We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A property with all you need.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Church View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining Room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Dining Room
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Double Bedroom
Attic Double Bedroom
Church View
Long private garden with peaceful sitting area at the end.
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
View from Twin Room
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
susan e
1 review
“A property with all you need.”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The property was very well equipped and very comfortable. It was the perfect choice if you're looking for a car free break. A large supermarket in less than 10 minutes walk, a swimming pool and gym within the same distance. Bus stops to the town and the countryside just as near and the station just about 40minutes walk away. We found plenty to do in the area and could have definately stayed longer without getting bored.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahjayn...
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house was far nicer than I expected. There was plenty of room for all of us. The attic room was a real hit with my teenage son, he loved the space and privacy up there. The house was clean and tidy and was home from home. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosendy
Hannover, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slight let down”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Prior to booking Church View I had scoured the internet and read (it feels like) thousands of reviews. Eventually we settled on Church View, as the reviews for this property sounded great.

We booked for 2 weeks, two adults and one 4 ½ year old.

The correspondence with the owners was pleasant, though because they are not actually on site, they have a very friendly and helpful lady, Fran, looking after the property for them. Fran also mowed the lawn while we were there and another person from the owner’s family took out the bins the day before collection for us.

The house itself is spacious for UK standards. There are a total of three more than adequate bedrooms, a living room, small kitchen and a bathroom. The garden, weather permitting, is a nice place to relax.

The furniture and the set-up of this, is actually very homely. On the ground floor you have the bathroom, kitchen, dining room and living room. On the 1st floor there are 2 bedrooms and the last bedroom is on the 2nd floor. The steps are steep, but nothing not manageable.

The pictures currently online are slightly different than what the house looks like now. The floor in the kitchen has been renewed; the light sofa in the living room has been replaced with a grey sofa. A picture here and a mirror there have been added.

Though the kitchen is small, everything you need is provided. We did buy very cheap pots and one pan at Asda Living (total 22 GBP), as the coating in the pots provided began to dissociate. This can cause health concerns. Obviously, not everyone would have bought something new, but maybe just made do with what was provided. However, this was a choice we made, to err on the safe side.

In the closet in one of the bedrooms on the 1st floor, there were plenty of towels and bed linen, even more quilts and pillows, should these be required. The towels were an absolute plus, as usually these are sparse and we bring at least one additional towel per person with us.

Also, plenty of clothes hangers in the closet/ cupboards too.

However, the 1st thing we noticed upon entering the house, was the smell of mould. We immediately opened all windows. This obviously didn’t solve the actual problem, but did make the air better.

The mould is partly situated around the windows in the living room and other rooms. Nothing immediately visible. Also, behind cushions in one of the bedrooms, lined against the wall on a type of inbuilt bench.

Additionally, in the dining room there is a room under the stairs. This is used for the freezer, hoover and other cleaning utensils. Upon opening the door, the air is thick with the smell of mould.

The other issues were:

- We had booked internet at the rate of 20 GBP for the two weeks. We didn’t argue about the rate, but think it a bit steep, seeing as we could only get reception in the dining room.
- To provide more privacy, we would have additionally preferred net curtains/ voiles. People walking past the property have a clear view of inside the house. This is not uncommon in the UK, but we just prefer more privacy.
- Wallpaper partly coming off the walls in the dining room.

The stay was nevertheless pleasant and we would recommend the property, if the issue with the mould was tackled. Living amongst “the natives” is always nicer than in a hotel. Though not always directly in front of the house, there are plenty of parking spaces available. The house is not far from Chesterfield, which is worth a stroll through.

Close by:
Somersall Park with big fields and a playground were a favourite of our daughter.
Walton Dam is also nice for a walk/cycle along the stream, just nice for children to play and explore.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Hello Rosendy,
Thank you for the positive notes and the constructive feedback.

We have taken steps to address your concerns. We have replaced the pots and plans with a full new set and have added new curtains to the living room. We have taken steps to clear out the mould and reduce the moisture in the property. In August we have scheduled major maintenance to address the issue long term and will be scheduling redecorating or repairs as soon as possible after that.

We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay.

For future guests, please do not hesitate to contact us if anything is not to your standard so we can do all we can to address the issue immediately.

Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeaandSte...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Such a beautiful home. Perfect in many ways. Plenty of room and equipped with kitchen stuff, bathrom essentials and best was a picnic basket which we used regularly. Breakfast in the garden was wonderful. We will be returning next year and if the house is available we will be booking it. Already recommend this home to several locals who have family visiting regularly. Thank you so much Louise and Sri.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
So happy to hear you enjoyed. Thank you for the recommendations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony F
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Throughly enjoyed my stay at Church View where I stayed whilst my house was being repaired after a burst pipe caused a flood when I was away visiting relatives. It was great to stay in such a lovely 'home' during what was obviously a stressful time for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin...
2 reviews
“Home from home, felt at ease after 30 seconds!”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Went with family for daughter's birthday.
This property has everything you need for a comfortable stay. There are enough plates, glasses, pots, pans, seats and beds for 6 people. The beds are very comfy and we loved that bedding and towels are included.
There are takeaways, pubs and a supermarket within walking distance.

Brilliant from start to finish, we would recommend to family, friends and the world

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
2 reviews
“The Perfect Home from Home”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My Family came from Greece (Zakynthos) for Christmas and were so very happy with the house they asked me to make sure when they came again that I booked this same house for them. It is spacious, homely , comfortable, well equipped , has a nice garden convenient for Chesterfield and the Peak District and has friendly and welcoming neighbors . A big thumbs up from a very HAPPY GREEK FAMILY.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing