We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Had the best time here . Room amazing and a jacuzzi on the balcony was just great .food is locally sourced and just tastes amazing , and staff are so helpful . Such a shame there aren't more hotel casa's around the country . Thank you for a brilliant weekend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yvetted38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Yvetted38

Many thanks for your great review. We have now added saunas to two of our balcony suites - I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    221
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
150
571
26
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Modern hotel, friendly efficient staff, well-appointed rooms and good food. It is a shame that the location, next to one of the busiest roundabouts in the town, robs the hotel of ambiance. However once you step inside you are greeted with genuine warmth from the staff and the troubles of the day melt away. The suite rooms are pretty much standard although venturing onto the balcony will bring you crashing back to reality as the view is of a car park and a dual carriageway. Best to stay inside and enjoy a relaxed drink in the bar or a good meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Nigel S

Many thanks for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your food and beverage experiences. Our balcony suites have proved extremely popular and we have recently added balcony saunas to two of them. Casa is located in a vibrant location, benefitting from great access routes. The internal ambience is the one we have focused on, specifically to provide a high quality experience in a relaxed environment - with fantastic staff - its great to hear we are getting this right. Hope to see you again on your next trip.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
466 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight and ate in the restaurant as part of a colleagues retirement celebrations. Service was great, staff were polite and attentive. Food was really nice and I would recomend the whole sea bass although ask the chef to bone it as it is really a whole fish, head included. Rioms are well appointed and I do like fresh milk with the tea, a nice touch. Definitely recomend this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Dave A

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are great, the bar is great and restaurant is lovely. The only downside is it's next to a dual carriageway and opposite Tesco and KFC. In another location, this would be a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyD_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear DaisyD_UK

It is great to read you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities. Many guests, particularly business users, find our location fantastic as we are easy to find due to our close proximity to the motorway and railway station. None business guests are pleased to find a quality hotel close to the peak district with easy access to a local town with many amentities.

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The reviews are right. From the booking to the room, the beds, the restaurant, this is a an exceptional hotel. It is on a retail park on the edge of a fairly modest market town, but that really doesn't matter in the slightest; they have thought of everything and done it right. Not least of all the satff. Theye were without exception marvellous! We commented on this on departure and they said it's because we all love working here, and they obviously do.
The building is very 'modern city' and attractive, the car park is spacious and free. Booking in was easy and our weekend break deal came with a full sized bottle of Cava in our supreb room. They make a good deal of the Hypnos beds and rightly so; comfy and then some. Free wifi, free water in the fridge, REAL milk in a funky little carton and kitchen baked cookies in the room every day. The Cocina restaurant had a good menu and we ate off the very reasonable early bird both nights and enjoyed it. service was outstanding on saturday night and merely excellent on sunday!
Breakfast was a joy and if my wife wasn't there I could easily added a few more pounds I don't need. the cooked breafast is buffet style with eggs cooked to order and bacon, eggs and sausages sourced from a local farm 4 miles away. Chesterfield is well placed for the Peaks, Chatsworth, Hardwick Hall, Bakewell etc; for business, Nottingham and Derby are not far away. Loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the car park side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Sandmark

What a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to write it. It is very pleasing to read that the little touches like fresh milk and complimentary bottled water are the things that our guests appreciate, they really do enhance our service.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our 3rd visit and will return again. The service is friendly. Check in is fuss free. Ample easy free parking. Rooms are first class and excellant value for money. Fridge in room and real milk for a cuppa along with bottled water. Well serviced rooms. 100% clean. Best bed ever - would buy one if i had a spare £1300. we had lunch in the bar. breakfast is as good as if not the best i have ever had. 100% fuss free attention. Top quality home produce and homemade foods from their own farm. A couple of drinks with sandwiches and chips at lunch. Lovely rare beef and a moist ham sandwich in fresh bread. Drinks were reasonable for a hotel.
Even though it fronts a busy road the sound insulation is excellent so at busier times close the windows and turn on the air con.
Perfect centre for business and tourists alike for the town, Sheffield and the Peak district.
A couple of small critisisms this time. 2 x 250ml glasses of wine for £15. Although good quality ( or at least the red was) I found even for a hotel this was excessive.
Lastly but not least. we booked 2 taxis via reception. Friday we were told it was on it's way and waited 20 minutes over the 10 promised. Saturday we pre booked in the afternoon for 5 and waited until 20+ past. Time to give Club a kick or make a change as this reflects on the hotel.

Room Tip: We were put on the 4th floor as there were functions on both nights and were advised this was the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Andy N

Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful feedback. It is great to read that you enjoy our hotel so much to return for a 3rd time. I have spoken with the the taxi companies we use, club in particular, and they have assured us that realistic arrival times will be provided and pre booked taxis will be on time. Unfortunately we have no control over this at all and appreciate your feedback, it certainly adds weight when articulating our frustration to them. I am pleased you find our drinks prices reasonable, we handpick our premium beers spirits and wine ourselves. The wine prices are tiered depending on whice wine is ordered, we feel that £15 for 2/3 of a bottle is priced appropriately if we were to scale it up to a 750ml full bottle at £22.50.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind regards

Mark Thurman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarze, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Spent three days on a flying visit to the UK to see friends. Room excellent (great shower) as was the breakfast. All staff very pleasant and helpful. Overall an excellent experience. See you next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Michael S

Thank you for the 5 star review - I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and I hope we can welcome you back on the next trip.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chesterfield
4.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
732 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
991 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
245 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel

Property: Casa Hotel
Address: Lockoford Lane, Chesterfield S41 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
#4 Family Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa is Chesterfield premier four star hotel. An independent hotel, situated in the historic market town of Chesterfield, within easy reach of the beautiful Peak District and neighbouring cities, Sheffield and Nottingham. Casa is one of the only hotels in the UK that offers hot tubs on the balconies of four of our luxury suites. Each of our 100 bedrooms are designed with comfort and luxury in mind, fully controlable air conditioning thoughout, all windows are triple glazed and we only use award winning Hynos mattresses on our beds, rain showers in the bathrooms and 32' LCD screens with freeview, free high speed Wi-Fi and private fridges stocked with water and fresh milk. You'll also find homemade biscuits for your tea or coffee. Our bathrooms have rain showers with controls that enable you to adjust the temperature before getting in, without getting soaked. Our rates include a hearty breakfast in the Cocina restaurant, with eggs, bacon and sausages that are sourced locally from Walton Lodge Farm, just four miles away. To complement Casa's theme, Cocina restaurant offers a menu with a Spanish twist. Our talented chefs cook using Josper charcoal ovens, flown over especially from Barcelona. Our wine list is of the highest quality, thanks to the owner's passion for fine wines. Our cocktail bar, Barca, is a haven of free Wi-Fi, fresh coffee, delicious food and signature drinks, made using only the best brands and ingredients from around the world. Our eleven meeting rooms are purpose built to offer you the latest in conferencing solutions. We are able to accommodate from two to 280 people and all of our meeting rooms have floor to ceiling windows for maximum daylight, air conditioning, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, data projection and 32" LCD televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing