We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue for Birthday Parties and Celebrations”
Review of Sandpiper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have just held a 95th birthday party at the Sandpiper Hotel. The venue is ideal for any kind of celebrations and I can imagine that it's an ideal spot for a wedding.The staff can't do enough to make you feel welcome and the food was lovely, all in all it made the day for us all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Sandpiper Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have now stayed at the Sandpiper Hotel several times over the last 6 or 7 years. Just short stays of 2 or 3 nights to visit elderly relatives. I have always found it to be a very friendly Hotel with excellent rooms and staff. I don't use the restaurant very much as I tend to take my relatives out as treats. It is always very clean and welcoming, and I will continue to use it in the future

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly66-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just back from a one night stay in Chesterfield at the Sandpiper hotel.Very clean and quiet hotel that has very easy access not far from the city of Sheffield and the Peak District National Park plus places like Chatsworth House etc. A great place for a short UK break.Staff were very friendly at check in and out.

Room Tip: A quiet hotel so most rooms would be ok.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Car parked no problem, great check in and greeting. Room spotless, service from staff meticulous, food gorgeous!
This hotel should cost a lot more for all these qualities. If we are ever in Chesterfield again, i won't bother looking elsewhere to stay.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stay at this hotel for 2 days and nights every 2 months for business purposes in the area.
The staff are always so helpful and respectful. The food is really good and there is always
plenty of it! Once I thought I had left something behind in my room so rang the hotel. The
gentleman on reception could not have been more helpful even ringing the cleaner at home who had cleaned my room to check with her if she had found the article! ( I found it later at home) The rooms are very comfortable with all the usual amenities.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. They always remember my name and I am greeted with smiles whenever I stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz2809170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This Hotel got everything wrong on our visit. We were on a Groupon break and were treated like second rate citizens. Could not get a table in the restaurant until 8.30 as the staff were needed for a big party in the function room. When we arrived in the restaurant we were then told by the restaurant supervisor that 'we are running a little late tonight due to the function'!!!! What a cheek!
Food was very poor and cold with nothing on the Specials board at all, and when we asked to see a manager about our disastrous meal he flatly refused to come to the restaurant to sort out the problems.
Goupon coupon only covered a portion of the menu and so we ended up being charged an extra £14 for food that we did not and could not eat.
Everyone has worked here for too long and it shows in their poor attitude to customer service. The Hotel is also bang on the main Chesterfield to Sheffield main Road which is very busy and noisy.

Never ever again!

Room Tip: Do not go there
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chepwinjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at the Sandpiper as part of a Groupon voucher deal. We are so glad that we did, and would happily return.

When we arrived, the hotel does not look very exciting. It has a motel appearance on a main road, looking like a seventies hotel (although it did look clean and well cared for. We were a bit apprehensive when we arrived due to the cheap motel look.

We were greeted by the door being opened for us by a very friendly member of the management team, and booked in with many smiles and much professionalism. The questions we were due to ask about our deal were answered before we could ask and the directions to the room were easy to follow.

The room (number 2) is upstairs – the banister is not really suitable for the more infirm, but fine for us. Once in the room, it had everything we needed, but more importantly, it was immaculate, clean and very well presented. The TV had Freeview channels and the tea coffee allowance was normal for any hotel, plus biscuits. The shower was not very good – a nice bathroom but the water pressure made it more of a hot gentle rainfall than a shower – but this could just be our room. Our included bottle of wine was in the room – it was the wrong colour, but reception changed it promptly while we were out.

We ate in the restaurant. This is a lovely airy, clean and smart room. The staff were very professional, well trained and efficient. The food was absolutely superb – more Masterchef than Motel. We cannot speak highly enough of the service or quality – we saw no plates going back with food left on them!

After a restful night, we went back to the restaurant (which, in motel-style, is reached by going outside) for breakfast. Breakfast finishes at 0930 on Sunday – we got there at 0910 to find a large queue. There is a good cold buffet and a hot buffet (tea, coffee and toast are served to you). When we reached the hot buffet, there was almost nothing left, so we waited, plates in hand as one of the senior waiting staff promised a new supply. Sadly, this turned out to be half a dozen eggs. So, with a small amount of food, we sat down, after being told that the sausages would be brought to us – they never materialised, although after we had finished, we were asked if we had had them. We said no, so were asked if we wanted them, but we had finished so said no. I can say that what we had was very good quality, but the lack of food top-up was annoying when we were looking forward so much to it after the meal the night before.

Breakfast dishes disappeared at 0930 on the dot – very efficiently!

So, first impressions of what could have been a tired motel were completely wrong. The staff are very well trained, pleasant and efficient. The chef deserves a commendation for his food, but breakfast needs to be available until finishing time.

Whilst there, we picked up their comprehensive wedding brochure – if you live in the area and have a wedding to plan – look here, the value for money is amazing!

We are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: If you are infirm, ask for a ground floor room as the stairs are not easy with hard to grip banniste...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonJan_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.9 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,433 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
800 reviews
7.3 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
547 reviews
5.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
801 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel

Address: Sheffield Road | Sheepbridge, Chesterfield S41 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range: £42 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper comprises 46 en-suite bedrooms, including Standard and Executive Rooms, 2 Conference & Banqueting Suites, Fanshawe’s Restaurant and Henry’s Café Bar. We are conveniently located near to J29/30 of the M1 Motorway and less than 3 miles from Chesterfield Town Centre. The hotel is a short drive from Sheffield City Centre and the glories of the Peak District National Park. The hotel has ample free and secure parking.At the Sandpiper Hotel we offer the ideal environment so you can make the most from your stay, so whether for business or pleasure, we have the perfect surroundings for you to relax and unwind.If you are planning a Wedding, Birthday or any another Celebration , then look no further, call our experienced team to 'Tailor Make' your event to suit your every need.Our award winning Fanshawe’s Restaurant offers an extensive choice of menus, available for lunch and dinner, creating that perfect dining experience. We also offer an excellent value traditional 4 Course Family Sunday Lunch.You will find Henry’s, our Stylish Café Bar the perfect place to relax on your own or in company, where you can enjoy various hot and cold beverages, tasty snacks and meals from our lounge menu. Our 'Free Wireless Internet Service' is offered throughout the Hotel creating an ideal place to hold informal business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Hotel Sandpiper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing