We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Escapes Deal”
Review of Rudloe Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rudloe Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Like other recent reviews we went on a deal. The first room, ground floor in treetops had muddy footprints leading in from French doors. Only one bath towel in bathroom and like other guests...no soap! Seriously? questioned lack of towel and was told they were busy and running short. We complained and got upgraded to a suite. Still no soap but got two towels although strangely bathroom was much smaller than cheaper room. Suite also had a separate w.c. in a room that was bigger than the main bathroom. The room smelled dreadful, and we realised it was the curtains. We were told it was the fire retardant treatment but it smelled like rancid tomcat. Every time we asked for something for the room, like soap (3 times) bottled water etc it never arrived. Gave up complaining in the end.
T.V. was very small and limited channels.
Room was generally very grubby. Carpets dirty and stained. Carpets in hall and stairs filthy. Shelf in bathroom where they placed towels was very dirty.
Food in main hotel was OK. Disappointed when deal said 3 course meal included but it didn't include side dishes which were charged at £3.50 each, as was the bottled water.
Avoid this place like the plague.
Secret Escapes keep this place secret please!
Marco Pierre White, this place is to hotels what cat sick is to cordon bleu cookery.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SteveMNEfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Room good, large with a nice(this was in the ajacent building to the hotel, even it it looks like student accomidation from outside the room, it was clean)

We where expecting a Pub syle meal as we had already seen some reviews which did not give a high level for the food, but we wanted to make up our own minds

Evening meal - i have fush & chips which was fine, my wife had a Pork Chop (dry) but ok.

Breakfast - This is why i had to do a review, (so so BAD)
To start with we where shown to are seats and asked if we would like Tea or coffee we orderd one of each, both turn up quicky (both came warm, as if the water was from the Tap) after complaining for another was told that they had ran out of hot water due to demand???
After a long wait for are food and watching other people come in and given there drinks and seeing the same thing with them complaining about there warm drink.

Full English turned up, one sauage(burned black),two rashed of bacon(black), 2 poached eggs(more like boiled), one cold tomato...so bad.

There was no staff to complain too, so we left and complained to reception who said, "sorry,oh well Never mind"

we packed up and left to go and get breakfast,

Marco P White .....very very Poor...i can see why there was offers on to go there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VHappy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I booked a deal on secret escapes as an Easter weekend treat. My partner and I were very excited especially with the hotel being owned by Marco Pierre White. When we arrived everything seemed fine, we checked in, had a drink on the bar it was great. We popped over to our 'executive' room which I'd asked for us to be upgraded too luckily it was free! I was extremely disappointed, the room was bland, marks all over the nets on the windows, dead flys in the emergency lights, no bin or hand soap in the bathroom (hygiene obviously not top priority) and the smallest TV ever as well as 2 sofas!! We went to dinner and were given a set menu, which is not the one shown on the website!! I ordered a pork chop and triple cooked chips, my chips were barely cooked once let alone triple!! My pork was dry and the waitress wasn't impressed when I asked for fresh chips, which were the same chips that were returned just cooked a bit more!! After the meal we went to the bar this was great! The other guests were chatty and friendly lovely end to the night! The breakfast was small to say the least! Upon checkout my bill was wrong I had been charged a supplement for lamb that wasn't even on the menu, I wasn't the only person luckily I had noticed! I did mention the lack of hand soap and bin in the bathroom but the receptionist didn't seem too fussed. Over all I'm quite sad that my experience wasn't great and I sincerely hope (but very much doubt) that Marco Pierre White reads or is to about these reviews. I would not be proud to have my name over the door!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaandSimon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Well this really had us both talking from the moment we went in. Really enjoyed all this art work around the rooms ( yes even Koo Stark - fantastic pictures), the bar area was a real mix of styles, the staff were fabulous nothing g too much trouble. We had a room in the annexe, very decent size, very clean - we had room 341. We had a weekend bought for us for Xmas and if I say it is such a shame it is 251 miles, we would use it more often. Having read some of the earlier reviews and now having stayed there, I would say that it depends on your perceptions - if you were looking for Michelin stars then this isn't the place for you, but however if you are looking for somewhere that is different with loads of talking points, very friendly staff, good food and a perfect base for Bath then look no further. We stayed last Friday and Saturday - must be doing something right they had 69 staying. Went to the Pear Tree for dinner on the Saturday night, again very friendly staff, good food and yet another talking point regarding cartons on the walls. Would definitely go again, try the experience it is worth it!

Room Tip: Couldn't advise on the rooms in the main building, we had room 341, no noise, light and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenie571954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel just before Easter (thurs/fri) on the secret escapes deal. The hall itself is beautiful but unfortunately we were given a room in a separate block.
The grounds and gardens are gorgeous and we spent a lovely couple of hours relaxing with a drink in the sunshine. The food was really nice and due to a wedding the hotel rearranged our 3 course meal so that we were still able to have it. Staff were very helpful and friendly.
The downsides were few- no soap in our room at all (???!) and no mini bar in the room.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is another one of places bought by Marco Pierre White ... we have now stayed at 4 and they are all different & all a little 'quirky' in some respects. The room we had was not in the original building but an 'annexe' at the side of the property. The room was of a good size, nothing 'special' & basically [boring maybe !] furnished. The doors to each room were safety doors so there was a certain amount of noise each time one was opened/shut. the bed was comfortable & the walk in shower good [as were the fluffy white towels]. No water in the room. The bar is small & is taken over by 2 pool tables, a juke box, & bar billiards. Although kippers were on the menu on either morning were they available, also no hot drinks were available at breakfast on the first day as the boiler had broken ..... kettle maybe ? although no kippers the cooked breakfast was very good. The dinner menu was good albeit limited & the same menu was presented on both evenings ...not so good, even if the food is good, which as I say it was. Good base for visiting Bath & the surrounding countryside

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmiddleditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed at rudloe last week really enjoyed it a real mix an American style diner bar area pool tables ,bar billiards darts,and a big screen TV ,it was very busy the night l stayed bar food service a bit slow ,but the staff very good.
The room l was given wow !! 313 great value for money but no glasses in bathroom had to use coffee mugs.
Got the makings of a great country hotel with a few tweeks,would not hesitate to stay again

Room Tip: 313 a great suite but a little road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
634 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
772 reviews
1.8 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
2.3 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
708 reviews
4.3 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudloe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudloe Arms

Address: Leafy Lane | Near Bath, Corsham SN13 0PA, England (Formerly Rudloe Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range: £108 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rudloe Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect food and incredible, caring staff where "nothing is too much trouble" is what makes this truly unique and boutique English country house no. 1 in the area. With stunning views overlooking the World Heritage Roman city of Bath, in 15 acres of gardens, Croquet and a 9 hole practice golf course, you'll be spoiled indeed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rudloe Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudloe Hall Corsham
Hotel Rudloe Hall
Rudloe Arms Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing