We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky so go with the flow!”
Review of Rudloe Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rudloe Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a two night stay in early May and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were looking for somewhere convenient to some local National Trust properties and booked this with an inclusive breakfast and evening meal, firstly at the Rudloe and the following night at the Pear Tree Inn, a sister hotel.
Our room was clean and comfortable with an eclectic collection of furniture which could be described as well worn, but not without it's own charm. The bed was clean and comfortable and even though we were situated over the bar there was little or no noise to disturb. The breakfast was adequate with a varied menu and eating in two different rooms a nice chance to admire the quirky photographs and other art. They should turn up the toaster a notch or two though and desist from serving it in a basket where it quickly goes soggy. Toast Racks were invented a long long time ago for a very good reason! The bar was quirky/borderline bizzare but a nice place to while away an hour with a drink and a book.
The staff at the Rudloe, and the Pear Tree, were efficient, polite and friendly. Though young and still learning their trade in cases they were nonetheless up to scratch. All in all a very relaxing atmosphere which left us refreshed at the end of out short stay. My advice to those who might be put off by some of the more negative reviews is to chill out and go with the flow here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonUKPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent accommodation and service in bar and restaurant. Lounge com bar is unusual and not many places to sit in because of pool tables. Food in restaurant was excellent and the two gentlemen and waitress serving could not have been more helpful. Not far from Lacock or Bat
for an enjoyable day out. Gardens were beautiful.
Breakfast was disappointing very basic, cereals, toast, a range of cooked choices but no fresh bread, thought that should have been available

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I, my husband, my 7 year old daughter and our 5 month old puppy have just got back from a great 2 night stay at the Rudloe Arms. I work in the largest branded hotel chain in the world, so it is always nice to be able to book something a little different and go off brand!! The reason that I bought this 2 night stay was that it is a Marco Pierre White restaurant and it had a 2 night special offer including dinner on. The hotel is ok. It is really different though, so you do need to go with an open mind. The food was out of this world, loved every mouthful on both nights. Not expensive but the quality and the taste was Superb!! The housekeeper when we arrived was really great and showed my 7 year old where she could get a little extra hot chocolate if she ran out. I hope she is now not in trouble, as this made my daughter feel so special. The main person who stood out a mile and seemed to always be there and always involved was David, the general manager. He was excellent, always involved, but never intrusive. He was so passionate about the hotel, the restaurant and Marco Pierre White himself. I would highly recommend this place but based on the food and based on David. Rooms are good, but not the highlight of the stay. Loved it - thank you!!

Room Tip: if you get a choice - book the rooms that are in the separate part, as these have been refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinfieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First the good points: the staff were reasonably pleasant, the room was ok.

BUT, we started off wrongly. We booked through Booking.com (as we needed somewhere for the night in the Corsham area at fairly short notice). Unfortunately, that booking site makes no mention of Marco Pierre White - had it done so we would not have booked due to previous negative experiences at other of his establishments. In fact, it was referred to as Rudloe Hall Hotel. This made it difficult to find as, obviously, we were looking for the wrong place.

Arriving over an hour after the 'booking-in' time of 2pm, we were told the room was ready and given the key, but when we found our room (in the annexe) we had to wait for the bed to be changed etc. The room was adequate, though oddly furnished, but the television was very small for the size of the room. This wasn't really a problem as we really only needed a bed for the night and something to eat.

Sadly, the food was also a disappointment. The menu was limited, with no vegetarian choice; it was difficult to guess what the 'butcher's cut' of steak was; the fish was dry and the batter tasted as if it had been cooked in well-used oil. Despite only eating a couple of mouthfuls, I still felt ill from it the following morning and had to skip breakfast, though my partner said his boiled eggs were very good.

The decor is not to everyone's taste, with the bar full of games tables, with just a very few metal tables at one end or a very long bench for sharing. As it was so unwelcoming, we returned to our room rather than relax with a drink in the bar or lounge after our meal, as we normally would. The staff, though quite friendly, seemed a bit defensive; clearly they are used to complaints. Needless-to-say, we shall not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Limited menu to choose from but the food was excellent and the service from David, the GM, and his team was discrete and first class. Good wine list and loved the quirky water jug. Breakfast good and a chef that can cook eggs properly!

The building is very impressive but is looking a bit tired behind the scenes, which is more noticeable in the bedrooms. This was in the main house, not been in the annexe. Clearly the customer facing areas have been designed by Marco as there are pictures of him everywhere just in case you missed the fact that his 'brand' is fronting the Hotel.

An attempt has been made to make the place more accessible to people by renaming it Rudloe Arms rather than Rudloe Hall. Curious mix as the dining room is what you would expect in a good Hotel but the bar area is more like a pub than Hotel with table football and pool table. Not to everyone's taste and a bit out of character against the backdrop of such an impressive building. But that's my personal opinion.

We stayed 2 nights as we were doing a photoshoot using the function room as a studio and the grounds. The events team were very amenable to having us working there for nearly 8 hours and looked after our needs seamlessly with little intrusion.

Room Tip: Rooms in main house are traditional style. Four poster room very spacious with sofa, table and chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossa9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

An interesting property totally ruined by the design taste of the owner Marco Pierre White. The only saving grace is the excellent friendly and helpful staff. The style of the hotel is best described as bizarre especially the bar. With three table football, two pool tables, a bar billiards table and a rocking horse it was almost impossible to get in the room. The rest of the decor in the dining room and breakfast room was obviously designed by somebody who had no understanding of design. The dinner menu choice was limited and could not even be described as pub food. A very poor experience saved from total disaster by the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Book the new wing not the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodvickery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just spent a lovely weekend at this beautiful hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food in Marco Pierre White restaurant was super. The menu isn't vast, but plenty to suit all tastes. Our room, 223, was big, very clean and very comfortable. Only a small TV screen but excellent picture. The grounds of the hotel are vast and very well kept. Dinner on our 2nd evening was at the sister hotel, The Pear Tree, and again the food was great and staff super.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Champagne27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.0 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
616 reviews
1.8 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
743 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudloe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudloe Arms

Address: Leafy Lane | Near Bath, Corsham SN13 0PA, England (Formerly Rudloe Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range: £108 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudloe Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect food and incredible, caring staff where "nothing is too much trouble" is what makes this truly unique and boutique English country house no. 1 in the area. With stunning views overlooking the World Heritage Roman city of Bath, in 15 acres of gardens, Croquet and a 9 hole practice golf course, you'll be spoiled indeed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Rudloe Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudloe Hall Corsham
Hotel Rudloe Hall
Rudloe Arms Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing