We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are top notch barman friendly and informative”
Review of Rudloe Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rudloe Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Staff are top notch barman friendly and informative”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Was a great weekend food was great service was even better, stayed in the new building very spacious and clean. Could do with a lick if paint. Staff where great and manger and barman could not do enough for you. I would recommend you bring your man here as a great bar, free pool, table football, juke box. Very quirky pictures really interesting MPW just like to say are you sure you don't want to change your career to an interior designer spot on.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smurfkelly007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    276
    196
    141
    129
See reviews for
87
663
13
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Ours was a living social deal, three course meal included for both nights. Meal options very poor and almost identical at both venues, at best good pub food, but have had more selection of food in a pub for a substantially lower cost.
A number of guests made similar comments.
MPW appears to be trading on his name and reputation which will only last for so long.
Staff try hard, however they need management and training to stop disorganisation at meal times.
Room was adequate however overall very disappointed as we do not get away very often and this was to celebrate our anniversary.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corsham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A weekend away without children is a rare treat. The living Social Deal represented what I thought was good value. How very wrong I was.
Food was of a very poor standard.
Hotel room was of a lower standard than a Premiere Inn.
I ask myself if Marco eats the food, drinks the average, over- priced wines and sleeps in the very uncomfortable beds.
Awful from start to finish and I won't be back.
If mad enough to go, drink plenty of water as EVERYTHING is heavily over salted.

Room Tip: Just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheekybisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

A promising start, the Hotel and grounds look great with some quirky decor that I liked although the MPW ego trip on the stairs was funny verging on ridiculous.

We booked a traditional room in the main building which knew wouldn't be modern but it felt tired and lack luster resemblant of a 1980s BnB; it really need a good deep clean and felt summarised by a label/sticker remnants covering a bit of a picture, a little effort to correct it but they couldn't be bothered!!

There was also evidence of damp (but it is an old building); cobwebs throughout the room; the bathroom had a lot of mouldy grouting and grotty surfaces; there are handles missing from draws and only one hanger in the wardrobe among other niggles which all mount up to not worth the price even on a living social deal.

The living social gourmet deal featured meagre pub/cafe grub. She had the potted duck to start which was bland except for the over salting then a 'Butchers steak' which was an extra £6. I had potted fish to start, which was ok then x2 slices of reformed Sandwich Ham, x2 eggs and McCains chips cooked three times.

If this was sold as a posh BnB it would be average but as MPW is willing to call this Gourmet and charge over £4 for water it is one to avoid, there are many better quality places to eat and cheaper better quality accommodation in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank playton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Stratton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

With a grand name and the Marco Pierre WHite restaurant you might expect something classy. However, the huge bedrooms - although well-equipped - are pretty spartan and soulless, and the breakfast was distinctly ordinary.

I'm no fan of MPW - since he advocated the use of stock cubes over meat juices (surely he doesn't need Knorr's money?) and there are Michelin Man models in the Reception and Bar which apparently refer to a spat between him and the gastronomic guide. There's lots of pictures of the 'great man and the Reception area has many nude female photographs if that floats your boat.

The bar was well-stocked and staffed, but the overall impression was disappointing, although the cost was not excessive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

my wife and myself have just returned home from a break at the rudloe hall hotel , we had booked a livingsocial deal including a dinner at the hotel and a dinner at the pear tree inn. we stayed in the annex and wow what a room very clean and modern with some nice features, a very comfortable bed and although the tv was small it was adequate for our stay. the room was always very warm. we both had the English breakfast on both mornings and it was very good. the highlight was our dinner I had a mackerel starter which was very good my main (sea bream) was excellent, my wife had the soup (leak and potato) which was quite a large portion, her main was the same as mine, we added a portion of peas at £2.50, but the meal would have been enough for us without anything extra, we were very full after dinner so did not make use of the bar afterwards, we did have a drink in the bar prior to eating and I agree with earlier reviewers that the layout is very quirky, perhaps a few less table football/pool tables would be better, especially the one put directly in front of a very attractive fireplace, perhaps a compromise Marco move out one table football table and show off the fireplace ? all the staff we dealt with were very efficient and friendly. I will review the pair tree meal separately but we were very please there as well. I know there are limits to the livingsocial deal but if you can accept that the value is very good . we will return hopefully soon. we ventured into Bath during our stay we have been before but parking can be difficult so we used the local bus service which was very good and convenient the stop being right outside the hotel. thanks to Marco and his staff for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: 211 in annex was our room and we will ask for it next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULBLUEBIRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

As many have , read previous reviews and always try to take a balanced view. Our room in the main building was adequate but far from spotless , needed a good spring clean , bed very comfortable , yes tv is small and too far from the bed.Usual tea, coffee , toiletries in the room . Staff were excellent and food is good but menu very limited,have not worked out why this is. Breakfast was very good of what was available .On the second night we ate at the Pear Tree as part of the deal , equally as limited menu for the deal . It was quite busy ( they would have known that in advance)service not as good in fact say no one seemed to grab hold of who was doing what and what was going on . There were a few unhappy customers around us with poor service and food , for us the food was actually very good , also note wine was priced very sensibly .Summed up as probably very good value for money on the living social deal.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golf95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.5 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
600 reviews
1.8 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
343 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
657 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudloe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudloe Arms

Property: Rudloe Arms
Address: Leafy Lane | Near Bath, Corsham SN13 0PA, England (Formerly Rudloe Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudloe Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect food and incredible, caring staff where "nothing is too much trouble" is what makes this truly unique and boutique English country house no. 1 in the area. With stunning views overlooking the World Heritage Roman city of Bath, in 15 acres of gardens, Croquet and a 9 hole practice golf course, you'll be spoiled indeed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rudloe Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudloe Hall Corsham
Hotel Rudloe Hall
Rudloe Arms Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing