We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding of mr and mrs Collins”
Review of Sandpiper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandpiper Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The sandpiper hotel was outstanding the staff was friendly and very helpful, the food was excellent and there was plenty of , the buffet at night was great the chunky chips and pork cobs was amazing. I would recommend the sandpiper hotel to everyone,thank you all again for making the wedding a great one.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review Julie. All of us at the Sandpiper appreciate your very kind comments and are delighted everyone had such a good time at Kerry and Craig's wedding. We strive to offer a good service with good food, served by friendly and efficient staff and to know that you recommend the Sandpiper Hotel is praise indeed. We wish Kerry and Craig all the very best for their future together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We went here for lunch on my Daughter's Birthday (21st June) after reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were greeted by "Kenny" the Operations Manager. He was warm, friendly and very professional.....and dressed extremely smart which gave us a brilliant first impression!! The restaurant's extensive menu was available all day which was a nice surprise as most other restaurants only cater to this after 5.30pm/6pm. Kenny surprised my Daughter with a complimentary glass of Merlot for her Birthday, which was a really nice gesture and very much appreciated. The restaurant was elegantly furnished with crisp white tablecloths under glass and fresh flowers on every table. The food was of superb quality, beautifully presented and plentiful on red hot plates. Compliments to the chef and the staff, absolutely faultless!
We will definitely dine here again and we will recommend the Sandpiper to all our family and friends. A very enjoyable dining experience. Keep up the good work Kenny and staff!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We celebrated my 70th Birthday with a lunch for 35 friends and family on Sunday 1st June. The whole occasion was excellent. The (pre-order) menu offered a wide variety of starters, main course and desserts to cater for all tastes and everyone commented, without exception, on the quality of the food and service. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Kenny, our event manager for the day. He looked admirably after all our guests and ensured everything went smoothly. The staff were very accommodating in advance of us arriving in assisting my daughter and granddaughter setting up the obligatory and embarrassing slide presentation about my life. A memorable day and congratulations to Sue and her team, especially the chef and Kenny.
As have many other reviewers we highly recommend the Sandpiper as a venue for this type of celebration.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stay here last night, eventually when they checked us in. We stood waiting for nearly 15 minutes while the receptionist was on the phone. When we went to our room it's was smelly and very outdated. The room I'm guessing was smelly as it was so enclosed. The beds were ok, but the covers were years old and stained.
The hotel was however very helpful in arranging a taxi into town for us. The following morning we went for breakfast. When we entered the breakfast room there were 12 people in their most of which were standing in the line waiting for food to be cooked for the buffet, we again waited as the sign instructed to be seat but this again took nearly 10 minutes. At which time people in the cue had got there breakfast but there was again no food left and we had to wait again fir it to be cooked. The couple sitting next to us asked 5 times for a cup of tea and when they finally got one, the serves response was everyone has decided to come for breakfast at the same time! There was now only 14 guest in totally in the room at there was at leanest 3 members of staff they us didn't seem to be able to cope.
On checking out it was a case of there is nothing left to pay on your account. Not a have you enjoyed your stay or a simple thank you.
If you have to stay here do so for one night only, personally I would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not have a room in blocks 1-7 as they are enclosed and smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ely20021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis. As usual the we had an excellent time at the Sandpiper Hotel. The staff are extremley pleasant and helpful - in a professional way. Complements to the Chefs and Restraunt staff - the food is superb as is the service.
My passengers can't praise the Hotel and Staff enough. Many thanks for making our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently attended my Brothers wedding at the Sandpiper Hotel with an overnight stay. The room used for the wedding was elegantly set out and decorated beautifully. The wedding breakfast was delicious and evening buffet was out standing. The organisation and the efficiency of the staff was first class, it made it a perfect day.
The bedroom was well proportioned and clean, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was buffet style, plenty and spot on.
All we can say is a very big thank you to all concerned for a lovely week end.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel represents outstanding value for money. Accommodation is clean and comfortable and has all the usual facilities for this range of hotel. Rooms are large and in the room we stayed in recently there is a pull down bed for additional occupants if required. The hotel is ideally placed for exploring the Peak District and makes an ideal base. Situated in Sheepbridge, it's not famed for its views out of the windows but in my experience, time spent window gazing is minimal when staying in the area - we get out and enjoy the views just down the road. The staff are really friendly and do whatever they can to ensure your stay is comfortable. The adjoining Fanshawe's restaurant is amazing - breakfast cooked to order - no buffet service here! Evening meals are a joy and the extensive menu ensures all tastes are catered for. In this restaurant there is a blast from the past with crisp white linen table cloths and napkins which add to the ambiance of this hotel. If I wanted to change anything it would be to change the beds from double to king size. An added bonus to staying here for those of you who enjoy classic cars - The Spinning Wheel is just next door and a must to visit.

Room Tip: Top floor road facing are quieter - no service vehicles which you do get in the back facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TillyTwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
3.1 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
826 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,482 reviews
7.3 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
557 reviews
5.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
848 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#3 of 15 in Chesterfield
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel

Address: Sheffield Road | Sheepbridge, Chesterfield S41 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range: £43 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper comprises 46 en-suite bedrooms, including Standard and Executive Rooms, 2 Conference & Banqueting Suites, Fanshawe’s Restaurant and Henry’s Café Bar. We are conveniently located near to J29/30 of the M1 Motorway and less than 3 miles from Chesterfield Town Centre. The hotel is a short drive from Sheffield City Centre and the glories of the Peak District National Park. The hotel has ample free and secure parking.At the Sandpiper Hotel we offer the ideal environment so you can make the most from your stay, so whether for business or pleasure, we have the perfect surroundings for you to relax and unwind.If you are planning a Wedding, Birthday or any another Celebration , then look no further, call our experienced team to 'Tailor Make' your event to suit your every need.Our award winning Fanshawe’s Restaurant offers an extensive choice of menus, available for lunch and dinner, creating that perfect dining experience. We also offer an excellent value traditional 4 Course Family Sunday Lunch.You will find Henry’s, our Stylish Café Bar the perfect place to relax on your own or in company, where you can enjoy various hot and cold beverages, tasty snacks and meals from our lounge menu. Our 'Free Wireless Internet Service' is offered throughout the Hotel creating an ideal place to hold informal business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Hotel Sandpiper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing