We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay”
Review of Sandpiper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding celebration and what a refreshing surprise. Absolutely spotless room and ensuite.The service was five star, Kenny was brilliant and he just wanted to please everyone, I am sure there was three Pams because everywhere you looked she was there ready to serve you. Amazing service was given by all the staff and always with a smile .
If you are staying in Chesterfield I would recommend this hotel for service, cleanliness, also the food was excellent and very tasty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoynJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    64
    25
    8
    11
See reviews for
75
92
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Although we live quite local we stayed overnight so we could get the maximum enjoyment in sharing our nieces wedding day. The day was absolutey amazing and the care and attention from everyone at The Sandpiper was second to none. The setting was fantasticand everyone had a brilliant time. Come bedtime we had a lovely spotlessly clean room to retire to and a good nights sleep. Sunday mornng and we came down to a delicious breakfast so went home feeling really good.We would recommend the Sandpiper without any hesitation, in fact we will be back next Sunday for lunch so see you all soon. A great big thank you to all the staff.
Kath and Tony Duce
P.S
Can't comment on leisure facilities as we didn't use them but we are sure they will be as good as eveything else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I chose this hotel based on previous observations in Tripadvisor and was not disappointed.
The checks in and out were very efficient with something of a personal touch. My room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the stream. There was very little external noise and I don't think a room facing the road would have been a problem. The room was very clean and well presented. I slept OK and was particularly pleased that there were sheets and blankets and not a duvet. I find all duvets, regardless of the tog value, too warm. The breakfast costing £7.50 was all embracing with a good choice. I selected smoked haddock and poached egg for my main and the haddock was of a good size. The service at breakfast was of the highest standard.

All in all, at £40 for my double room, it represented excellent value.

Room Tip: Probably best to overlook the stream but probably only a marginal benefit to be gained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbanorienteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I had our complete valentines wedding day here. The whole day from start to finish was perfect. Nothing was too much trouble, the food was delicious, the room looked amazing and the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Karen and Joe
Thank you so much for your review following your Valentine's Day Wedding. We are delighted you chose the Sandpiper Hotel as the venue for your Special Day. It was a pleasure for us to be part of your Wedding Day and we would like to wish you all the very best for your future together. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you to the Hotel again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

At £10 a night cheaper than premier inn i was sceptical, but with almost identiacal furnature apart from colour schemes.
Staff ever polite and happy to help.
Heard there was a bar, never got to see it =)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you David S for your review following your recent stay with us. As a family owned and run Hotel with a friendly staff team, we believe we have a lot to offer and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do indeed have a bar, where we serve snacks, lunches and drinks. We also have a restaurant with a bar. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you on a future occasion when perhaps you will be able to take advantave of the bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A very nice hotel with a fast check in, the room very nicely decorated. The bathroom was very modern and very spacious.

The food was to a high standard and very reasonably priced. The barman was very friendly and called me by name as I had booked food to my room he took the trouble to remember my name.

Breakfast was a full English with Tea, Toast, Tea/Coffee and a wide range of cereal and fruit.

All in All a great stay at a reasonable price.

I will return again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 191Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review Bryan. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Sandpiper Hotel. We have a long standing staff team who work closely together to offer a friendly welcome. Remembering a guest's name is as important to us as it is to the guest. We really appreciate your very positive comments and look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Me and my husband shared our wedding reception with our friends and family here and couldn't fault any part of our afternoon/evening! When we first walked in I was amazed at how wonderful the room looked. The staff were all very professional, friendly and welcoming...they all went to any lengths possible to give us exactly what we wanted. Such a lovely bunch of people! The food was absolutely delicious! All of our guests commented on the lovely food and staff and I would definitely recommend the hotel to everyone. We had the perfect wedding reception so thank you to everyone at the sandpiper hotel :)

Room Tip: we didn't use the fitness centre so can't comment on this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello Gemma and Kochchu
Thank you so much for your lovely review following your Valentine's Day Wedding. The room did look stunning and the colours you chose for your venue decorations worked perfectly with the setting. We are so pleased you and your guests all had a good time and hope to see yo on a future occasion. In the meantime, we would like to wish you a long and happy future together
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.2 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
770 reviews
6.7 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
530 reviews
5.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
733 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel

Property: Sandpiper Hotel
Address: Sheffield Road | Sheepbridge, Chesterfield S41 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper comprises 46 en-suite bedrooms, including Standard and Executive Rooms, 2 Conference & Banqueting Suites, Fanshawe’s Restaurant and Henry’s Café Bar. We are conveniently located near to J29/30 of the M1 Motorway and less than 3 miles from Chesterfield Town Centre. The hotel is a short drive from Sheffield City Centre and the glories of the Peak District National Park. The hotel has ample free and secure parking.At the Sandpiper Hotel we offer the ideal environment so you can make the most from your stay, so whether for business or pleasure, we have the perfect surroundings for you to relax and unwind.If you are planning a Wedding, Birthday or any another Celebration , then look no further, call our experienced team to 'Tailor Make' your event to suit your every need.Our award winning Fanshawe’s Restaurant offers an extensive choice of menus, available for lunch and dinner, creating that perfect dining experience. We also offer an excellent value traditional 4 Course Family Sunday Lunch.You will find Henry’s, our Stylish Café Bar the perfect place to relax on your own or in company, where you can enjoy various hot and cold beverages, tasty snacks and meals from our lounge menu. Our 'Free Wireless Internet Service' is offered throughout the Hotel creating an ideal place to hold informal business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Hotel Sandpiper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing