We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Esher
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for one night when celebrating my parents wedding anniversary nearby. My elderly parents in their eighties also stayed and had a disabled room. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, particularly the receptionists. After settling in we went to the bar for tea. This was disappointing as I did not expect to be served with a teacup, a tea bag in it and a pot of hot water. Not what I'm used to in a 4 star hotel. Surely it's not much of an effort to have a pot of tea and a separate pot of hot water. And I had to ask for milk!

This was just a small gripe as the rooms were good with very comfortable beds. The bathrooms have large showers over the bath. Surprisingly there are no rooms with walk in showers apart from the disabled rooms which have wet room. I saw my parent's wet room which was huge, bedroom slightly smaller to compensate, but the washbasin was tiny with nowhere to put washbag. It appeared to be designed for wheelchair users which neither of my parents is but they would not be able to climb into a bath to shower.

The hotel kindly put slippers and robes in my parents room and we all had complimentary bottled water in the fridge, a nice touch.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and locally produced high quality eggs, bacon and sausages. Although it was self service a member of staff kindly took my parents order and brought it to the table, seeing that they were elderly.

Overall it was a perfect place to spend the night and I would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChanFamilyEsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear ChanFamilyEsher

Thank you for your great review. I apologise for the error regarding your tea in the bar, I can assure you that it is not our standard and this has been addressed. Your comments regarding rooms not having a walk in shower surprise me, the vast majority of our rooms are all walk in showers with a small percentage having a bath with shower above. I can only assume that we either had all of our deluxe rooms with walk in showers occupied or that you may have requested a bath in your room and as a result got a shower above the bath. We have since put further shelving in the accessible rooms to allow for space to put a washbag.

I am please you have highlighted these small niggles to us and I am glad that we have been able to resolve them for future visits.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    202
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
142
528
26
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Checkin efficient and courteous. Got room which was clean and spacious, however being a special occasion (my wife's birthday) I asked if there was a suite available. The person I spoke to was extremely accommodating and with a small uplift in our nightly rate offered me what must be said to be one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. The balcony with hot tub was fantastic!
We had a drink in the bar followed by a meal in the restaurant.
I have stopped in many hotels on business in many different countries and therefore am not easily impressed. However I have to say that you need to tastes the rib eye steak with chips and then compare with every other steak meal you have ever had! Absolutely fantastic, not the cheapest but definitely the best.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheArchBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
TheArchBrowns

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantatic review. The Jacuzzi suites are great rooms for a special occasion and such value for money. I am pleased you enjoyed dining in our 2 rosette restautrant, we get many good comments about our steaks, this is certainly due to the quality of produce provided by our owners farm just four miles away.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I live fairly locally to the CASA and use it regularly for business purposes but have NO direct or commercial benefit in posting this.
I managed to persuade our national car club to have their Winter Ball there for the second year running, not that I had to try very hard such was the success of last year. The CASA staff could not have been more helpful in allowing us to take over the hotel for the weekend. Club flags on the flag poles, banners in the car park, our cars in the entrance, even the owner displayed some of his own car collection for us, an area cordoned off for our own members parking. Nothing was too much trouble. Then we come to the service in the hotel, if you want to put on a large event I couldn't think it possible to have a more helpful team of people to make it a success.
The meals / food quality and service were first class not only for our Saturday dinner but the buffet on Friday as well, and I mustn't forget to mention the breakfast to die for!!
You could also spend all your time in the room, the beds are unbelievably comfortable, you even get real milk in the fridge and all the modern electronic gadgetry you need.
Thank you CASA for helping us to put on a fantastic event for our club.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic, but you could ask for a junior suite or even a spa room. A bit of noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Dave B

It was great to welcome you all back again to CASA and I am delighted that you once again enjoyed your weekend with us. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and we really appreciate the time you have taken to provide it.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times on business. It really is an excellent hotel. Staff are extremely friendly and obliging. Rooms are a reasonable size and very well decorated.
Location is good as is near motorway. Food in bar is good and very informal there. Breakfast is very good.
Would certainly recommend.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Pat H

Thank you for your review. As a regular guest it is wonderful that you take the time to share your feedback. The Barca Bar team are delighted to read that you enjoy the relaxed atmosphere created in there, perfect for business travellers.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I've had the pleasure of stopping here a few times now so although this review is specific to my latest visit I can honestly say it reflects fairly all my previous stays.
This hotel is excellent, they think of everything, the room is super, the service and staff are excellent, especially in restaurant where I was not only looked after but also valued as a customer, this shone through.
I don't need to say anymore, except food at breakfast and evening meal were great and along with those the value for money principle applies, well done staff and management!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toyotaverso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Toyotaverso

Thank you for writing such a fantastic review. As a repeat customer it is wonderful to know that we consistently deliver on the things that matter to you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends - husband chose hotel.

Convenient for the motorway and easy enough to find as it's on the dual carriageway. Check in was smooth and pleasant, staff were great.

The room was large enough for the two of us, and the bed was certainly big enough and very comfortable. Nice to have a carton of milk rather than the usual sachets, and the homemade biscuits were a nice touch too! I would have liked more that 2 coffee sachets though (I know there were 2 decaff as well but decaff coffee isn't my thing)...TV was ok, although we didn't make much use of it as we were out for the evening and checked out at 11am next day.

Bathroom big enough, rain shower worked well. Good complementary shampoo etc.

Breakfast - we had ours included in the cost of the room otherwise a full English is £12.50 a head. For the price, I would have expected the food to have been warmer than it was because the beans, mushrooms and hash browns were all decidedly cool which was surprising given that the breakfast room was really busy and there was an almost constant queue for plates and food.

Whilst we had a great nights sleep and the room was nice enough, I think that the price might well be a little on the high side but in fairness it probably reflects that it attracts a number of business travellers who want something better than average as well as tourists and functions etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Scubatwo

Thank you for taking the time to review CASA. It is great to read so many positives. We have taken your comments regarding coffee on board as well as the temperature of a few of our breakfast items, this has been addresssed and rectified.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

once again CASA Hotel in chesterfield has excelled itself in every way. Staff so helpful and courteous and they make you feel at home. The standard of the rooms and the quality of the furniture is second to none. The most comfortable beds in any hotel. The food in the restaurant is as good as you will get anywhere and well worth the visit. This hotel just shouts quality.
yours in faith Chris D

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Christopherd65

It is great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. it is particularly pleasing to read that you felt made to feel at home, this is exactly how we want our guests to feel.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterfield
4.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel

Property: Casa Hotel
Address: Lockoford Lane, Chesterfield S41 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
#4 Family Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa is Chesterfield premier four star hotel. An independent hotel, situated in the historic market town of Chesterfield, within easy reach of the beautiful Peak District and neighbouring cities, Sheffield and Nottingham. Casa is one of the only hotels in the UK that offers hot tubs on the balconies of four of our luxury suites. Each of our 100 bedrooms are designed with comfort and luxury in mind, fully controlable air conditioning thoughout, all windows are triple glazed and we only use award winning Hynos mattresses on our beds, rain showers in the bathrooms and 32' LCD screens with freeview, free high speed Wi-Fi and private fridges stocked with water and fresh milk. You'll also find homemade biscuits for your tea or coffee. Our bathrooms have rain showers with controls that enable you to adjust the temperature before getting in, without getting soaked. Our rates include a hearty breakfast in the Cocina restaurant, with eggs, bacon and sausages that are sourced locally from Walton Lodge Farm, just four miles away. To complement Casa's theme, Cocina restaurant offers a menu with a Spanish twist. Our talented chefs cook using Josper charcoal ovens, flown over especially from Barcelona. Our wine list is of the highest quality, thanks to the owner's passion for fine wines. Our cocktail bar, Barca, is a haven of free Wi-Fi, fresh coffee, delicious food and signature drinks, made using only the best brands and ingredients from around the world. Our eleven meeting rooms are purpose built to offer you the latest in conferencing solutions. We are able to accommodate from two to 280 people and all of our meeting rooms have floor to ceiling windows for maximum daylight, air conditioning, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, data projection and 32" LCD televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing