We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kat 666”
Review of Guyers House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guyers House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just back today from a really relaxing 2 night break at this Lovely house hotel and a good restaurant ,the staff also made for a very pleasant stay relaxed friendly simile helpful front of house to the gardener... staff make or break your stay they seemed to enjoy there job and what a change that IS .. We stayed in room 32 the room was a very good size very clean nice bathroom plenty or room all mod cons flat screen t.v .tea making facility's hair dryer complementary bath and shower etc . absolutely amazing gardens and grounds great food waiting staff excellent ! .. Would I recommend you stay here... YES.... look no further is very nice !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mother000747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent 2 nights here but did not have dinner in the restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, the premises were well presented, there are beautiful well maintained gardens and the breakfast was of good variety and quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was a wonderful hotel, with beautiful surrounding gardens. Everything was very clean. The buffet breakfast was delicious. The dinner at the hotel was excellent. The hotel also recommended a local pub for the next night's dinner which was fantastic with good atmosphere. The hotel provided excellent service. Our room was cute and comfortable and homey.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JLL962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel and must say that we believe that it should have a 9+ rating by TRIP ADVISER. From the time you arrive to the time you leave you are looked after by very friendly Top of that list is Naomi on reception and Katie in the dining room who were superb
As it was hot in our room on arrival we asked if a fan was available and one was produced immediately ,great service
The beds and pillows were exceptionally good allowing a perfect nights sleep
The dining room is large and tables are well spaced. The breakfast choice is good and hot food is cooked to order
Dinner menu is excellent and the food is worthy of the prices charged
There is an unusually large car park
One cannot stay at this hotel without walking around the superb gardens which surround the house The front garden has a lawn and fishpond
At the back there are hedged walks with hidden secrets and surprises All this we were told is managed by one gardener which is amazing
The hotel is set well back down a drive from the main road so noise is no problem
Beware that sat navs take you to the centre of CORSHAM when the hotel is situated just outside of the centre on the road to BOX

Room Tip: We had Room 14 on the second floor which was very quiet as only 2 other rooms on that level and none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddie4085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Guyers for two nights from 15th June 2014 , with a group of friends, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very comfortable with ample room for enjoying dinner and sitting room seating for all in the lounge afterwards.The food was truly excellent . Small but adequate portions cooked to perfection and beautifully arranged.
The room we had was very comfortable if a little warm, but we were provided with a fan on request. To be fair, the weather was quite warm. Bath , shower, big bed and lovely soft pillows ensured a good night`s sleep. We would have liked some drawers/ shelves for clothing, as there was really only wardrobe hanging space and some very small desktop drawers.
The staff were polite and friendly although there was an incident of a dropped knife into my lap, which fortunately stained the napkin rather than my trousers.
Tea and coffee were extras at dinner and in my opinion a bit overpriced. On our first night, Coffee and tea arrived with no milk, this arriving about twenty minutes later when the coffee/tea was cold. A complaint resulted in the charge for the beverages being cancelled with apologies.
The grounds are truly beautiful, and all well manicured. A car is pretty essential, as its a fair walk to Corsham town.
I would have given the Guyers House Hotel five stars had it not been for the minor incidents described already and for the strange way in which the bill is calculated upon departure. There was a 10% discretion charge added to the bill for all services daily, which we were not aware of earlier and rankled somewhat as we had already whipped round for generous tips following our final dinner. Bar beverages appear under the title " 1x large Sauvignon" , irrespective of drinks actually purchased. All a bit confusing and leaving one with a a sense of things not being quite as they should be. No doubt these minor complaints will be addressed and make the Guyers worthy of the five star appraisal they would otherwise have had.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowman639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We enjoyed a two day break at Guyers House during a reunion. Our bedroom and bed was very comfortable and the food presented was to a very high standard and very much enjoyed. The breakfast was of particular note, the porridge was delicious, not even the Scots could achieve better. The gardens were very well attended and a lovely place to enjoy a walk in the evening. We had room nine, which was fine, but be aware the shower it is difficult to use at the same time avoiding hitting your head on the beam! A friend also staying had room 6, which had a really lovely outlook with a large bay window. Be aware there is a shower only in this room, whereas 9 has a bath. Worth asking about the contents of each room when you book.
We arrive on Sunday, which happened to be fathers day, so the hotel was packed out with fathers enjoying a carvery lunch! However, everything quietened down later on. The bar appears to be a converted stable and not comfortable really. My suggestion would be to take your drinks to the lounge, which has a much better ambiance.
When we Received our bills, we did not realize there was a service charge added for each day. The figure appeared to be between £6 to £8 per day. There was no mention of this when we were given our keys and we only became aware of this charge after we had made a collection for the staff! It just left a very poor impression at the end. The other problem was bills. If you charged an item to your room, this was just written down on a piece of paper, no copies available for the client. When you looked at the bill it was for items you could not remember. One colleague of mine was charged for 'large Sauvignon', but this was apparently a code for Rum and Coke!! So admin for drinks to your room is poor, best to pay cash for everything.
I have to say the Manager of the restaurant was very efficient, pity he was not there the first night. On this occasion I asked for an extra roll, but this was not allowed by the young man looking after us. The coffee was served 15 mins before the milk arrived! I have to say this was addressed correctly by the management. I spoke to Noami on reception, telling her of our problems and she spoke to her manager to ensure we did not have to pay for tea and coffee the second night. Noami was a little gem and very welcoming, Vicky too was always attentive and helpful during dinner and so were all the staff during breakfast.
We all had without exception an enjoyable and rewarding two day break, this hotel comes highly recommended, just keep an eye on the admin for drinks!

Room Tip: Have a look at Room 6 in the main building. On the first floor, so not too many steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is in a stunning setting with beautiful grounds, perfect for a gentle stroll. Both tennis and croquet are available. Our room in the Garden block was really comfortable. Friendly and efficient staff, especially Naomi on reception. Our welcome champagne cocktail were delivered to our room within minutes of our arrival. Great food and service at both breakfast and dinner - good selection and freshly cooked. I highly recommend it and look forward to making a return visit. Corsham is about a 20 minute walk across a wheat field! Take insect repellant as there are swarms of midges!! We thought local taxis were quite expensive at £7 for a 5 minute journey. See also my more detailed review of the restaurant.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sharon1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.0 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,055 reviews
1.0 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
365 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
692 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
7.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guyers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guyers House Hotel

Address: Guyers House Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range: £124 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guyers House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guyers House Hotel & Restaurant is a charming, privately owned Four Star country house hotel surrounded by its own outstanding gardens. It is located a mile from the pretty town of Corsham and 8 miles from Bath. The aim of the hotel is to provide friendly service, comfort and wonderful cooking. We are proud that the restaurant has been awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA and a special Breakfast Award by Visit England. The hotel has 37 en suite bedrooms, elegant dining and sitting rooms, a panelled Bar and all that you would expect of an English country house The gardens extend to over 6 acres and include a croquet lawn a hard tennis court and a small fitness pavilion. There is ample free parking. The hotel has its own dedicated conference and seminar building and its memorable architecture and lovely garden has made it a famous wedding venue. We do our very best to make your stay a happy one. Via enews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guyers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guyers House Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing