We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect wedding location”
Review of Sandpiper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect wedding location”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My brother recently got married at the Sandpiper Hotel and the day was fantastic, the staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself has all of the facilities you could need under one roof all of which are decorated and maintained to a very high standard. The wedding breakfast was superb and all tastes were catered for with the staff making extra effort to ensure specifics were catered for. The evening reception was equally enjoyable with a live band and disco on hand. A number of us stayed over night and the accommodation is spacious and had everything you needed. The breakfast the following morning was as nice as the wedding breakfast and again nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I would have no hesitation at recommending this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear LC132

Thank you so much for your lovely review LC132 following your brother's wedding and apologies for this rather belated response. We are delighted Laura and Duncan chose the Sandpiper Hotel as the venue for their special day and that you all had such a good time. As an independently owned and run Hotel, we are a small, close-knit staff team and believe this shows in the service we offer and in our attention to detail. We are so pleased that Laura and Duncan allowed us to be involved in their special day and hope to have the opportunity of seeing them again in the not too distant future. Very best wishes to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    64
    25
    8
    11
See reviews for
75
92
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stopped in this hotel which we found as a last minute offer. Not a bad price on the whole but I want to warn people about breakfast.... As part if the deal breakfast was listed as £7.50 per person. Went out to a very nice local Indian restaurant that had been recommended by the bar man. When we wen down for breakfast the following day ..... we the way to the breakfast room at reception who then informed us that as we hadn't booked the night before that would be £9.50 please!!! Each!
I have to say it wasn't worth that amount of money.
Other than that the hotel was clean and the majority of staff were helpful but we won't be stopping there again for a rip off breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Sue D
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sandpiper Hotel and for your review. We are delighted with your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the Hotel and that you found the staff helpful. However, we are obviously disappointed with your comments regarding the breakfast. As you mention, we do offer all our guests the opportunity to pre-book breakfast as it helps us to staff the restaurant appropriately. In return, for guests willing to pre-book we charge £7.50 for full English breakfast, which includes tea or coffee, toast and preserves served to the table followed by fresh fruit, cereals, or fruit juice plus sausage, black pudding, bacon, mushrooms poached fried or scrambled egg, tomatoes or beans, fried potatoes or fried bread. For guests who prefer an alternative to the cooked element of the breakfast, we offer scrambld egg and smoked salmon served on a croissant or natural smoked haddock topped with a poached egg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamworth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we were attending a charity event in Sheffield and used this hotel for one night. It is pretty basic but that was all we wanted and for £55 were well pleased. Rooms were clean and spacious though I had to sit on the edge of the bed to watch the small flat screen T.V. A small shelf for the tea making facilities left me feeling that some furniture had been removed???
After a drive up from the Midlands we needed sustenance but were told the Chef had not arrived ( one pm.) and the bar manager had just used the last of the ham. Never mind, we had a drink in the bar area. One pint of ale and a glass of rose £7.10. don't know if that is normal or excessively priced. ( an earlier review had stated small wine glass, we don't think the glass had any measurement marks on, is that legal? ) We didn't feel comfortable on dining room furniture so we popped out and found a nice pub serving food about a mile away. Luckily they took plastic as we were miles away from an A.T.M in any direction. Staff were very friendly and helpful and there is a lift if needed.
Didn't bother with breakfast as we needed to hit the road so I cant comment.
.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamworthSpidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear TamworthSpidey
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Sandpiper Hotel. We are pleased you found are rooms clean and spacious. As mentioned in a previous response, some of our TVs are smaller than others and this is something we are addressing as and when the TVs need replacing. There are chairs in the bedrooms for guests who prefer to sit closer to the TV.

Regarding your query over serving wine in unmarked glasses, this is perfectly legal as the wine is measured before it is poured into the glass. We serve wine in different measurements and use a glass appropriate to the measure ordered. However, our staff are more than happy to serve a small measure in a large glass if that is what our guests prefer. Our prices and measures are clearly shown on the price list displayed in the bar.

I am not sure which pub you visited but the nearest A.T.M. machine is approximately a mile and a half away from the Hotel.

It is a shame you didn't have the opportunity to try our breakfast. Our guests usually find it sets them up for the day.

Thank you for choosing the Sandpiper Hotel. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I booked a room for my son and his Fiance who had only been engaged for two weeks on Saturday 7th Sept it was my daughter-in-law to be was 18 I booked the room my son wanted some flowers and some chocolates for his Fiance in which I asked for I was told the price was £30.00 for the flowers and they didn't know how much the chocolates had to be bought at the supermarket,on their arrival there were no flowers and no chocolates either how disappointed Laura was this was her 18th birthday and a celebration of their engagement.I rang to complain only to be told I would have to wait 2 weeks till Sue came back off her holidays and was told from Christian what could he do so I said an apology would be nice and he said I had to wait till Sue came back fortunately I got an apology from Sue there had been a misunderstanding so if you want to surprise some one sent them to the sandpiper the surprise is you will get nothing you asked for so I have one unhappy Son a very unhappy daughter-in-law and a furious Mother customer service they have not got any never again will I book in to this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frOd093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your son's recent stay. We are obviously disappointed with the review, particularly as our other reviews are all very positive. We are very proud of the service we offer and the feedback we receive about our staff is very good.

When you rang to book the room we did offer to put flowers, chocolates, and/or Champagne in the room, which is a service we have offered on numerous occasions without any problems. However, the notes we made at the time you booked the room indicate that Champagne was not appropriate as your prospective daugher-in-law didn't drink but you would check with your son and ring back if the flowers and chocolates were required. We didn't receive any telephone confirmation so assumed that the items weren't required. It would appear that this was a genuine misunderstanding. However, when he checked in, if your son had mentioned that he was expecting flowers and chocolates to be in the room we could have arranged a special delivery. Unfotunately, we were not made aware until after he had departed. As mentioned during our subsequent telephone conversation, we are genuinely sorry about the misunderstanding and hope you will pass on our apologies to your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Looking for an overnight stay near Chatsworth House I am so pleased I found this place. I contacted the hotel before we arrived for some extra information and found very helpful staff at the end of the phone. There was a wedding on and the staff were very busy, but this did not mean we didn't get a lovely warm welcome. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with all you need for an overnight stay (or even longer)
I booked a table prior to our arrival, and with a wedding party on we thought the service may suffer. Couldn't have been more wrong. We enjoyed a very pleasant evening in the side part of the restaurant (away from the wedding). The food was lovely and a great selection to choose from.
We had breakfast in the morning, not usually a fan of hot buffet breakfast, I have nothing to complain about as all the food was cooked in small batches so always fresh and hot. Plenty to choose from as well as cereal and fruit.
All in all, this was a great place and I would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone visiting the Bakewell/Chesterfield area. If you are disabled or have mobility problems there is a lift and I believe they do have some ground floor rooms too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Leesa F

Thank you for your excellend review following your recent stay at the Sandpiper Hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of the excellent meals we offer. All our food is prepared and cooked in our own kitchens by our in-house chefs. We are pleased too that you enjoyed the hot buffet breakfast which, as you mention, is regularly replenished with freshly cooked items.

Thank you too for mentioning that we have a lift. Guests with mobility problems may also fnd our wheelchair friendly rooms advantageous.

For guests wishing to visit Chatsworth House, we offer inclusive Chatsworth Breaks. We also have a supply of Chatsworth House and Gardens tickets that guests can purchase separately. During your stay I don't know whether you had the chance to visit Meadow Hall, the land of shopportunity and the ideal place for shopaholics. If not, perhaps you can include this on a future visit.

Thank you for choosing the Sandpiper Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We needed a hotel for a couple of nights whilst visiting a relation in a home near Chesterfield. Looking at price (on offer at £55b&b) and TA reviews we chose the Sandpiper. We were a little put off by the pictures which make it look very much like an old fashioned motel, but were pleasantly surprised. The staff from the guy who checked us in thru the three waiting staff who dealt with us to the lady who checked us out with a "hope you enjoyed your stay" were all really good, both pleasant and efficient.

The room we had was of a decent size, as was the bath room. There is no separate shower which we would have preferred.

We had breakfast both mornings. There was a decent choice inc smoked salmon with poached eggs, and each dish was cooked individually. Dinner on a Sunday finished at 630 - which we were told when we booked - and it was an all day Sunday menu. Both main dishes were well cooked. Between two we had 3 potato choices and six veg. The second night we did not have as big an appetite and just had a one course meal. There is a dining room (used for breakfast) but most diners chose to eat in the bar - even though we had to suffer the TV on during dinner. There is a reasonable selection of wines most under £20 a bottle. It is unfortunate that they do not seem to have any diners who are not hotel guests.

We stayed on a Sunday and Monday, clearly quiet nights. They often have weddings on Saturdays and events on Fridays so those nights could be noisy.

Most rooms face on to Sheffield Road, which does get busy early morning. There are rooms at the back. Rooms are either on ground floor or up a steep flight of stairs, so the aged or infirm may wish to request ground floor.

The four "small" issues in the title refer to a) the bed, which is not even queen size (we guess most guests are single person business types), b) the bath towels, which would fit a size zero model, c) the TV in the room was about 15 inch, and d) our particular dislike, small red wine glasses, just big enough for the smallest measure.

Standard prices are, we think, nearer £70 and we are not sure we would stay at this rate particularly if it was for a noisy weekend. At the prices we paid we would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gloandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Gloandbob
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Sandpiper Hotel. We are delighted with your very positive comments about our staff and the food. We do have a very good reputation locally for the standard of our food and the friendliness and efficiency of our staff.

We have noted your comments regarding the TV in the bar. Henry's Cafe Bar does offer a more informal approach to dining and the TV is provided in the Cafe Bar should residents choose to watch it. We do have several regular guests who have got to know one another during their stays and meet in the Cafe Bar as they like the atmosphere. However, Fanshawe's, our on site restaurant has its own bar and is available for guests who prefer something a little quieter.

We do have weddings and events in our ballroom but this does not generally present a noise problem as on these occasions wedding and event guests are allocated rooms closest to the function room and disco and guests not associated with the events are allocated rooms at the back of the Hotel or rooms away from the disco.

We are obviously disappointed that you did not feel able to award us a five star rating and hope the following explains some of your points.

All our bars are well stocked with 175 ml and 250 ml wine glasses. As a general rule a 125 ml measure is served in a 175 ml glass and a 175 ml measure is served in a 250 ml glass so there shouldn't be just enough room the measure. It appears that you may have been served a 175 ml measure in a 175 ml glass. This is not our usual practice and our staff would have been only too pleased to change the glass for you. For guests who prefer a larger glass we do also have some 350 ml glasses.

Some TVs in the bedrooms are smaller than others and it is something we are addressing as and when TVs need replacing. However, we are a privately owned Hotel and with 46 bedrooms it is quite a costly exercise. For guests who prefer to sit closer to the TV, we do provide chairs in the bedrooms.

Thank you for choosing the Sandpiper Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunholme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The room, bar, food and staff were all excellent. Would have liked to use the restaurant but it was closed on our visit. The bar served the same food, and both the staff and food were excellent. Whilst the hotel is on a busy road, the rooms were quiet enough to still have a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will6634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Will6634
Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay at the Sandpiper Hotel. As an independently owned and run hotel, we try to go that little bit further to please our guests and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found the room, bar, food and staff to be excellent. Thank you for choosing the Sandpiper Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you on a future occasion, when perhaps you will be able to try our restaurant. All our food is prepared in our own kitchens by our excellent in-house chefs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.2 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
770 reviews
6.7 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
530 reviews
5.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
733 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel

Property: Sandpiper Hotel
Address: Sheffield Road | Sheepbridge, Chesterfield S41 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper comprises 46 en-suite bedrooms, including Standard and Executive Rooms, 2 Conference & Banqueting Suites, Fanshawe’s Restaurant and Henry’s Café Bar. We are conveniently located near to J29/30 of the M1 Motorway and less than 3 miles from Chesterfield Town Centre. The hotel is a short drive from Sheffield City Centre and the glories of the Peak District National Park. The hotel has ample free and secure parking.At the Sandpiper Hotel we offer the ideal environment so you can make the most from your stay, so whether for business or pleasure, we have the perfect surroundings for you to relax and unwind.If you are planning a Wedding, Birthday or any another Celebration , then look no further, call our experienced team to 'Tailor Make' your event to suit your every need.Our award winning Fanshawe’s Restaurant offers an extensive choice of menus, available for lunch and dinner, creating that perfect dining experience. We also offer an excellent value traditional 4 Course Family Sunday Lunch.You will find Henry’s, our Stylish Café Bar the perfect place to relax on your own or in company, where you can enjoy various hot and cold beverages, tasty snacks and meals from our lounge menu. Our 'Free Wireless Internet Service' is offered throughout the Hotel creating an ideal place to hold informal business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Hotel Sandpiper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing