We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile.”
Review of Sandpiper Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandpiper Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service with a smile.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel delivers with quality service that puts the bigger hotel chains to shame. The food is excellent and above and beyond the quality expected. The rooms are clean and everything worked. Functional rather than plush and great value. Stayed with a group of colleagues and everyone enjoyed their stay, would thoroughly recommend this small, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review Kevin and for your recommendation. As an independently owned and managed Hotel with a small staff team, we are always interested to know how our guests perceive the service we offer. We are delighted you and your colleagues enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    65
    26
    8
    11
See reviews for
75
93
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

No words can describe the outstanding service,food and everything the sandpiper did for us on our big day on the 7th June 2014 everything was excellent sue and Kenny are amazing and so all the staff there the rooms was so clean and the breakfast the day after was excellent to, definitely a excellent place for a weeding not have to worry about anything ,with their help always on the end of a phone or email welcoming with a smile every time excellent value for money we just want to do it all again,thank u all very much to each and everyone of you at the sandpiper hotel lots of love Mr and Mrs jagger xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me2ubabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Christopher and Nicola
Thank you so much for your lovely review following your wedding. We are delighted you chose the Sandpiper Hotel as the venue for your special day and honoured that we were able to be part of such a special occasion. It was a pleasure for us. On behalf of everyone at the Sandpiper we wish you all the very best in your married life and if you do decide to do it all over again we hope it will be at the Sandpiper!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at this lovely hotel because we travelled to Yorkshire to follow the Tour de France with Diamond Holidays. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, the room was modern and very clean and the bed very comfortable. The food was produced in super fast time but of a very high standard. The staff waited for our late return to serve our evening meal but never showed any impatience to be clocking off! I couldn't find any fault with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. The prices are surprisingly reasonable too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you Maggie B for your very nice review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our "Northern Hospitality". It makes our job very worthwhile when we receive compliments such as yours. It is always reassuring to know that our efforts have positive results. Thank you for making the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I would highly recommend the Sandpiper Hotel for Wedding receptions. I attended my daughter's wedding here on Saturday 28.06.14. The staff were excellent and very helpful, the food was outstanding, hot, delicious and plenty of it. The disco was great and the dressing of the rooms for the service, wedding breakfast and evening reception was fantastic. Everyone commented on how good it was and how much they enjoyed it. My daughter and a few others stayed the night and she said the rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. All in all a fantastic place, with wonderful staff. Thank you Sandpiper Hotel give yourselves a big pat on the back. 10 out of 10. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
What a lovely review Krissie. Thank you so much. We are delighted that Kerry and Craig chose the Sandpiper Hotel as the venue for their very special day and that everyone had such a good time. All of us at the Sandpiper wish them a very long and happy future together and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming them, and of course yourself, on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I were on a cycling holiday and had not booked an overnight stay previous to setting off on our journey. We came off the canal near Brimmington, Chesterfield, and cycled first of all to the premier inn and asked if any rooms were available. The hotel was full but the receptionist was extremely helpful, and she phoned the Sandpiper Hotel on our behalf. Much to our relief a room was booked. We made our way to Unstone which is where the Sandpiper Hotel is situated. When we reached the hotel the receptionist was really helpful and she and a porter made sure that our cycles were safely stored in a lock up. Our room was large, clean and functional. We were pleased with the shower which worked really well. We found plenty of storage space in the bedroom, and the television worked ok. The room was at the front of the building and despite double glazing there was road noise well into the early hours of the morning. There was also quite a lot of noise from other tenants, and their voices could be heard through most of the night. The curtains are thin and the room became light at dawn.
The restaurant and dining room are really quite nice and there is an old fashioned feel about the service. Smartly dressed waiters with good manners served us, and it was like being in a time warp-rather Victorian, and rather nice I thought. The food is freshly cooked and of good quality, and the service prompt. It appears the dining area also doubles up as a bar. We were really grateful for the helpful service we experienced, but because of the noise factor probably would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I would advise asking for a room at the rear of the building, if there are any, although this is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novadra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The sandpiper hotel was outstanding the staff was friendly and very helpful, the food was excellent and there was plenty of , the buffet at night was great the chunky chips and pork cobs was amazing. I would recommend the sandpiper hotel to everyone,thank you all again for making the wedding a great one.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue-hotel, Front Office Manager at Sandpiper Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review Julie. All of us at the Sandpiper appreciate your very kind comments and are delighted everyone had such a good time at Kerry and Craig's wedding. We strive to offer a good service with good food, served by friendly and efficient staff and to know that you recommend the Sandpiper Hotel is praise indeed. We wish Kerry and Craig all the very best for their future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We went here for lunch on my Daughter's Birthday (21st June) after reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were greeted by "Kenny" the Operations Manager. He was warm, friendly and very professional.....and dressed extremely smart which gave us a brilliant first impression!! The restaurant's extensive menu was available all day which was a nice surprise as most other restaurants only cater to this after 5.30pm/6pm. Kenny surprised my Daughter with a complimentary glass of Merlot for her Birthday, which was a really nice gesture and very much appreciated. The restaurant was elegantly furnished with crisp white tablecloths under glass and fresh flowers on every table. The food was of superb quality, beautifully presented and plentiful on red hot plates. Compliments to the chef and the staff, absolutely faultless!
We will definitely dine here again and we will recommend the Sandpiper to all our family and friends. A very enjoyable dining experience. Keep up the good work Kenny and staff!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.2 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,372 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
779 reviews
6.7 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
539 reviews
5.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
754 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel

Property: Sandpiper Hotel
Address: Sheffield Road | Sheepbridge, Chesterfield S41 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper comprises 46 en-suite bedrooms, including Standard and Executive Rooms, 2 Conference & Banqueting Suites, Fanshawe’s Restaurant and Henry’s Café Bar. We are conveniently located near to J29/30 of the M1 Motorway and less than 3 miles from Chesterfield Town Centre. The hotel is a short drive from Sheffield City Centre and the glories of the Peak District National Park. The hotel has ample free and secure parking.At the Sandpiper Hotel we offer the ideal environment so you can make the most from your stay, so whether for business or pleasure, we have the perfect surroundings for you to relax and unwind.If you are planning a Wedding, Birthday or any another Celebration , then look no further, call our experienced team to 'Tailor Make' your event to suit your every need.Our award winning Fanshawe’s Restaurant offers an extensive choice of menus, available for lunch and dinner, creating that perfect dining experience. We also offer an excellent value traditional 4 Course Family Sunday Lunch.You will find Henry’s, our Stylish Café Bar the perfect place to relax on your own or in company, where you can enjoy various hot and cold beverages, tasty snacks and meals from our lounge menu. Our 'Free Wireless Internet Service' is offered throughout the Hotel creating an ideal place to hold informal business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Hotel Sandpiper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing