We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandpiper Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Casa Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckingham's Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbeydale Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Portland Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
195
75
37
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
75
37
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstaff were helpful and friendlybirthday partynight porterat short noticethe hotel is cleanmember of stafffull englishwedding breakfastbreakfast was excellentmain coursedouble bedlovely foodfunction roomchecking outpeak districtplenty of parkingshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A small family run hotel just outside Chesterfield. I was there as part of a group which had been moved at the last minute from another hotel nearby. All the staff were lovely, from young to old - professional, helpful, friendly. The food was excellent - especially the desserts - and the service helpful without being intrusive. Provision was made for those with special dietary needs. The rooms were large and comfortable, and the owls were calling in the woods behind the building.
If ever I go back to Chesterfield, I shall certainly book there again.

Room Tip: I understand that all the rooms were quiet and good, but if you want to hear owls, ask for the back!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Sandpiper Hotel for two nights over the recent Bank Holiday Weekend - the Food, our Room's comfortability and Cleanliness, was literally second to none.

The Staff are friendly and extremely helpful - and we really enjoyed our stay.

Location we found very convenient for whatever we needed to visit / do in the area.

We have since booked again for three nights over the next Bank Holiday Weekend.
Says it all really, because we do expect things to be as we feel they should be - and they were !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianefromNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel annually for several years for our Association dinner (Smooth Fox Terrier Association). The accommodation and food is always excellent. This year however was marred by the rudeness of the night barman who made it very clear that he had no intention of serving any residents after 11pm. He kept opening the main door so that we were all freezing and told us "to keep the noise down" (we were only talking). If that was customer service, it was dreadful

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gargeous3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hello Gardeous3
Thank you for your review following the Smooth Fox Terrier Association Annual Dinner. First of all, thank you for the positive points you mention - the excellent accommodation and food. Your Association has been using us for several years now and we are always pleased to welcome your members.
We are obviously disappointed with your comments about the service in the bar as we strive to keep all our guests happy. Your review indicates that our night barman had no intention of serving residents after 11 p.m. Our night porter comes on duty at 11 p.m. and is quite happy to serve residents after this time providing it doesn't cause a problem for any of our other residents. Unfortunately the incident you refer to happened at 1 o'clock in the morning and not 11 p.m. as indicated. We received two separate adverse comments about the noise, one from a member of your own party. On both occasions the night porter politely asked if you could be a little quieter. When it became obvious that this wasn't going to happen, he took the decision to close the bar. As responsible hoteliers we have to consider all our residents and I hope this response serves to show that we acted appropriately. I am pleased to say that your members enjoyed their stay with us, as your organiser's review of 21st April confirms. We are delighted that the Smooth Fox Terrier Association has booked again for 2015 and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Smooth Fox Terrier Association held its annual dinner there once again on April 19th 2014. As ever the staff are most helpful and made us feel very welcome. Good accommodation and food excellent! Our members all enjoyed the night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Jenny
Thank you for your review following the Smooth Fox Terrier Association Dinner in April. Apologies for this delayed response. Over the years you have been holding your Annual Dinner with us we have got to know most of your members well and we are delighted you all enjoyed the event. We look forward to welcoming you again in April next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very impressed with the Sandpiper Hotel. As David S and Mac said in their reviews they took our group in at short notice. Kenny and his staff were helpful and friendly, they really went the extra mile! The rooms were clean, comfortable and the food was excellent.Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Doc and Christine G

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews