We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than average”
Review of Rudloe Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rudloe Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Blandford
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Less than average”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First the good points: the staff were reasonably pleasant, the room was ok.

BUT, we started off wrongly. We booked through Booking.com (as we needed somewhere for the night in the Corsham area at fairly short notice). Unfortunately, that booking site makes no mention of Marco Pierre White - had it done so we would not have booked due to previous negative experiences at other of his establishments. In fact, it was referred to as Rudloe Hall Hotel. This made it difficult to find as, obviously, we were looking for the wrong place.

Arriving over an hour after the 'booking-in' time of 2pm, we were told the room was ready and given the key, but when we found our room (in the annexe) we had to wait for the bed to be changed etc. The room was adequate, though oddly furnished, but the television was very small for the size of the room. This wasn't really a problem as we really only needed a bed for the night and something to eat.

Sadly, the food was also a disappointment. The menu was limited, with no vegetarian choice; it was difficult to guess what the 'butcher's cut' of steak was; the fish was dry and the batter tasted as if it had been cooked in well-used oil. Despite only eating a couple of mouthfuls, I still felt ill from it the following morning and had to skip breakfast, though my partner said his boiled eggs were very good.

The decor is not to everyone's taste, with the bar full of games tables, with just a very few metal tables at one end or a very long bench for sharing. As it was so unwelcoming, we returned to our room rather than relax with a drink in the bar or lounge after our meal, as we normally would. The staff, though quite friendly, seemed a bit defensive; clearly they are used to complaints. Needless-to-say, we shall not be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    276
    197
    141
    129
See reviews for
87
665
13
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Limited menu to choose from but the food was excellent and the service from David, the GM, and his team was discrete and first class. Good wine list and loved the quirky water jug. Breakfast good and a chef that can cook eggs properly!

The building is very impressive but is looking a bit tired behind the scenes, which is more noticeable in the bedrooms. This was in the main house, not been in the annexe. Clearly the customer facing areas have been designed by Marco as there are pictures of him everywhere just in case you missed the fact that his 'brand' is fronting the Hotel.

An attempt has been made to make the place more accessible to people by renaming it Rudloe Arms rather than Rudloe Hall. Curious mix as the dining room is what you would expect in a good Hotel but the bar area is more like a pub than Hotel with table football and pool table. Not to everyone's taste and a bit out of character against the backdrop of such an impressive building. But that's my personal opinion.

We stayed 2 nights as we were doing a photoshoot using the function room as a studio and the grounds. The events team were very amenable to having us working there for nearly 8 hours and looked after our needs seamlessly with little intrusion.

Room Tip: Rooms in main house are traditional style. Four poster room very spacious with sofa, table and chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossa9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

An interesting property totally ruined by the design taste of the owner Marco Pierre White. The only saving grace is the excellent friendly and helpful staff. The style of the hotel is best described as bizarre especially the bar. With three table football, two pool tables, a bar billiards table and a rocking horse it was almost impossible to get in the room. The rest of the decor in the dining room and breakfast room was obviously designed by somebody who had no understanding of design. The dinner menu choice was limited and could not even be described as pub food. A very poor experience saved from total disaster by the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Book the new wing not the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodvickery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corsham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just spent a lovely weekend at this beautiful hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food in Marco Pierre White restaurant was super. The menu isn't vast, but plenty to suit all tastes. Our room, 223, was big, very clean and very comfortable. Only a small TV screen but excellent picture. The grounds of the hotel are vast and very well kept. Dinner on our 2nd evening was at the sister hotel, The Pear Tree, and again the food was great and staff super.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champagne27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having enjoyed a pleasant stay here last year while attending a Dog show at Bath we decided to book again. The Hotel has undergone huge changes, all of which seem to be for the better. The staff seem a lot happier and more professional, the grounds are lovely and the room we stayed in, which was in the Tree Tops building, was spotlessly clean and welcoming. We really enjoyed our one night stay and wish it could have been longer! Our dog enjoyed himself too! Will definitely return next year . Thank You to Rudloe Hall

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowthorne, berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We recently stayed having booked through secret escapes for a 2 day break, We found the room to be clean although a little dark. The food we could not fault and even though we had to eat at the sister restaurant The Pear Tree on the second night the food was fantastic.

Would definitely recommend, and if anyone thinks Marco does not visit the hotel he was there both days!!!

The room could do with information about the hotel,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leacha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Outside apearance excellent. Reception was dark. Bar was uninviting. It spoilt the effect of the hotel. Food was excellent. Service from staff was also excellent. Very helpfull. Had a meal at sister pub The Pear Tree. The food and service was also excellent there. Trip was booked through Secret Escapes. Fair money for a fair deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.5 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
600 reviews
1.8 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
343 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
659 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudloe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudloe Arms

Property: Rudloe Arms
Address: Leafy Lane | Near Bath, Corsham SN13 0PA, England (Formerly Rudloe Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudloe Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect food and incredible, caring staff where "nothing is too much trouble" is what makes this truly unique and boutique English country house no. 1 in the area. With stunning views overlooking the World Heritage Roman city of Bath, in 15 acres of gardens, Croquet and a 9 hole practice golf course, you'll be spoiled indeed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rudloe Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudloe Hall Corsham
Hotel Rudloe Hall
Rudloe Arms Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing