We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Sandpiper first for your celebration!”
Review of Sandpiper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try the Sandpiper first for your celebration!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

6 years ago we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Sandpiper. We have recommended the venue to other people and have been there since for a 40 th anniversary, a 30th birthday and a funeral wake. All occasions were excellent.

There was no contest when it came to booking my 60 th birthday this May. Sue, the events organiser, is great at her job. Her quiet efficiency gave me confidence and all my requests were carried out to the letter.

Lots of my 80 guests commented on how delicious the buffet was. Plenty of food, tasty and well prepared and presented.

All the staff go out of their way to be helpful. A guest had had recent surgery and the staff prepared special food and moved her room to accommodate her needs.

The Sandpiper is also very reasonably priced which is a consideration for most people these days.

I cannot recommend it highly enough. Try it first as the venue of your choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    64
    25
    8
    11
See reviews for
75
92
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a very enjoyable weekend. Everyone very helpful and pleasant nothing too much trouble.
The food and service was excellent and everyone enjoyed the party.
Would recommend it to anyone excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsturner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife & I got married here last Saturday, May 17th 2014, the venue was superb. The staff were so helpful and friendly all the way through the planning of the big day and the professionalism and attention to detail meant the day went off so smoothly, even the weather was brilliant. I can't recommend the place and the staff highly enough. It was the perfect way to start our married life.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Michael and Pauline
Thank you so much for your review following your Wedding in May and apologies for this delayed response. We are so glad you chose the Sandpiper Hotel as the venue for your Special Day and thoroughly enjoyed working with you from the planning stage right through to the Big Day. Unfortunately, we can't take the credit for the weather on the day but we do appreciate your very kind comments about our professionalism. We hope it won't be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you again. In the meantime, all of us at the Sandpiper wish you all the very best for your future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have enjoyed a celebration of marriage at Sandpiper Hotel and would highly recommend this a celebration venue. The attention to detail provided by the staff is very professional with lovely food and silver service. The request for beautiful weather was even filled to perfection!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I arranged an archaeological tour of the Peak District for 22 people and my agent booked us into the Chesterfield Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and any queries were immediately dealt with. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bedrooms were all of a decent size and were comfortable and clean. We were served a very good selection of food for our evening meals, which were delicious, with large portions, so there was no chance of us going hungry! The hotel was a good base for us to explore the Peak District from, and very good for dealing with groups. We all enjoyed our stay and certainly would consider returning.
Large car-park - good for coaches.

Room Tip: Rear rooms were apparently very peaceful. I had a front room overlooking the road, which was no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR-archaeologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A small family run hotel just outside Chesterfield. I was there as part of a group which had been moved at the last minute from another hotel nearby. All the staff were lovely, from young to old - professional, helpful, friendly. The food was excellent - especially the desserts - and the service helpful without being intrusive. Provision was made for those with special dietary needs. The rooms were large and comfortable, and the owls were calling in the woods behind the building.
If ever I go back to Chesterfield, I shall certainly book there again.

Room Tip: I understand that all the rooms were quiet and good, but if you want to hear owls, ask for the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Sandpiper Hotel for two nights over the recent Bank Holiday Weekend - the Food, our Room's comfortability and Cleanliness, was literally second to none.

The Staff are friendly and extremely helpful - and we really enjoyed our stay.

Location we found very convenient for whatever we needed to visit / do in the area.

We have since booked again for three nights over the next Bank Holiday Weekend.
Says it all really, because we do expect things to be as we feel they should be - and they were !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianefromNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.2 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
770 reviews
6.7 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
530 reviews
5.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
732 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel

Property: Sandpiper Hotel
Address: Sheffield Road | Sheepbridge, Chesterfield S41 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper comprises 46 en-suite bedrooms, including Standard and Executive Rooms, 2 Conference & Banqueting Suites, Fanshawe’s Restaurant and Henry’s Café Bar. We are conveniently located near to J29/30 of the M1 Motorway and less than 3 miles from Chesterfield Town Centre. The hotel is a short drive from Sheffield City Centre and the glories of the Peak District National Park. The hotel has ample free and secure parking.At the Sandpiper Hotel we offer the ideal environment so you can make the most from your stay, so whether for business or pleasure, we have the perfect surroundings for you to relax and unwind.If you are planning a Wedding, Birthday or any another Celebration , then look no further, call our experienced team to 'Tailor Make' your event to suit your every need.Our award winning Fanshawe’s Restaurant offers an extensive choice of menus, available for lunch and dinner, creating that perfect dining experience. We also offer an excellent value traditional 4 Course Family Sunday Lunch.You will find Henry’s, our Stylish Café Bar the perfect place to relax on your own or in company, where you can enjoy various hot and cold beverages, tasty snacks and meals from our lounge menu. Our 'Free Wireless Internet Service' is offered throughout the Hotel creating an ideal place to hold informal business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Hotel Sandpiper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing