We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very disappointed”
Review of Rudloe Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rudloe Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 20th anniversary and thought what a better way than booking a four poster room in a beautiful hall/hotel owned by Marco Pierre White !!!! How wrong were we? Our room was awful! I don't think it had seen a lick of paint since the 70's, the furniture looked like it had come from a second hand shop! Except for the four poster, that was definitely an antique, even came fully loaded with antique dust!!!!! The kettle was on the floor in a tangle of wires, the room was very shabby. We also made the decision to eat there, the food was VERY average, in fact our 12 yr old could of done a better job. So all in all we will NOT be going back or in fact any MPW hotel/pub again.

Room Tip: Book somewhere other than Rudloe arms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helzchown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Having read previous reviews I assumed that the guest had been over critical but its all true! Limited menus, soggy greasy fish, over seasoned food, no ice, warm wine, lack of breakfast crockery and cutlery... the list goes on!

I did feel sorry for the staff who were very pleasant and obviously stressed out. They had refined the art of not making eye contact in an attempt to avoid receiving complaints!

Mr White I can only suggest that you get over the Rudloe Arms and sort it out or at least remove your name from it until you can improve the establishment. It isn't doing your reputation any good at all.

Final thoughts ....it was so bad it was funny, but we wont be making a return visit or indeed going to any other Marco establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Trying to think of something positive to say about our stay at The Rudloe Arms but cannot think of anything.Shabby room before being upgraded to an apartment in Treetops.At dinner first evening they ran out of creamed potatoes and substituted with chips and then tried to charge for them.Breakfast menu said grilled Manx kipper which turned out to be boil in the bag kippers and my husbands full English was inedible.There is no lounge to relax in with a pre dinner drink or afternoon tea etc. who wants to sit in a games room while people are playing snooker with a huge tv screen blaring away.We faired no better at The Pear Tree on our second night,we ordered haddock and chips and guess what? yes they had run out!If Marco Pierre White wants to put his name to this project he needs to step up his game. A dismal experience.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12sherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Hotel in lovely setting just off the main road. Very eclectic mix of furnishings which we enjoyed,good staff and nice large room...the only problem was the food...Pierre Marco White endorsed restaurant,apart from all his photos his input must be zero! Steak was overcooked,everything seemed oversaesoned and the cooked breakfast wasn't particularly nice either.Would probably not head back but convenient stopping off point on long drive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank andy7422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After reading the reviews was not sure what to expect. But went with an open mind & was not disappointed. Hospitality was good & made you feel very welcome. Food was great, staff were very helpful & friendly, and remembered our drinks order. Room was clean & tidy. Only negative point my husband won every game of pool we played.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melandy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Bought as a LivingSocial deal for a couple's weekend away. Location is good for exploring Bath. Beautiful main building but Treetops accommodation where we stayed was oddly laid out and poorly maintained. Room was average (2 star at best) and looked onto littered overgrown garden. Good portion sizes but limited menu and we were treated differently to the a la carte diners. As for the food: cooked breakfast was good. Blade of beef (Rudloe) and belly pork (Pear Tree) also good, not great. Soggy fish! Service was poor on average. Overall we were utterly underwhelmed and disappointed with our purchase. There were no extra / surprising touches that you might expect from something with Marco Pierre White's name on it. Would not recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Akkertroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on a living social deal, thankfully we didn't pay full price. The hotel is understaffed and the quality of food at both the Rudloe and Pear Tree was far below what we would expect for a Marco restaurant. The room we stayed in was fine, good size and clean but with the smallest TV, we had to pull the bed across the room to watch the film we wanted to see. There was some nice touches, croquet on the lawn and we had great weather so could enjoy sitting outside. Very quirky and rather self indulgent decor, pictures of Marco everywhere!
Marco was at the hotel when we were there I hope he makes some much needed changes as so many customers including us were disappointed with our experience. When we checked out the nice lady on reception rather sheepishly asked us if we has enjoyed our stay, she seemed embarrassed to even have to ask. The staff working were generally good, but so obviously over stretched. Just one more tip when you're buying a £25 bottle of wine with dinner you do expect the first glass to be poured! I'm sure Marco would!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.5 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
611 reviews
1.8 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
362 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
684 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudloe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudloe Arms

Address: Leafy Lane | Near Bath, Corsham SN13 0PA, England (Formerly Rudloe Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range: £104 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rudloe Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect food and incredible, caring staff where "nothing is too much trouble" is what makes this truly unique and boutique English country house no. 1 in the area. With stunning views overlooking the World Heritage Roman city of Bath, in 15 acres of gardens, Croquet and a 9 hole practice golf course, you'll be spoiled indeed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rudloe Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudloe Hall Corsham
Hotel Rudloe Hall
Rudloe Arms Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing