We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant with rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Methuen Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Methuen Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant with rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

As the title suggests this is not an hotel with no residents lounge etc.,but saying that , the rooms are very comfortable and spacious with a built in wardrobe and fridge.My bathroom was large, with a bath that would be big enough to teach a child to swim in. The range of toiletries was good as well.
Food in the restaurant /bar is of a very high standard and I enjoyed everything placed in front of me from sandwiches thru' to three course dinner via b'fast and Sunday lunch. Wine was very drinkable if a tadge on the pricey side.
This is not a cheap place to stay, if like me you travel on your own but for comfort of rooms and good standard of food and drink - to hell with the expense.
Staff were helpful and service was first class.

Room Tip: Room 4 was good, huge bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoncasterGmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    76
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
46
145
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Whilst we didn't have the opportunity to stay in The Methuen, it was a great place to pass an hour sampling the excellent real ale in the quaint public bar at the front of the hotel.

A very smart establishment and well worth a visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JulianFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

If you've read any of my other reviews you'll know that I don't give praise lightly. My wife and I went here for dinner a couple of nights ago. I have to say that it was very good indeed. It's not fine dining: more like pub food - but very good pub food. It's a little bit more expensive than most local pubs but in my opinion is worth the extra. If you know this area this means it's at least one step (possibly) two above The Well at Bulkington, The Somerset Arms in Semington, The Angel at Upton Scudamore and a lot of others. I reckon you'd have to go as far as the Red Lion at East Chisenbury or the Pony and Trap at Chew Magna to find something better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Methuen is my "local" for morning coffee with friends, and it occurred to me yesterday that I should share the benefits with Tripadvisor users!
Coffee comes in all the usual forms, all very good, however my favourite is a cafetiere taken in the lovely terrace garden at the rear of the hotel. Surrounded by the historic 14th century outbuildings, once a nunnery, and including a beautiful dovecote, it is possible, on a warm day, to believe you are in France.
Some new staff have appeared over recent months, almost all of whom are polite, friendly, and eager to "tweak" a request to personal preferences. By far the best venue for coffee in Corsham, and the newly refurbished hotel is a definite benefit to the town's commerce

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here on the 6th of August and had a room on the top floor. The room was tastefully decorated with a 'country-esque' style. One of the most comfortable beds I have had the pleasure of sleeping in, in a hotel and had a real 'power' shower which is a lovely bonus in a hotel.
All of the staff I encountered were extremely pleasant and attentive. I had a 3 course meal here in the evening and it was superb - the starter (Tomato and Pesto Soup) was one of the best I have had, and the steak and cinnamon and raspberry torte were equally as delicious. There is a fantastic outdoor dining/drinking area which is fantastic in good weather. Definately recommend this place to anyone travelling for both business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed at the Methuen Arms Hotel for one night. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel based on the experience.

The room and bed was well appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom boasted a great monsoon shower and the water supply was great; you'll want to stay in the shower for longer.

The food was extremely good. I ate with friends who met me for the evening and all thought that what they were presented with was first class. The wine list was also interesting and the rather obscure red we chose from New Zealand was really very good.

The bar is old English pub like with good beers.

Finally the staff were all very knowledgable and friendly.

I will be staying there again, for sure.

Room Tip: I would choose a room at the back of the hotel, the front is a little bit noisier early in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a wonderful weekend break at the Methuen arms Hotel, it has an old world charm but fitted out very comfortably we eate in their restaurant which was to a very high standard without being way over the top price wise.
Staff were all charming and helpfull it was very difficult to find any faults at all with our whole stay and being close to Bath was a bonus.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corsham
1.0 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
3.4 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methuen Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methuen Arms Hotel

Property: Methuen Arms Hotel
Address: 2 High St, Corsham SN13 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Methuen Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Methuen Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methuen Arms Corsham
Methuen Arms Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing