We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be very careful which room you book - ask what it overlooks!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Methuen Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Methuen Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Be very careful which room you book - ask what it overlooks!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Our room is situated on the road side so we have cooking smells and the roar of the extraction fan & traffic if we open the window and stifling heat if we don't. Not great for 170 a night !

Otherwise staff are charming and it seems a nice place

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlikiCurrimjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    77
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
48
150
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We do eat here a lot as its local to us but I wanted to put this review on to let you know that even in numbers the food is great. I had my husbands 30th birthday here and there were 23 of us eating. They sorted out a £20 per head menu (starters were "scallops, celeriac soup, warm ham hock ceaasar salad and mackerel terrine and the mains were pork belly, rib eye steaks, hake and mushroom risotto and the food was excellent as was the service. It was full in the restaurant too but we didn't have to wait for anything and all the steaks were cooked to perfection too. We did pre-place our orders so that definitely helped but they were very accommodating. Just waiting for an occasion so we can go again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Regional Real Ales, well kept and a great wine list.
Local, seasonal food, beautifully prepared by a team who really get it!
Luxurious, cosy rooms with properly comfy beds and gorgeous bathrooms.
A beautiful old Cotswold coaching inn, lovingly restored with a fascinating history.
Truly special.

Room Tip: Great family rooms too, which connect, so you don't actually have to share with the little bligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Had great expectations of this hotel given the other reviews, unfortunately I was left disappointed. Our room was room 6 and was dark and dingy. The view from the window was 90% blocked by a roof limiting the light in the room. The en-suite facilities were lovely but had no bath. I was prepared for this and the shower was wonderful. There was no phone in the room so if you needed anything, including milk for the tea, you had to go and collect it and wait for someone to assist. We had booked the family room for our second night as our room was only available for one night. This cost more but I was looking forward to my bath. We packed our cases and left them in our room as requested and were told they would take them to the new room. Upon returning at about 3pm we were told we could keep our original room as they had put new guests into the family room! It was implied they were doing us a favour! I explained I was looking forward to a bath so the man at the desk said he would try and call the manager and get it changed. Having been unable to contact her I said not to bother we would just stay in the same room. When we got to our room, they were still cleaning it which made me think it was more for their convenience so they didn't have to rush. The next morning when we checked out the manager seemed quite pleased with herself for managing to keep us in the same room. I explained it had made no difference as we had already packed our cases anyway! I mentioned the lack of bath and was told the family room has no bath either! Not quite sure why that hadn't been mentioned previously. Also, don't book family room if you want to bath your children!!!!!
However, we did have a lovely meal. There was only one vegetarian option but it was very nice. The breakfast was good although service was slow. For the amount of money, it just didn't match the expectations. Would not stay again. Sorry!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valderosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Our second visit has been just as good as the first. We arrived on the spur of the moment and had their last room, the family room which was equally as comfortable as our previous double room. The food in the restaurant was first class and we enjoyed every mouthful. This is definitely a place we will use again, for location to M4 and surrounding tourist areas. Well done to all the staff and thanks for making our stays so comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Room was very spacious king size bed and very large bath with gorgeous toiletries provided. We ate in the restaurant the meal was superb and the staff were all very friendly.
We will definetly stay again. Would recommend park and ride into Bath

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplySooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed in room 2 on a very special trip over Jubilee weekend. The room was a little on the small side, with an awkward desk chair sticking out as you walked in, and the curtains could have done with blanking out a bit more light... BUT the bed was very comfy, and the bathroom was big and superb - a rain shower and huge old style bath built for two ;)

Breakfast was excellent, and both fish dishes we had in the restaurant in the evening were cooked to perfection and full of flavour. Literally one of the best meals we've had. The bar area was lovely, and clearly lots of friendly locals use it. The wine good, and simple things like orange and lemonade just perfect, made with fresh, bitty orange juice. But i think the redeeming feature was the staff - almost to a man, that perfect but elusive balance of respectful professionalism but with a relaxed, warm and non-stuffy approach.

Thoroughly recommended, and a great base for Bath if you'd rather not stay there. Taxis cost £20-25, or 20 minutes by car.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.0 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
3.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methuen Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methuen Arms Hotel

Property: Methuen Arms Hotel
Address: 2 High St, Corsham SN13 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Methuen Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Methuen Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methuen Arms Corsham
Methuen Arms Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing