We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Looking forward to our next visit.”
Review of Rudloe Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rudloe Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Maidenhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Looking forward to our next visit.”
Reviewed 12 September 2008

My husband and I made a last minute booking to stay at Rudloe Hall during the weekend 8-10 August 2008. We were advised at the time of booking that the hotel were hosting a wedding on the Friday, and most of the rooms had already been allocated to the wedding guests. However, to our delight, one room had become available, and we were even given a discount on the price of the room, due to the late booking ( 2 days before the weekend ).

I had had a look at Rudloe’s website before making our booking, and was tempted by the beautiful, rural setting and the romantic look of the hotel, which, upon arriving, more that lived up to our expectations.

We were greeted by Penny, a delightful, personable lady who has an inimitable ability to multi-task, very often juggling many roles all at the same time, but always remaining courteous and good humoured. She made sure our every need was catered for. When I didn’t accompany my husband down to breakfast on our last day, preferring to have a bit of a lie in instead, she surprised my husband by bringing out a beautifully prepared breakfast tray for him to take up to me so as I wouldn’t miss out on the most important meal of the day! She really was very kind.

I am a keen photographer, and was delighted with the view over the gardens that could be seen from our room. The grounds are a delight to stroll around, and the gardens are very well looked after, and made for some really great photos, some of which I have attached. I can certainly see why people are keen to hold a wedding breakfast/reception at the hotel, not only because of the caring way in which the staff look after their guests, but because of the stunning setting and comfortable rooms.

Our room was not big in comparison with others, but it had an open fire ( which we shall make use of when we return nearer to Christmas ) and a roll top bath in the main room. It had a comfortable, romantic, period feel about it which immediately put you at ease. We loved it, and can’t wait to upgrade to a larger room with a four poster bed next time, which also benefits from fabulous views towards Bath.

Because we were the only guests in the hotel not attending the wedding, we ended up having the whole dining room to ourselves on our first night. Penny had set up a table for us at the end of the room, in front of the window overlooking the gardens, with candles already lit when we walked in. Fantastic! The service was excellent and the food superb.

We made a point of doing the usual touristy things over the weekend, and visited the Roman Baths, as well as Corsham Court, both of which are well worth a visit. The gardens at Corsham Court are stunning, with peacocks roaming around the grounds , completely unperturbed by us humans wandering about!

Having been busy on the Friday night, the owner, Gui, had not had a chance to introduce himself to us when we arrived, however, he and Darren ( Dep Manager ) made a point of coming up and shaking our hands on the Saturday, and giving us some pointers as to the best places to eat in Bath City Centre. Both really nice guys.

To sum up, Rudloe is a quaint, old hotel and, as such, will not have the trappings and mod cons of a five star modern hotel. If it is a romantic, old world feel of a bygone era that you are looking for ( with the odd authentic cobweb thrown in ) this is the place for you. You cannot help but feel completely chilled out from the moment you arrive, and, for us it was certainly sad to have to leave so soon. We can’t wait to go back and see Rudloe in a winter setting, and have already booked out next weekend away with them.

  • Liked — Romantic, calming atmosphere and excellent service provided by staff.
  • Disliked — There was nothing about Rudloe that we disliked.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Owlly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    276
    195
    137
    128
See reviews for
86
658
13
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chippenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2008

23rd August Neil and I got married at Kington St Michael church and had our wedding breakfast / weekend at Rudloe, where do I start, the staff - Gui ( Manager ) FANTASTIC the best service and communication we have ever received, always welcoming always friendly, always "not a problem" Darren ( Dep Manager ) also great, freindly and polite, David ( Chef ) fantastic, made all out guests extremley happy the food was magnificent. I cant thank all the staff at Rudloe enough for everything they did to make mine and my husband and out guests weekend so fabulous, their attention to detail and caring manor over the 12 months preparation was second to nun, I felt at ease at all times and happy that everyone knew exactly what our requirements where. There will never be enough words that I can use to thank them all, Gui, Darren, David, and Penny thanks for everything xxxxx we look forward to seeing you soon

  • Liked — Its oldey worldey, open fire places, four poster beds, fab food
  • Disliked — I couldnt stay longer !!
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah_sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2008

I am glad that I stayed at Rudloe Hall. Wonderfully old building that made me feel very special.
great views. Certainly NOT (and I am thankful for that!) your standard "corporate" hotel.
The personal service at Rudloe Hall makes up for any shortfall in "modern" amenities (who needs satellite television, if lush gardens, rooms with high ceilings and comfortable beds and grand lounges where one can take teas or other snacks await). We arrived when it was raining and a member of staff stood around 1 minute after arriving next to our car with an umbrella, offering dry passage into the hotel. He greeted us by name (although we never stayed before). Now that is what I call a reception, not to mention the vintage cars parked outside, adding to a wonderful "Miss Marple" ambience.

  • Liked — ambience, scenery, great gardens, location, quiet (really quiet), friendly staff, good food
  • Disliked — rooms could do with a lick of paint, however, considering it's a very very old house, it can be excused
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ak555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

The location and venue are great particularly the restuarant. BUT with a grand venue and a host possibly on the snooty side, expectations were high when being taken to see our room, we were rather disappointed. The basic bedrooms are rather run down and small. Considering the hotel was almost entirely empty we were surprised that they did not take the oppotunity to upgrade us, which would have been of no cost to them and increased the chances of a return visit. So a 4/5 for the venue and a 3/5 for the room.

  • Liked — Dining
  • Disliked — bedroom
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matthew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We organised an 80th birthday party lunch for 35 family members at this lovely hotel and everything was perfect.

The hotel is very comfortable, with lovely furnishings and decor.
The staff could not have been more helpful and kind, which made it a very special day for everyone.

The food was superb and the staff were happy to suit the meu to all ages and tastes.

We can thoroughly recommend Rudloe Hall to anyone wanting to make an occasion extra-special.

  • Liked — comfortable surroundings and friendly staff
  • Disliked — liked everything
Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

This was a special weekend away and I booked the Tower Suite as it had a hot tub on the balcony.

Many people have commented on the nature of the hotel, how quiet it is (only 1 other couple there when we stayed) and its location so no need to repeat that. But what I didn't read about was many of the issues we faced.

First off it is important to note that I wrote to the hotel 2 weeks ago detailing the issues we had, giving them the chance to respond before I wrote this review. The hotel has completely ignored my letter.

This is a VERY expensive hotel. The cost would lead to believe a certain standard in terms of service and quality of the rooms. This is not the case. Do not think that the photos on the hotel web site are anything like the cheaper rooms... they are most certainly not!

DANGEROUS
First, just in case you are visiting Rudloe soon be VERY careful. On the balcony of the Tower Suite are rotten decking boards, so rotten your foot WILL go through them. Our romantic weekend was so nearly ruined by a broken ankle.

Second, in our room was a picture that had a huge shard of glass sticking out from it. If it had fallen on an adult there would have been serious consequences, if it had been a child god knows.

Third, the door to the suite does not require a key at all, a simple and gentle nudge will open it as we found out by accident. The worst of it? The staff knew about this and said it was "on the list of stuff to do".

CLEANLINESS
On arrival we went out on the balcony (almost going through the decking boards). We went out to look at the hot tub to be faced by a dead bird in it and complete filth. The bird had been there a considerable time... I don't need to explain how you could tell that as it may put you off your lunch!

Our room was not cleaned, our bed not made the entire weekend. When I asked why I was told it was hotel policy not to clean rooms or change towels unless asked..... huh??????

FINALLY
Staff at the hotel voiced their opinions on the hotel owners without provocation. Those opinions were not good but on a romantic weekend I did not want to hear them.

I accept that mistakes are made at times, hence why I wrote to the hotel the day after my visit. Their lack of interest shows a great deal so PLEASE be very careful before you spend alot of money here.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Over expensive and dangerous
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corsham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Chosen by friends but researched also on the 'net, Rudloe Hall more than lived up to expectations and claims. The combination of traditional building and similar notions of guest service makes for a very different and enjoyable experience. The location of the hotel provides an excellent home for a relaxed but efficient ambience.

We chose a Spring Special - where, unlike many of these offerings, which cut down an already sparse set of options, provided an enjoyable, affordable and entertaining set of menus over a three-day period. Truly challenging to any dietary control!

All of the staff were relaxed and helpful while maintaining a welcome traditional approach to looking after guests. The new accommodation being built will perhaps challenge the local atmosphere but surely the hotel will remain an attractive destination.

  • Liked — Traditions
  • Disliked — Entrance gateway!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexGreatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.5 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
594 reviews
1.8 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
341 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
650 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudloe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudloe Arms

Property: Rudloe Arms
Address: Leafy Lane | Near Bath, Corsham SN13 0PA, England (Formerly Rudloe Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudloe Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect food and incredible, caring staff where "nothing is too much trouble" is what makes this truly unique and boutique English country house no. 1 in the area. With stunning views overlooking the World Heritage Roman city of Bath, in 15 acres of gardens, Croquet and a 9 hole practice golf course, you'll be spoiled indeed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rudloe Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudloe Hall Corsham
Hotel Rudloe Hall
Rudloe Arms Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing