We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Guyers House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guyers House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Why did we only book two nights!!! This hotel is so good (the staff are a wonderful asset) that we really didn't want to leave. We were on a two night break like some previous reviewers and cannot fault any of it. It is a wonderful deal, with champagne cocktails, delicious canapés and dinner. Our two rooms were exactly as we had requested - ground floor, next to each other, no steps, one twin and one double so that everything was easy for my elderly mother but what impressed us also was that the rooms were immaculate, spotlessly clean and although smallish, well equipped. Pushed to criticise something, there are no tissues in the rooms, not that that is particularly an issue, but from our point of view, as hay fever sufferers in the country, it is a nice little addition to have. Tea/coffee making facilities and none of those silly little toiletries - high quality full sized bottles so that you dont have to fiddle around.

The gardens are beautiful (and yes, all done by one gardener) with plenty of little hideaways with seats where you can enjoy privacy and peace. Our daughter really enjoyed the little exercise house by the tennis courts - yes, it is very basic with just a few pieces of equipment, but it is original, she was the only one using it and as she said she felt like she had her own private gym in a most beautiful setting.

Breakfast was again excellent - we are always happy when hotels offer kippers - and there was everything you could require, both hot and cold.

We needed help getting an appointment at the local doctor's which was dealt with speedily, efficiently and happily by the reception, they included Google directions for everything we requested and there is no doubt in our minds that we will be back.

This hotel is beautifully situated for visiting all the delights of Bath, Bristol, National Trust properties abound and there are of course the Cotswold villages to discover.

Don't miss this hotel!

Room Tip: Just tell them when you book what you are looking for - they advised us and we were not disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliatk168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Guyers House Hotel on the evening of the 16th July 2014. The reception was extremely friendly and welcoming, as was our room. After unpacking my wife and I returned to the courtyard type garden to enjoy the complimentary champagne and nibbles, in fact the champagne turned out to be a very pleasant Prosecco with a drop of brandy and sugar at the bottom, which in my books was superb. Our evening meal was excellent as was the wine. Our breakfast was equally as good and the departure followed the same vain. What can I say about the hotel? It was a very pleasant experience as was our main meal and the breakfast, the staff are friendly, helpful and attentive, our room was attractive, comfortable and restful, and the deal we had was worth every penny, another hotel I would have no hesitation in recommending to family and friends. Well done to the staff!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the gardens, but as the hotel is in a quite private lane I would assume that all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitstop007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We recently stayed at Guyers House for two nights (via Secret Escapes) and had a fantastic stay. The setting is beautiful and the buildings are full of character. The weather was good so we were able to enjoy sitting outside overlooking the garden and pond. We had champagne cocktails on arrival (it's a brandy based cocktail so just ask for straight bubbles if you're not a fan!) and canapes. There's also a nice small bar area that leads out to the central courtyard which is also a lovely place to sit and enjoy a quiet drink, plus there is a quiet lounge area inside if the weather's not so good. The staff were extremely relaxed, friendly and helpful throughout our stay - they were only too happy to fetch everything we needed for a game of croquet on the lawn and were also very helpful when we had questions about the local area. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was excellent, as was the service. There are a number of good tables by the windows overlooking the garden so worth asking for one of these in advance if you can. The receptionist also pointed us in the direction of the Methuen Arms pub in Corsham when we wanted to eat out on our second night - highly recommend this pub, it's not the cheapest but the atmosphere and quality of the food is excellent. Our room in Guyers House (34) was also very pleasant and, as it was at the back, upstairs, of the Garden House it was really quiet with a nice view of trees and part of the rear gardens. The room was very clean and had good storage space. We also made use of the tennis court during our stay, located in a very pleasant setting behind trees and with a small summerhouse, lawn and bench. The gardens at Guyers House are also worthy of a mention - they really add to the tranquil surroundings of the house and there are some nice pathways and hidden routes to explore. In terms of nearby attractions, we spent a nice afternoon pottering around Lacock, a medieval village that has some nice walks to the river and also has a few pubs and tea rooms etc (as well as an Abbey). I think it's highly likely that we'll be back to Guyers House at some point in the near future - we couldn't fault it...

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic double in Room 34, which was located upstairs at the back of the Garden House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimhouse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Lovely hotel, really nice room. The Hotel is tucked away down Guyers Lane just outside the village of Corsham. The Hotel is set in some lovely grounds which you can walk round, hidden areas to explore and see the beautiful herbaceous borders. We stayed in mid July and were there to celebrate a birthday, the food was excellent, especially the peppered steak. However be wary of the wine and beer prices quite expensive. Also no coffee sachets in the room, just a selection of teas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We bought a package which gave us two nights b&b, with dinner and a glass of bubbly with canapés on the first night. At £198 it looked like a good deal and it was.
You approach the hotel down a long driveway where it is set in delightful gardens away from traffic noise. There is a large car park.
Our room (14) was not big and the bathroom was "compact" but both were well furnished/equipped, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The usual tea and coffee tray was provided with some home made biscuits. Beds were on the firm side which suited me, but my wife thought too firm. Thankfully no trace of the dreaded memory foam which always makes me too hot in bed.
Dinner was excellent and we elected to "stay and pay" on our second night. Three courses for around £28 was good value. My only complaint was that wine was very expensive, "house" at around £20 wasn't bad, but the good stuff started at £30. Surely a small selection in the £15 - £20 range would be possible?
Breakfasts were equally excellent with a good selection of high quality foods.
Overall this was certainly somewhere I would go back to, good environment, friendly and efficient staff, great food.

Room Tip: There wasn't a lift, so if stairs are a problem ask for a low level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a 2 night break here....lovely building, restored with sensitivity and grace...public rooms very pleasant and room was fine ...meals were excellent and service attentive and efficient ( though the manager needs to train the restaurant staff not to greet guests with 'hi guys') lovely gardens and even a proper veg. garden.....Corsham is an interesting old town and of course much to see in the area.....a great find, to which we shall return in due course.....

Room Tip: annexes are possibly better than main building....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel grounds very lovely..... Stayed here many times but this visit was better than MSG.. Staff very attentive and accommodating. Room in the outer building was, to me, so much better than the main building.... Breakfast was very good and well served, again they were accommodating when I asked for someone not staying to join me for breakfast.

Good hotel above average

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,092 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
760 reviews
1 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
2.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
697 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guyers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guyers House Hotel

Address: Guyers House Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range: £152 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guyers House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guyers House Hotel & Restaurant is a charming, privately owned Four Star country house hotel surrounded by its own outstanding gardens. It is located a mile from the pretty town of Corsham and 8 miles from Bath. The aim of the hotel is to provide friendly service, comfort and wonderful cooking. We are proud that the restaurant has been awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA and a special Breakfast Award by Visit England. The hotel has 37 en suite bedrooms, elegant dining and sitting rooms, a panelled Bar and all that you would expect of an English country house The gardens extend to over 6 acres and include a croquet lawn a hard tennis court and a small fitness pavilion. There is ample free parking. The hotel has its own dedicated conference and seminar building and its memorable architecture and lovely garden has made it a famous wedding venue. We do our very best to make your stay a happy one. Via enews ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Guyers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guyers House Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing