 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
6.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guyers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guyers House Hotel

Property: Guyers House Hotel
Address: Guyers House Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guyers House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guyers House Hotel & Restaurant is a charming, privately owned Four Star country house hotel surrounded by its own outstanding gardens. It is located a mile from the pretty town of Corsham and 8 miles from Bath. The aim of the hotel is to provide friendly service, comfort and wonderful cooking. We are proud that the restaurant has been awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA and a special Breakfast Award by Visit England. The hotel has 37 en suite bedrooms, elegant dining and sitting rooms, a panelled Bar and all that you would expect of an English country house The gardens extend to over 6 acres and include a croquet lawn a hard tennis court and a small fitness pavilion. There is ample free parking. The hotel has its own dedicated conference and seminar building and its memorable architecture and lovely garden has made it a famous wedding venue. We do our very best to make your stay a happy one. Via enews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Guyers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guyers House Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing