We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel in a pretty town.”
Review of Methuen Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Methuen Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed on a Friday night breaking the journey between London and Exeter. I had forgotten to book for dinner on booking the room but they slotted us in straight away and the food was excellent. We had the pork and the cod and both were first class, as were the starters and the cheese course.
Corsham is quite a bit bigger than I had thought and our room (2) faced the chippy and kebab shop at the end of the High Street so I was a little concerned that we'd be entertained by late night diners but that wasn't the case at all. We arrived on the hottest day of the year and with no air con or fans kept the windows open and slept like a log in the big and comfortable bed.
Breakfast too was excellent and all the food at both meals was local and well sourced.
I have seen comments about slow service and rudeness on here and while there may be some validity to the former (particularly at breakfast when the coffee took it's time) the staff could not have been friendlier.
Overall, not a cheap option, but a good hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Traffic on the main road can get busy, if that's an issue get a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alan morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We went to the Methuen for a leaving party very disappointed will not go again. We ordered wine and water and had to ask several times before we got it. The service is very poor. The portion sizes for starters and main courses are very small the only normal size servings were for desert. Will not waste my money here when there are far better places to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by friends having not been for some years. The food was fantastic we had the set menu for lunchtime celebration. Good value for money. The service was exceptional, even though it was very busy. They have 2 outside spaces and we enjoyed the garden area. I will certainly return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank suewright180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel during the week for 5 months. The rooms are very well presented, equipped and spotlessly clean. The restaurant and bar are excellent. The staff are very friendly. I would recommend for both business and pleasure trips.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanaryWharfSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We arrived on Saturday night,greeted by Agnes,who could not have been more helpful.Jamie made a fine Martini.Very comfortable room,excellent breakfast served by Tina.They do not serve breakfast in the room but I was allowed to take up a full English to my wife.It really was difficult to find a fault.Maybe the coffee was a bit weak,but how picky should you be!

Room Tip: Our Room looked on to the Court Yard.Ask for number 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having been to the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff to see the Heineken Cup final we needed somewhere on the way back to London to stay the night and have dinner. We chose the Methuen Arms and it was a very pleasant surprise. There should be many more places like this in England. Admittedly it was not cheap but it was very good quality both in terms of food and accommodation. The young staff were really friendly and obviously enjoyed working there which is always a good sign. My bedroom was excellent with a really nice bathroom. The bed was ideal, the shower excellent and the towels soft. As I have stayed in hundreds of hotels across the world these things are very important to me! The Methuen Arms delivered!

Room Tip: Room 11 is a good room to chose. Spacious with a large bathroom. I was impressed. It also had a four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal here at a large family party,best lamb I have ever tasted,good friendly service with very helpful staff. If I didn't live so close to Corsham would definitely stay here for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
622 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,083 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
3.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
697 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methuen Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methuen Arms Hotel

Address: 2 High St, Corsham SN13 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range: £113 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Methuen Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Methuen Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methuen Arms Corsham
Methuen Arms Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing